Page 1 of 1

[SOLVED] How to run Fortune?

Posted: Mon Sep 04, 2023 11:29 am
by devildog

It's not *nix if fortune isn't running!

The attached zip contains the command itself (/usr/games/fortune) some missing deps, and some fortune cookie files (lists of jokes and quotations) to get you started!

Unzip the file and right click/install, at minimum...
fortune-mod-1:1.99.1_7build1-amd64-DEB.txz
fortunes-min-1:1.99.1_7.3-all-DEB.txz
recode-3.6_25-amd64-DEB.txz
librecode0-3.6_25-amd64-DEB.txz

Invoke it ...
/usr/games/fortune

Question:
Is there a more elegant solution than digging for .debs, then converting them? Fortune and its deps were missing from slapt.

Question:
How can I make the default FD terminal (urxvt) run this on opening so I receive a new fortune each time the terminal is opened?

Basically I want this to run when the terminal opens...

Code: Select all

echo
/usr/games/fortune -s
echo

Failed attempt 1...

Modified .bash_profile and added...

No joy and no output.

Failed attempt 2...

Modified /etc/.profile

Can see fortune run on bootup but that's not really what I was after!

Ideas welcome!


Re: How to run Fortune?

Posted: Tue Sep 05, 2023 1:20 pm
by step
devildog wrote: Mon Sep 04, 2023 11:29 am

It's not *nix if fortune isn't running!

The attached zip contains the command itself (/usr/games/fortune) some missing deps, and some fortune cookie files (lists of jokes and quotations) to get you started!

Thank you.

[Moderator]: I'm going to take the liberty to move this thread to the Fatdog64 Software sub-forum, where other contributed packages are usually posted.

Question:
Is there a more elegant solution than digging for .debs, then converting them? Fortune and its deps were missing from slapt.

Covering a broader spectrum of related topics, here are some software package basics:

1. Additional software packages: http://distro.ibiblio.org/fatdog/web/fa ... kages.html
2. Why doesn't this Debian/Ubuntu package work? http://distro.ibiblio.org/fatdog/web/faqs/Debian.html
3. How to make packages for Fatdog64 http://distro.ibiblio.org/fatdog/web/fa ... ckage.html
4. sbopkg: Slackbuilds.org Package browser (Fatdog64 900) viewtopic.php?t=9306

Digging for .debs (or other foreign packages) is part of #2 above. Unfortunately it's time consuming and prone to error. This is the main resource https://www.debian.org/distrib/packages. You can also try packages from other major distributions but you won't have a point-and-click method to convert them to Fatdog package format as it's the case for .debs.

Question:
How can I make the default FD terminal (urxvt) run this on opening so I receive a new fortune each time the terminal is opened?

Basically I want this to run when the terminal opens...

Code: Select all

echo
/usr/games/fortune -s
echo

Short answer: put your code in $HOME/.shinit

Modified .bash_profile and added...
Modified /etc/.profile
...

Roughly cut:
- "profile" files run when the shell is a login shell, which typically happens when you boot the system.
- "rc" files run every time a new shell is started, which typically involves opening a terminal window or entering an interactive sub-shell.

So what about the .shinit file? There is no "profile" nor "rc" in its name.

".shinit" is like an "rc" file but it works for all Bourne-like shells, like sh, bash, dash, zsh, etc., whereas ".bashrc" would only run for the bash shell (an the sh shell when it's linked to /bin/bash).

Note: the .shinit file runs only because $ENV=/etc/shinit and /etc/shinit runs $HOME/.shinit.


Virtual Desktop uses in FATDOG (and other forum ISOs)

Posted: Sun Sep 10, 2023 9:35 am
by Clarity

Yes! Virtual Terminals...an old and VERY useful tool for isolating tasks and behaviors in separate "Virtual Terminals" (VT). @jamesbond is very familiar with this use case.

In my past I have used it to isolate one Window Manager from another by running the default in the Default VT (ctrl-alt-F1) while starting and testing another Window manager in another separate VT (ctrl-alt-F2).

Another of my use cases is running my QEMU-KVMs in a separate VT (ctrl-alt-F?) from my main desktop in the primary VT (ctrl-alt-F1).

There are other use cases. For me, this is an very uncomplicated method of workload management.

I do have one question: What is recommended to expand the number of VTs from the standard 2?


How to add more VTs

Posted: Sun Sep 10, 2023 10:32 am
by jamesbond

Good to see you still around, @Clarity.

To add more VTs:
1. Edit /etc/inittab
2. Add more of the following lines:

Code: Select all

tty4::respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty4
tty5::respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty5
tty6::respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty6
tty7::respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty7
tty8::respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty8

... etc as needed. You need to reboot for the change to take effect.


Re: How to run Fortune?

Posted: Sun Sep 10, 2023 11:31 am
by Clarity

Thank you @jamesbond

BTW: I responded to your PM.


Re: How to add more VTs

Posted: Sun Sep 10, 2023 4:51 pm
by fredx181
jamesbond wrote: Sun Sep 10, 2023 10:32 am

Good to see you still around, @Clarity.

Yeah! Where were you?! Had a little vacation from all the Puppy misery perhaps :lol: