How to get Arduino IDE to run in Bookworm 10.0.10?

Moderator: Forum moderators

Post Reply
keniv
Posts: 694
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2020 2:18 pm
Location: Scotland
Has thanked: 124 times
Been thanked: 72 times

How to get Arduino IDE to run in Bookworm 10.0.10?

Post by keniv »

I installed Arduino IDE using synaptic. All appeared to go well. An entry was made in Menu>Utility>Arduino IDE. When this is pressed Arduino IDE initially opens then appears to hang. The exec line in /usr/share/applications/arduino,desktop is /usr/bin/arduino %f. I tried running this in a terminal. the output is shown below.

Code: Select all

# /usr/bin/arduino %f
/usr/bin/arduino: line 29: dpkg-architecture: command not found
Picked up JAVA_TOOL_OPTIONS: 

A small box also opened with the message Failed to open sketch "%f".
I tried to run the command again but without the %f. Again the output from the terminal is shown bellow.

Code: Select all

# /usr/bin/arduino
/usr/bin/arduino: line 29: dpkg-architecture: command not found
Picked up JAVA_TOOL_OPTIONS: 
java.lang.UnsatisfiedLinkError: no astylej in java.library.path: /usr/lib/jvm/java-17-openjdk-amd64/lib/server:/usr/lib/jvm/java-17-openjdk-amd64/lib:/usr/lib/jvm/java-17-openjdk-amd64/../lib:/usr/lib/jni/:/usr/lib/:/usr/lib/jni:/lib:/usr/lib:/root/my-applications/lib:/usr/local/lib:/usr/lib/jvm/java-1.17.0-openjdk-amd64/lib/server:/usr/java/packages/lib:/usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/jni:/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu:/usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu:/usr/lib/jni:/lib:/usr/lib
	at java.base/java.lang.ClassLoader.loadLibrary(ClassLoader.java:2434)
	at java.base/java.lang.Runtime.loadLibrary0(Runtime.java:818)
	at java.base/java.lang.System.loadLibrary(System.java:2006)
	at cc.arduino.packages.formatter.AStyleInterface.<clinit>(AStyleInterface.java:44)
	at cc.arduino.packages.formatter.AStyle.<init>(AStyle.java:52)
	at java.base/jdk.internal.reflect.NativeConstructorAccessorImpl.newInstance0(Native Method)
	at java.base/jdk.internal.reflect.NativeConstructorAccessorImpl.newInstance(NativeConstructorAccessorImpl.java:77)
	at java.base/jdk.internal.reflect.DelegatingConstructorAccessorImpl.newInstance(DelegatingConstructorAccessorImpl.java:45)
	at java.base/java.lang.reflect.Constructor.newInstanceWithCaller(Constructor.java:500)
	at java.base/java.lang.reflect.ReflectAccess.newInstance(ReflectAccess.java:128)
	at java.base/jdk.internal.reflect.ReflectionFactory.newInstance(ReflectionFactory.java:347)
	at java.base/java.lang.Class.newInstance(Class.java:645)
	at processing.app.Editor.getOrCreateToolInstance(Editor.java:975)
	at processing.app.Editor.createToolMenuItem(Editor.java:955)
	at processing.app.Editor.addInternalTools(Editor.java:988)
	at processing.app.Editor.buildToolsMenu(Editor.java:715)
	at processing.app.Editor.buildMenuBar(Editor.java:543)
	at processing.app.Editor.<init>(Editor.java:290)
	at processing.app.Base.handleOpen(Base.java:873)
	at processing.app.Base.handleOpen(Base.java:859)
	at processing.app.Base.handleOpen(Base.java:855)
	at processing.app.Base.handleNew(Base.java:794)
	at processing.app.Base.<init>(Base.java:482)
	at processing.app.Base.main(Base.java:141)
# 

I am not sure what the above means. I'd be obliged if anybody could suggest how I could get Arduino IDE to work in Bookworm.

Regards,

Ken.

Last edited by Flash on Tue Mar 18, 2025 5:11 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Added ? to subject line
User avatar
rockedge
Site Admin
Posts: 7021
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2019 1:38 am
Location: Connecticut,U.S.A.
Has thanked: 3147 times
Been thanked: 2933 times
Contact:

Re: How to get Arduino IDE to run in Bookworm 10.0.10

Post by rockedge »

keniv wrote: Mon Mar 17, 2025 7:40 pm

I'd be obliged if anybody could suggest how I could get Arduino IDE to work in Bookworm.

Is there a JAVA environment installed? Something like openjdk21-jre or an older openjdk17-jre?

keniv
Posts: 694
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2020 2:18 pm
Location: Scotland
Has thanked: 124 times
Been thanked: 72 times

Re: How to get Arduino IDE to run in Bookworm 10.0.10

Post by keniv »

@rockedge

Is there a JAVA environment installed? Something like openjdk21-jre or an older openjdk17-jre?

I did notice amongst the packages that were installed when installing Arduino IDE there were java packages. I've search for the two files you mention using pFind and get no files found. However if I just search on "java" in " system files" I get a total of 463 of which 162 are said to be "pictures", 16 are said to be "compressed" and 18 are "code files". The only other things installed are the ,pets shown in the attached image and Palemoon browser as a portable. Hope this is of help.

Ken.

Attachments
installedpets.png
installedpets.png (27.74 KiB) Viewed 212 times
dancytron
Posts: 771
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2019 6:26 pm
Has thanked: 575 times
Been thanked: 243 times

Re: How to get Arduino IDE to run in Bookworm 10.0.10

Post by dancytron »

Try the appimage from arduino instead of the version from synaptic.

https://www.arduino.cc/en/software

keniv
Posts: 694
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2020 2:18 pm
Location: Scotland
Has thanked: 124 times
Been thanked: 72 times

Re: How to get Arduino IDE to run in Bookworm 10.0.10

Post by keniv »

dancytron wrote: Mon Mar 17, 2025 11:33 pm

Try the appimage from arduino instead of the version from synaptic.

https://www.arduino.cc/en/software

I've no experience of using an appimage. Am I correct in thinking that I would have to remove what I installed via synaptic before attempting to use the app image?

Ken.

keniv
Posts: 694
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2020 2:18 pm
Location: Scotland
Has thanked: 124 times
Been thanked: 72 times

Re: How to get Arduino IDE to run in Bookworm 10.0.10?

Post by keniv »

I've removed the version of Arduino IDE I installed using synaptic. I've installed version 1.8.18 from https://www.arduino.cc/en/software/OldSoftwareReleases based on the information given in the last post in this thread viewtopic.php?t=13657 by forum member @Anacleto. This version at least opens in Bookworm 10.0.10 though I do not have the time just now to go any further. I figure that this will probably work for my purpose which is to upload code to an ESP32 Cam board with an OV2640. I did this last some time ago using a Win version of Arduino on XP but I no longer have this machine. I'll report back if it works.

Ken.

Post Reply

Return to “BookwormPup”