How to put periodic <F9> in script?

Issues and / or general discussion relating to Puppy

Moderator: Forum moderators

Post Reply
boof
Posts: 555
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2020 9:17 am
Been thanked: 8 times

How to put periodic <F9> in script?

Post by boof »

need to perodically press F9 to operate cache cleaner add-on [in all desktops?]. it's not built in-pity.
tks

williams2
Posts: 1059
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2020 5:45 pm
Been thanked: 302 times

Re: periodic <F9> in script?

Post by williams2 »

If you have xdotool installed:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh
while true
do
sleep 10m
xdotool search --name "Firefox" key --clearmodifiers F9
done

This "presses" the F9 key to a window with Firefox in the name of the window, every 10 minutes.

boof
Posts: 555
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2020 9:17 am
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: periodic <F9> in script?

Post by boof »

Tahr v much

User avatar
ally
Posts: 186
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2020 5:14 am
Has thanked: 112 times
Been thanked: 81 times
Contact:

Re: periodic <F9> in script?

Post by ally »

I see what you did there....nice

:)

boof
Posts: 555
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2020 9:17 am
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: How to put periodic <F9> in script?

Post by boof »

this is a good solution to my other problem, X no longer drops out at abt 24hrs. gr8 relief. tks.

Post Reply

Return to “Users”