width-request layout
BookwormPup64 10.0.8
Moderator: Forum moderators
Re: BookwormPup64 10.0.6
@AntonioPt
Recent Woof-CE Pups (such as BookwormPup) are GTK3 builds rather than the familiar GTK2 builds of legacy Puppy Linux. Unfortunately, when comparing the GTK2 and GTK3 iterations of gtkdialog, the definition and implementation of widget parameters can vary significantly and the appearance of the rendered GUI can be quite different.
For example, the GTK3 iteration of gtkdialog applies line wrapping differently than the GTK2 version, and it also adds extra padding to GUI widgets such that excess spacing is often visualized at the bottom of the GUI -- as demonstrated by your example code in BW64. In some cases the gtkdialog code can be adjusted so GUIs rendered by GTK2 and GTK3 versions of gtkdialog will appear similar, but in other cases you may be disappointed.
As a workaround for GUIs that do not render properly with the GTK3 version of gtkdialog, modern Pups also include the companion GTK2 version (named gtk2dialog
). If you prefer GTK2 rendering of your application in modern Pups, simply adjust the code to test first for the presence of gtk2dialog. If gtk2dialog is not found, then your application is running in legacy Puppy which defaults to gtkdialog4/gtkdialog3/gtkdialog.
Adding gtk2dialog to line 3 of your example application:
Code: Select all
GTKDIALOG="`which gtk2dialog gtkdialog4 gtkdialog3 gtkdialog | head -1`"
Re: BookwormPup64 10.0.6
hi @radky any suguestion about the text ? thxx in advange
- Attachments
-
- gtk_warp.png (59.79 KiB) Viewed 2743 times
Why astronauts use Linux
Because you can't open windows in space
Re: BookwormPup64 10.0.6
@AntonioPt
Text wrap in gtkdialog can vary depending on code parameters of the current GTK theme and/or variations in the selected font family/style/size.
For example, in the images below the GTK theme is Flat-grey-rounded with font size 10 and regular style. The only GTK font difference is the choice of font family: The first image is DejaVu San while the second image is Noto Sans.
In this case, the text wrap variation is determined by the choice of font family. However, variations in the selected font style and size can produce similar differences in text wrap.
- Attachments
-
- DejaVu_Sans_10_regular.png (21.92 KiB) Viewed 2711 times
-
- Noto_Sans_10_regular.png (24.14 KiB) Viewed 2711 times
- MochiMoppel
- Posts: 1229
- Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2020 6:25 am
- Location: Japan
- Has thanked: 21 times
- Been thanked: 436 times
Re: BookwormPup64 10.0.6
For short text like in this case it might be a better idea not to rely on automatic word wrapping and instead do the wrapping manually at the desired wrap points:
<text width-chars="45"><label>"'$(gettext $'The window buttons can be themed to your\nliking. If you want to build your own buttons,\nsee')' '${P_BTN_PATH}'"</label></text>
To a certain degree text wrapping in gtkdialog can be configured with the "wrap-mode" attribute:
wrap-mode="0" # wrap lines at word boundaries. same a default wrap=true
wrap-mode="1" # wrap lines at character boundaries
wrap-mode="2" # wrap lines at word boundaries, but fall back to character boundaries if there is not enough space for a full word
- wizard
- Posts: 1955
- Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2020 7:50 pm
- Has thanked: 2610 times
- Been thanked: 675 times
Re: BookwormPup64 10.0.6
grub2config v2.01 fails on GPT drive
drive = 250gb hdd, GPT, UEFI only
partition 1 = 300mb fat32 ESP, flags = boot, esp
partition 2 = 40gb ntfs win, flags = none
partition 3 = 20gb ext3 linux, flags = none
Grub2config fails, gives error
Here's the log file:
/sbin/grub2config
version 2.0.1
Mon Mar 11 06:43:14 PM GMT 2024
splash start Searching.
sda|_ATA_SAMSUNG_HM250JI
1
splash end Searching.
Choosed:sda
Checking sda...
Boot Partition:None: none
Boot flag not found on sda
Missings:Boot flag on sda
Set the boot flag using GParted or something.
splash end
Have unsuccessfully tried:
-reset flags
-delete all partitions, start over
-change HDD
Has anyone else seen this error?
Thanks
wizard
Big pile of OLD computers
- mikeslr
- Posts: 2947
- Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2020 11:08 pm
- Has thanked: 178 times
- Been thanked: 907 times
Re: BookwormPup64 10.0.6
wizard, "grub2config v2.01 fails...Has anyone else seen this error?"
Yes, the first time on an HPLaptop which came with Windows 10. I assumed that the failure was peculiar to it. Then on a Dell after I had installed (first) Manjaro, (later) Linux Mint. I assumed the Manjaro install had somehow altered the initial Fat32 partition preventing grub2 from writing to it. grub2config had previously worked.
But you know what they say about assumptions.
- wizard
- Posts: 1955
- Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2020 7:50 pm
- Has thanked: 2610 times
- Been thanked: 675 times
Re: BookwormPup64 10.0.6
@mikeslr
I've tested on both a Dell and Lenovo laptop and confirmed it only happens if the drive is GPT.
Thanks
wizard
Big pile of OLD computers
-
- Posts: 1546
- Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2020 2:38 am
- Location: S.E. Australia
- Has thanked: 240 times
- Been thanked: 684 times
Re: BookwormPup64 10.0.6
@wizard - I'm guessing you already tried resetting the partition table via gparted to gpt (which resets & deletes everything). Reason I ask is when I set up a new hdd, I do that first & then if I create an ntfs partition, it automatically is assigned the msftdata flag, which I see your ntfs partition doesn't have. I did once set msdos partition table, then set gpt, when having issues.
- wizard
- Posts: 1955
- Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2020 7:50 pm
- Has thanked: 2610 times
- Been thanked: 675 times
Re: BookwormPup64 10.0.6
@ozsouth
I'm guessing you already tried resetting the partition table via gparted to gpt
,
Yes, changed back and forth between MSDOS & GPT during the testing. The msftdata flag doesn't seem to have any effect.
Thanks
wizard
Big pile of OLD computers
-
- Posts: 3808
- Joined: Fri Jul 24, 2020 10:59 pm
- Has thanked: 1611 times
- Been thanked: 519 times
Re: BookwormPup64 10.0.6
I use Ventoy (as most everyone knows) and only have used Grub2Config twice in my past. I cannot remember what/which storage device it was used on, so I am not offering any Grub2Config solution that maybe @shinobar knows of, or any that other forum members know. BUT ...
I successful have used Ventoy to create all of my current boot disk (mostly USB, couple HDD, 1 SSD). In doing so, when creating a bootable, I choose GPT and Secure-Boot (for UEFI) and have no boot issues. And from this create, I often add/change partitions to meet my needs. But they are always bootable.
This comment is not suggesting to change from use of Grub2Config, rather it is offered for device comparison as there may be something minor that can be gleen from it.
- wizard
- Posts: 1955
- Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2020 7:50 pm
- Has thanked: 2610 times
- Been thanked: 675 times
Re: BookwormPup64 10.0.6
@Clarity
I don't find any post by shinobar since Aug. 2022, so I think someone else with the skills, maybe @gyrog, will need to take a look at this issue. Seems grub2config does not detect the boot, esp flags on GPT drives and will not install.
Thanks
wizard
Big pile of OLD computers
-
- Posts: 3808
- Joined: Fri Jul 24, 2020 10:59 pm
- Has thanked: 1611 times
- Been thanked: 519 times
Re: BookwormPup64 10.0.6
I agree!
@jamesbond and @wiak are 2 other forum members who I am aware that have the skills to review.
Its important as Grub2Config is being incorporated into distros, OOTB.
Re: grub2config v2.01 fails on GPT drive
@wizard
I seem to recall awhile back that setting the "boot" flag on the esp partition has become optional.
Nothing to do with whether drive is GPT or MBR.
Did you do what the window requested, run Gparted and set the boot flag?
- mikeslr
- Posts: 2947
- Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2020 11:08 pm
- Has thanked: 178 times
- Been thanked: 907 times
Re: BookwormPup64 10.0.6
Yes, gparted the entire drive creating a first fat32 partition and setting its boot flag. grub2config still reports the same error.
Suggest further discussion of this grub2 problem --which isn't specific to Bookworm-- be continued here, https://www.forum.puppylinux.com/viewto ... 83#p113883 unless the moderators think some other Forum locations (Users?) would be better. In which case please move that thread.
Re: BookwormPup64 10.0.6
If I try & use grub2config I get the same error message as Wizard, even though gparted shows boot & esp flags,
and gdisk has the first partition, correctly, as EF00.
Perhaps a clue is that the grub2config.log file has:
/mnt/nvme1n1p4/grub2config-2.0.1/usr/sbin/grub2config
version 2.0.1
Wed Mar 13 03:01:53 AEDT 2024
fdisk: cannot open /dev/nvme0n: No such file or directory
fdisk: cannot open /dev/nvme0n: No such file or directory
Boot Partition:None: none
Boot flag not found on nvme0n1
Missings:Boot flag on nvme0n1
Set the boot flag using GParted or something.
When I select /dev/nvme0n1, why is fdisk being passed /dev/nvme0n,
which doesn't exist...is nvme0n1 being truncated somewhere? I tried
to look at the code...but gave up as its beyond me.
Re: BookwormPup64 10.0.6
Also, while gparted shows the boot & esp flags, fdisk doesn't. See this thread:
-
- Posts: 3808
- Joined: Fri Jul 24, 2020 10:59 pm
- Has thanked: 1611 times
- Been thanked: 519 times
Re: BookwormPup64 10.0.6
- mikeslr
- Posts: 2947
- Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2020 11:08 pm
- Has thanked: 178 times
- Been thanked: 907 times
Re: BookwormPup64 10.0.6
I, again, suggest that further discussion of the grub2 boot-loader problem be continued here, https://www.forum.puppylinux.com/viewtopic.php?t=10951.
This is NOT a BookwormPup64 problem. It will occur without regard from which Puppy grub2config is run.
- fredx181
- Posts: 3037
- Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2019 1:49 pm
- Location: holland
- Has thanked: 367 times
- Been thanked: 1290 times
- Contact:
Re: BookwormPup64 10.0.6
Running firefox as spot is not convenient IMHO on BookwormPup :
viewtopic.php?p=115085#p115085
-
- Posts: 3808
- Joined: Fri Jul 24, 2020 10:59 pm
- Has thanked: 1611 times
- Been thanked: 519 times
Re: BookwormPup64 10.0.6
Hi,
I'm facing an issue where my internal HDD are not begin detected. My device are working probably I'm certain the issue are from the new kernel builds.
Same issue exists with F96-CE_4 release.
- bigpup
- Moderator
- Posts: 6962
- Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2020 11:19 pm
- Location: Earth, South Eastern U.S.
- Has thanked: 897 times
- Been thanked: 1517 times
Re: BookwormPup64 10.0.6
What type drive?
Hard drive?
SSD?
NVME?
What setup does it have?
msdos or GPT partition table?
What partitions on it and what format is used on them?
The things you do not tell us, are usually the clue to fixing the problem.
When I was a kid, I wanted to be older.
This is not what I expected
-
- Posts: 3808
- Joined: Fri Jul 24, 2020 10:59 pm
- Has thanked: 1611 times
- Been thanked: 519 times
Re: BookwormPup64 10.0.6
Hello @mypuppy2
Please show the results of this terminal command when booted on either desktop.
Code: Select all
lsblk -a
Copy the result to a text file and post back here.
Re: BookwormPup64 10.0.6
@bigpup
My drive type is HDD, ATA/SATA connection, with MBR layout.
@Clarity
```shell
# lsblk -a
NAME MAJ:MIN RM SIZE RO TYPE MOUNTPOINTS
loop0 7:0 0 441.1M 1 loop /initrd/pup_ro2
loop1 7:1 0 15M 1 loop /initrd/pup_k
loop2 7:2 0 109.3M 1 loop /initrd/pup_f
loop3 7:3 0 71.6M 1 loop /initrd/pup_z
loop4 7:4 0 8.2M 1 loop /initrd/pup_b
loop5 7:5 0 74.9M 1 loop /initrd/pup_a
loop6 7:6 0 0B 0 loop
loop7 7:7 0 0B 0 loop
sdb 8:16 1 14.6G 0 disk
├─sdb1 8:17 1 14.6G 0 part
└─sdb4 8:20 1 760M 0 part
zram0 254:0 0 2.8G 0 disk [SWAP]
```
-
- Posts: 3808
- Joined: Fri Jul 24, 2020 10:59 pm
- Has thanked: 1611 times
- Been thanked: 519 times
Re: BookwormPup64 10.0.6
@mypuppy2
Restart your PC, enter the UEFI and look for the system drive. Is it there?
- MochiMoppel
- Posts: 1229
- Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2020 6:25 am
- Location: Japan
- Has thanked: 21 times
- Been thanked: 436 times
Re: BookwormPup64 10.0.6
Neofetch reads /etc/os-release , symlinked to /usr/lib/os-release, which is outdated in more than one way:
NAME=Puppy
VERSION="10.0.5"
ID=debian
VERSION_ID=10.0.5
PRETTY_NAME="BookwormPup64 10.0.5"
ANSI_COLOR="0;34"
CPE_NAME="cpe:/o:puppy:puppy_linux:10.0.5"
HOME_URL="http://puppylinux.com/"
SUPPORT_URL="http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/index.php"
BUG_REPORT_URL="https://github.com/puppylinux-woof-CE/woof-CE"
VERSION_CODENAME=bookworm