PHP: Career after learning PHP

For discussions about programming, and for programming questions and advice

Moderator: Forum moderators

KalamyQ

PHP: Career after learning PHP

Post by KalamyQ »

I studied very basic PHP (I believe). After that, I feel like I've gotten a handle on the language. My dream is to work as a web developer! After doing some research, I decided to learn some more complex and practical php by using websites such as PHPSCripts, Webapps, and so on.
But now I'm completely perplexed! When I finish my studies and apply for a job as a web developer,i looked at this page it helped but still how will I be able to work if I just know the basics of the language?
Can you guys assist me in becoming a skilled web developer? What will I need to study and how will I learn it?
Also, can you provide me with the procedures to complete an actual PHP project?

rockedge
Site Admin

Re: Career after learning PHP

Post by rockedge »

@KalamyQ First I will suggest to set up a web server with PHP 7+ and for web sites that work with MySQL databases this can also be installed, on your machine at home. A good local setup will be important and give you access to every nook and corner of a web server and web sites it serves.

Once the web server using either the Hiawatha web server or an industry standard Apache is set up on your local machine the PHP work can begin.
There are several web servers available with Apache and NGINX being dominant out there in the wild.

Start with a simple PHP program. Do you have a grip on HTML and CSS? These with PHP and basic skills with javascript make up most web sites.

This forum is written with PHP, HTML and some javascript.

KalamyQ

Post by KalamyQ »

rockedge wrote: Tue Feb 21, 2023 3:57 pm