am playing with EasyOS Kirkstone 5.8.5, looks interesting and somewhat different than the regular pups. I have an external HD with data partition that I want to automount after each boot. I don't see anything obvious with pmount... Do I have to use fstab or am I missing something.
How to automount a partition?
Moderator: BarryK
Re: How to automount a partition?
Yes, that is normally done in fstab although you can also mount it in /etc/rc.local.
Note that /etc/fstab has its own specific format while /etc/rc.local is basically a script that runs ordinary commands so if you use /etc/rc.local you should add a line exactly like whatever line you would use in an interactive shell session. For example:
Code: Select all
/bin/mount -o noatime /dev/sda8 /mnt/eight
And you should probably end the line with &
Code: Select all
/bin/mount -o noatime /dev/sda8 /mnt/eight &
And the last line in rc.local must always be
Code: Select all
exit 0
Usually better to use fstab though.
Re: How to automount a partition?
Luluc wrote: Wed Dec 04, 2024 10:01 pmYes, that is normally done in fstab although you can also mount it in /etc/rc.local.
Note that /etc/fstab has its own specific format while /etc/rc.local is basically a script that runs ordinary commands so if you use /etc/rc.local you should add a line exactly like whatever line you would use in an interactive shell session. For example:
Code: Select all
/bin/mount -o noatime /dev/sda8 /mnt/eight
And you should probably end the line with &
Code: Select all
/bin/mount -o noatime /dev/sda8 /mnt/eight &
And the last line in rc.local must always be
Code: Select all
exit 0
Usually better to use fstab though.
Yes, but in EasyOS the standard practice is to mount on a partition with the same name.
For example, in /etc/rc.d/rc.local:
Code: Select all
mkdir -p /mnt/sda8
mount -t ext4 -o noatime /dev/sda8 /mnt/sda8
You don't have to do that, but it is consistent with normal practice.
Note also, it is required to specify the filesystem.
Note also, "mount" is actually a script, that will cause the partition to show on the desktop with a "mounted" bubble on it.
Puppy Linux does the same thing, at least the traditional pups.
- pp4mnklinux
- Posts: 1317
- Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2020 5:43 pm
- Has thanked: 684 times
- Been thanked: 330 times
Re: How to automount a partition?
@BarryK
Is it possible that u include automount of partitions in the next update?
Í think some EasyOS users will thanks it.
Have a nice day u all!
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
EDITED =>>
"The devil is in the details."
PP4MNK
- pp4mnklinux
- Posts: 1317
- Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2020 5:43 pm
- Has thanked: 684 times
- Been thanked: 330 times
Re: How to automount a partition?
Ok, @Luluc , I respect your oppinion, although I don't share or understand it.
I don't know what are your reasons for not to mount the partitions (I will be thankful if you explain them to me), but for me it is really interesting, because I use the partitions to organice my downloads, files, shared folders, etc, etc.
So, just in case, some of you are interested about mounting your partitions (all or some of them), the solution is really easy:
You must edit the following file:
etc/rc.d/rc.local and write this lines with the partitions you wanna mount when starting up.
Code: Select all
#this file called from rc.sysinit
#you can edit this file to mount the partitions you want when starting up
#When firewall is installed, will append lines to this file...
mkdir -p /mnt/sdb1; mount -t ntfs /dev/sdb1 /mnt/sdb1 #pmount
mkdir -p /mnt/sdc2; mount -t ntfs /dev/sdc2 /mnt/sdc2 #pmount
mkdir -p /mnt/sdc3; mount -t ntfs /dev/sdc3 /mnt/sdc3 #pmount
mkdir -p /mnt/sdc4; mount -t ntfs /dev/sdc4 /mnt/sdc4 #pmount
mkdir -p /mnt/sdc5; mount -t ntfs /dev/sdc5 /mnt/sdc5 #pmount
mkdir -p /mnt/sda3; mount -t ext4 /dev/sda3 /mnt/sda3 #pmount
mkdir -p /mnt/sda5; mount -t ntfs /dev/sda5 /mnt/sda5 #pmount
This is not the best way (It could be fantastic design a visual screen in which you tick/mark the partitions you wanna mount at booting) but it works for me.
I hope some of you find it useful @gychang and It solved your needs.
CHEERS.
- Attachments
-
- rc.local.jpg (122.22 KiB) Viewed 1599 times
PP4MNK
- fredx181
- Posts: 3387
- Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2019 1:49 pm
- Location: holland
- Has thanked: 438 times
- Been thanked: 1485 times
- Contact:
Re: How to automount a partition?
pp4mnklinux wrote: Sun Dec 08, 2024 4:05 pm....
You must edit the following file:etc/rc.d/rc.local and write this lines with the partitions you wanna mount when starting up.
Code: Select all
#this file called from rc.sysinit #you can edit this file to mount the partitions you want when starting up #When firewall is installed, will append lines to this file... mkdir -p /mnt/sdb1; mount -t ntfs /dev/sdb1 /mnt/sdb1 #pmount mkdir -p /mnt/sdc2; mount -t ntfs /dev/sdc2 /mnt/sdc2 #pmount mkdir -p /mnt/sdc3; mount -t ntfs /dev/sdc3 /mnt/sdc3 #pmount mkdir -p /mnt/sdc4; mount -t ntfs /dev/sdc4 /mnt/sdc4 #pmount mkdir -p /mnt/sdc5; mount -t ntfs /dev/sdc5 /mnt/sdc5 #pmount mkdir -p /mnt/sda3; mount -t ext4 /dev/sda3 /mnt/sda3 #pmount mkdir -p /mnt/sda5; mount -t ntfs /dev/sda5 /mnt/sda5 #pmount
If someone has nvme* partitions rather than sd* partitions, I think it ain't gonna work, no criticism, just saying
edit: and it all depends what you have of course, e.g. mount -t ntfs
or mount -t ext4
doesn't apply to all.
- pp4mnklinux
- Posts: 1317
- Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2020 5:43 pm
- Has thanked: 684 times
- Been thanked: 330 times
Re: How to automount a partition?
Of course, @fredx181 , this code is for SATA or USB disks (@gychang asked for this), and you can't use NVMe devices, but it should not be a problem.
If you wanna use them you must modify this way the code...
Code: Select all
#directed to mount nvme devices:
#
mkdir -p /mnt/nvme0n1p1; mount -t ntfs /dev/nvme0n1p1 /mnt/nvme0n1p1 # pmount
mkdir -p /mnt/nvme0n1p2; mount -t ntfs /dev/nvme0n1p2 /mnt/nvme0n1p2 # pmount
mkdir -p /mnt/nvme0n1p3; mount -t ext4 /dev/nvme0n1p3 /mnt/nvme0n1p3 # pmount
mkdir -p /mnt/nvme0n1p4; mount -t ntfs /dev/nvme0n1p4 /mnt/nvme0n1p4 # pmount
as you can see, it's only mofify the code to adapt it to your needs, that is, modify the code to use the correct device paths based on your system's configuration and ensure that the mount points (/mnt/...) and file system types (ntfs, ext4, nvme, etc.) match your setup.
To check the available NVMe devices and partitions on your system, you can use lsblk
Code: Select all
lsblk
But as I said, that is not the final solution, it is the one I used...
Have a nice day u all
PP4MNK
Re: How to automount a partition?
pp4mnklinux wrote: Sun Dec 08, 2024 4:05 pmOk, @Luluc , I respect your oppinion, although I don't share or understand it.
I don't know what are your reasons for not to mount the partitions (I will be thankful if you explain them to me), but for me it is really interesting, because I use the partitions to organice my downloads, files, shared folders, etc, etc.
In many cases, some partitions had better remain unmounted. They may be:
- a backup location that must only be mounted under controlled circumstances
- some other OS installation that had better not be exposed lest some irresponsible software might scan/index it or even write to it
- a file system that has some problem waiting to be fixed before it can be used again
- a file system that the OS is not prepared to handle (amazing how puppies and dogs are still distributed without any support for btrfs by default, not to mention xfs)
pp4mnklinux wrote: Sun Dec 08, 2024 4:05 pm(It could be fantastic design a visual screen in which you tick/mark the partitions you wanna mount at booting)
So you agree with me after all.
- pp4mnklinux
- Posts: 1317
- Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2020 5:43 pm
- Has thanked: 684 times
- Been thanked: 330 times
Re: How to automount a partition?
Yeah I agree with u ... @Luluc
In EasyOS I can' t find this option, so I must create a modified local, but with F96CE_XFCE_FUSILLI I can use pmount and choose what partitions I wanna mount at startup.
Love to have this in Easy, but...
- Attachments
-
- snapshot-2024-12-08-20-26-13.jpg (88.34 KiB) Viewed 1531 times
PP4MNK