How to install flatpak app ?
Moderator: Forum moderators
-
- Posts: 3
- Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2020 1:58 pm
- Has thanked: 3 times
How to install flatpak app ?
I am traying to install this app called Komikku. To read manga
My Linux puppy is xenialpup64
I found this site to download komikku app , but I need flatpak install https://flathub.org/apps/details/info.febvre.Komikku
How I install this app? Is this possible?
*I am new in linux and sorry for my english, I am from Brazil.
Thanks!
- rockedge
- Site Admin
- Posts: 6543
- Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2019 1:38 am
- Location: Connecticut,U.S.A.
- Has thanked: 2749 times
- Been thanked: 2624 times
- Contact:
Re: How to install flatpak app ?
I used sc0ttman's Pkg CLI package manager
Code: Select all
pkg repo-update
pkg add-repo ppa:alexlarsson/flatpak
pkg add libassuan gnupg libstemmer libyaml-0
pkg repo focal-alexlarsson
pkg add flatpak
Code: Select all
flatpak remote-add --if-not-exists flathub https://flathub.org/repo/flathub.flatpakrepo
Code: Select all
flathubpak remote-delete --force flathub
Code: Select all
flatpak remote-add --if-not-exists flathub https://flathub.org/repo/flathub.flatpakrepo
Code: Select all
flatpak install flathub info.febvre.Komikku
Code: Select all
flatpak run info.febvre.Komikku
-
- Posts: 3
- Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2020 1:58 pm
- Has thanked: 3 times
Re: How to install flatpak app ?
when I use pkg add ppa:alexlarsson/flatpak show this, Cannot find flatpak..
What I need to do?
============================================================
root# pkg repo-update
Updating system repositories, please wait..
Repo files updated:
Updated: Packages-ubuntu-xenial-main
Updated: Packages-ubuntu-xenial-universe
Updated: Packages-ubuntu-xenial-multiverse
Updated: Packages-ubuntu-xenial_updates-main
Updated: Packages-ubuntu-xenial_updates-universe
Updated: Packages-ubuntu-xenial_updates-multiverse
root# pkg add ppa:alexlarsson/flatpak
Cannot find flatpak..
- rockedge
- Site Admin
- Posts: 6543
- Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2019 1:38 am
- Location: Connecticut,U.S.A.
- Has thanked: 2749 times
- Been thanked: 2624 times
- Contact:
Re: How to install flatpak app ?
it should look like this: pkg add-repo ppa:alexlarsson/flatpak
Code: Select all
pkg repo-update
pkg add-repo ppa:alexlarsson/flatpak
pkg add libassuan gnupg libstemmer libyaml-0
pkg repo focal-alexlarsson
pkg add flatpak
I fixed the typo in the original instructions.
- mikewalsh
- Moderator
- Posts: 6158
- Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2019 1:40 pm
- Location: King's Lynn, UK
- Has thanked: 795 times
- Been thanked: 1981 times
Re: How to install flatpak app ?
Gawd. D'you have to go through ALL that, every time you want to add a Flatpak?
That looks like over-complication for the sake of it, y'know, it really does...! And people wonder why I like AppImages so much.....they either run, or they don't. Still, since more & more stuff is steadily being offered as Flatpaks (in some cases, nowt else), I suppose we're going to have to start getting used to all this malarkey.....
Jeez. (*shakes head*)
Mike.
- rockedge
- Site Admin
- Posts: 6543
- Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2019 1:38 am
- Location: Connecticut,U.S.A.
- Has thanked: 2749 times
- Been thanked: 2624 times
- Contact:
Re: How to install flatpak app ?
Lets say we want Openshot, all you would need to do is these steps.
install :
Code: Select all
flatpak install flathub org.openshot.OpenShot
Code: Select all
flatpak run org.openshot.OpenShot
- rockedge
- Site Admin
- Posts: 6543
- Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2019 1:38 am
- Location: Connecticut,U.S.A.
- Has thanked: 2749 times
- Been thanked: 2624 times
- Contact:
Re: How to install flatpak app ?
Like openshot needing a good PYTHON 3 install to really work and GTK3 the question is use a package that is all self contained or installed using the individual components.
I use PYTHON 3 for other applications and stuff I write so I use PYTHON from ActiveState which really will get a good python 3 running in Puppy Linux, so I can install Openshot and get it running smoothly. Which makes it fun to work with.
- rockedge
- Site Admin
- Posts: 6543
- Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2019 1:38 am
- Location: Connecticut,U.S.A.
- Has thanked: 2749 times
- Been thanked: 2624 times
- Contact:
Re: How to install flatpak app ?
Code: Select all
#!/bin/sh
flatpak run info.febvre.Komikku
Code: Select all
chmod a+x /root/my-applications/bin/Komikku
drag and drop it on to the desktop and assign it a nice icon and click to start. Or in a terminal :
Code: Select all
Komikku
- mikewalsh
- Moderator
- Posts: 6158
- Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2019 1:40 pm
- Location: King's Lynn, UK
- Has thanked: 795 times
- Been thanked: 1981 times
Re: How to install flatpak app ?
Ah. So; as I suspected, the bulk of that initial set of commands is all to do with setting-up the Flatpak "framework", yes? Ri-ight. As you say, the overhead would indeed be a serious consideration for resource-challenged hardware.....which being the case, it may well be worth my looking at 'em again now that I have so much more in the way of resources to 'play with'!rockedge wrote: ↑Sat Aug 29, 2020 1:41 pm No @mikewalsh you don't. Once the setup portion is done it is only 2 steps for every added flatpak app.
Lets say we want Openshot, all you would need to do is these steps.
install :run:Code: Select all
flatpak install flathub org.openshot.OpenShot
Openshot runs okay on my Puppy machines as a flatpak but no comparison to the smoothness that I get with WeeDog64-Void or WeeDog64-Arch running openshot installed from those distro's package manager.Code: Select all
flatpak run org.openshot.OpenShot
OK, thanks for the clarification, mate. Cheers..!
Mike.
-
- Posts: 3
- Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2020 1:58 pm
- Has thanked: 3 times
- bigpup
- Moderator
- Posts: 6993
- Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2020 11:19 pm
- Location: Earth, South Eastern U.S.
- Has thanked: 911 times
- Been thanked: 1528 times
Re: How to install flatpak app ?
Again!Openshot runs okay on my Puppy machines as a flatpak but no comparison to the smoothness that I get with WeeDog64-Void or WeeDog64-Arch running openshot installed from those distro's package manager.
Why is Flatpak a better way to package a program????
The things you do not tell us, are usually the clue to fixing the problem.
When I was a kid, I wanted to be older.
This is not what I expected
- mikewalsh
- Moderator
- Posts: 6158
- Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2019 1:40 pm
- Location: King's Lynn, UK
- Has thanked: 795 times
- Been thanked: 1981 times
Re: How to install flatpak app ?
@ bigpup:-bigpup wrote: ↑Sat Aug 29, 2020 10:30 pmAgain!Openshot runs okay on my Puppy machines as a flatpak but no comparison to the smoothness that I get with WeeDog64-Void or WeeDog64-Arch running openshot installed from those distro's package manager.
Why is Flatpak a better way to package a program????
I don't believe anybody has categorically stated that Flatpaks are in fact a "better way" to package a program, mate.
They are, however, one of a number of alternatives that increasing numbers of people are asking to know how they can be made to work with Puppy. I, myself, have made my motto to be "choice in all things". You will never take away the fact that the SFS & .pet packages are the long-standing, traditional formats for Puppy, and that SFSs are in fact better in many ways for the way Puppy runs. Nobody's suggesting that.
You DO have to take cognizance of the fact, though, that increasing numbers of developers are beginning to offer their efforts ONLY as either Snaps or Flatpaks, and nowt else. What do we tell our community members? Wait until somebody builds X, Y or Z as a Puppy-standard format.....or build it yourself ???
There have been enough people, over the years, moaning & bitching about the fact that Linux has too many different ways of doing things.....and that there badly needs to be ways of offering a universal, 'one-size-fits-all' package format for all distros. I sincerely hope you're NOT advocating that Puppians, now that this outcome is finally becoming a reality, should retreat back into a 'niche' shell & refuse to use anything BUT a format that will ONLY work with Puppy.....
That's not the forward-looking/thinking sort of attitude that will really and truly benefit the community in the long term. Ya gotta move with the times, y'know? And while we're on the subject, I can't ever remember seeing you produce any packages yourself.....yet you always seem to be ready & willing to criticise the efforts of others.
Cut the rest of us some slack, hmm?
Choice is a GOOD thing. And remember, no two people have the same use-case.....or necessarily want to do things in quite the same way as someone else. We're ALL different..!
Mike.
- rockedge
- Site Admin
- Posts: 6543
- Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2019 1:38 am
- Location: Connecticut,U.S.A.
- Has thanked: 2749 times
- Been thanked: 2624 times
- Contact:
Re: How to install flatpak app ?
Where did I say anything about flatpak being better than what?????
Someone asked how to do it. I showed them. You don't like it? Don't use it.
On my street it's called minding one's own business.
- bigpup
- Moderator
- Posts: 6993
- Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2020 11:19 pm
- Location: Earth, South Eastern U.S.
- Has thanked: 911 times
- Been thanked: 1528 times
Re: How to install flatpak app ?
This topic should talk about nothing but how to install a flatpak.
Never mind!
The things you do not tell us, are usually the clue to fixing the problem.
When I was a kid, I wanted to be older.
This is not what I expected
- rockedge
- Site Admin
- Posts: 6543
- Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2019 1:38 am
- Location: Connecticut,U.S.A.
- Has thanked: 2749 times
- Been thanked: 2624 times
- Contact:
Re: How to install flatpak app ?
Code: Select all
pkg repo focal-alexlarsson
Code: Select all
The name 'focal-alexlarsson' is not a valid repo name. These are:
noarch
common
wary53x
puppy5
xenial
xenial-main
xenial-universe
xenial-multiverse
tahr
precise
[ FossaPup64 9.5, Frugal install ]
- rockedge
- Site Admin
- Posts: 6543
- Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2019 1:38 am
- Location: Connecticut,U.S.A.
- Has thanked: 2749 times
- Been thanked: 2624 times
- Contact:
Re: How to install flatpak app ?
use :
Code: Select all
pkg repo-list
Code: Select all
pkg add-repo xenial-alexlarsson
pkg add flatpak
Re: How to install flatpak app ?
Code: Select all
pkg repo-list
noarch
common
wary53x
puppy5
xenial
xenial-main
xenial-universe
xenial-multiverse
tahr
precise
Code: Select all
pkg add-repo xenial-alexlarsson
pkg add flatpak
flatpak remote-add --if-not-exists flathub https://flathub.org/repo/flathub.flatpakrepo
flatpak: command not found
[ FossaPup64 9.5, Frugal install ]
Re: How to install flatpak app ?
Okay, now I'm trying to install flatpak on BionicPup64. I followed the chain of commands in the second post, and everything seemed to be working properly (swapping pkg repo bionic-alexlarsson for pkg repo focal-alexlarsson), but then when I get to the flatpak command lines, flatpak (and flathubpak) both return 'command not found' errors.
Code: Select all
bash: flatpak: command not found
Any thoughts? I'll admit I may not have been paying complete attention to everything that flashed by, but I didn't recall seeing any error messages from the pkg commands.
Edit: Now that I've had a moment to sit down and look through things, it appears the only flatpak package installed after the commands finished was 'flatpakdummypkg.'
Code: Select all
/usr/share/doc/flatpakdummypkg/README.Debian
/usr/share/doc/flatpakdummypkg/changelog.gz
/usr/share/doc/flatpakdummypkg/copyright
(from the receipt file in ~/.packages)
[ FossaPup64 9.5, Frugal install ]
Re: How to install flatpak app ?
...and now that the repository's been added through pkg, I can search it from within PPM. Tried installing flatpak through PPM from the alexlarsson bionic repo, but it complained it couldn't find files and aborted the download. Same thing for an earlier version I found in PPM (flatpak 1.0.9 as opposed to the current 1.9x version) - even with the repo list up-to-date PPM insists it can't find some (or all?) of the files and aborts.
[ FossaPup64 9.5, Frugal install ]
- rockedge
- Site Admin
- Posts: 6543
- Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2019 1:38 am
- Location: Connecticut,U.S.A.
- Has thanked: 2749 times
- Been thanked: 2624 times
- Contact:
Re: How to install flatpak app ?
I'll have to run a test install myself, it has been a while since I worked with any flatpak installations
Re: How to install flatpak app ?
I have installed flatpak on Fossapup64 9.5 as per instructions but getting the error for adding flathub repo.
Code: Select all
root# flatpak remote-add --if-not-exists flathub https://flathub.org/repo/flathub.flatpakrepo
** (flatpak remote-add:10447): WARNING **: 11:29:23.001: Unable to register authentication agent: GDBus.Error:org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.ServiceUnknown: The name org.freedesktop.PolicyKit1 was not provided by any .service files
How to solve this?
Kamalakar
-
- Posts: 718
- Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2020 2:16 am
- Location: CALABARZON, PH
- Has thanked: 3 times
- Been thanked: 173 times
Re: How to install flatpak app ?
QuickPup64 has builtin flatpak support too. Just run flatpak command on terminal or get flatpakref file/flatpak bundle file then double click it. flatpak-installer helper will launch from terminal.
- 666philb
- Posts: 429
- Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2020 3:18 pm
- Location: wales uk
- Has thanked: 111 times
- Been thanked: 149 times
Re: How to install flatpak app ?
Makoto wrote: ↑Mon Nov 23, 2020 7:14 am...and now that the repository's been added through pkg, I can search it from within PPM. Tried installing flatpak through PPM from the alexlarsson bionic repo, but it complained it couldn't find files and aborted the download. Same thing for an earlier version I found in PPM (flatpak 1.0.9 as opposed to the current 1.9x version) - even with the repo list up-to-date PPM insists it can't find some (or all?) of the files and aborts.
hi @Makoto
in bionicpup there's no need to add the repository as flatpak is already in the PPM
fossapup64 viewtopic.php?f=40&t=88
Re: How to install flatpak app ?
Why would the PPM-installed version (the slightly out-of-date version, as I recall) give the same error when I tried to download it, though?
[ FossaPup64 9.5, Frugal install ]
Re: How to install flatpak app ?
Hi I followed the installation guid provided above.
When running flatpak or the command using flatpak i get following error:
flatpak: error while loading shared libraries: libostree-1.so.1: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
Any help.?
I'm am quit new to linux and aspecially puppylinux.
Kind regards,
Sam
Re: How to install flatpak app ?
i fixed it by installing it through the puppy package manager (interface) ... I'll try to continue now.
I uninstalled flatpak there, and also the libostree, and had to manually reinstall the libostree, before installing flatpak because i also got a error there... , and then the installation worked, and no error on running the help command now...
Greetings,
Sam
-
- Posts: 718
- Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2020 2:16 am
- Location: CALABARZON, PH
- Has thanked: 3 times
- Been thanked: 173 times
Re: How to install flatpak app ?
sam wrote: ↑Tue Oct 03, 2023 4:53 pmi fixed it by installing it through the puppy package manager (interface) ... I'll try to continue now.
I uninstalled flatpak there, and also the libostree, and had to manually reinstall the libostree, before installing flatpak because i also got a error there... , and then the installation worked, and no error on running the help command now...
Greetings,
Sam
QuickPup64 has builtin flatpak. Just run flatpak commands or download flatpakref files from flathub website and double click it and follow the instructions.
- mikeslr
- Posts: 2963
- Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2020 11:08 pm
- Has thanked: 178 times
- Been thanked: 917 times
Re: How to install flatpak app ? Jammy64/Upup_22xx-jrb
If you are running jrb's Jammypup64, https://www.forum.puppylinux.com/viewtopic.php?t=8040 the Flatpak framework can be installed using Puppy Package Manager. Be sure to first update PPM.
I was interested in running Speech-Notes, a speech to text application. PPM offered flatpak_1.12.7-1 along with a bunch of other potentially related debs. Initially, I selected just flatpak_1.2.7-1 for install; then examined what had PPM downloaded/installed against what had been offered. Preferring overkill to absence, I then installed any offered deb not already installed I thought potentially applicable for my project and installed it.
When the installation was finished, I restarted-x, then ran LIstDD on the flatpak binary which had been deployed to /bin. [That location concerned me as I thought Jammy followed the 'User-merge' protocol. However], ListDD showed nothing missing. flatpak could be started via the terminal. A nice terminal 'help' appeared with instructions about arguments to include. Having previously downloaded the Speech-notes.pak to /opt, I tried to launch it and was greeted by a notice that the KDE operating system was missing.
So while installing the flatpak framework appears to have been successful, my project wasn't. [I'm not about to try to figure out how to install the KDE windows manager and configure any Puppy to use it.]
The above should serve as a caution before installing flatpak. You may end up with a couple GBs of useless files in your SaveFile/Folder. I had taken the precaution of duplicating my JammyPup64's folder and adding the duplicate as a separate OS listing on grub.cfg. So I could delete it having lost nothing but time. At a minimum, backup your SaveFolder before experimenting with flatpak.