How to install flatpak app ?

Moderator: Forum moderators

Post Reply
HenriqueProteus
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2020 1:58 pm
Has thanked: 3 times

How to install flatpak app ?

Post by HenriqueProteus »

Hi,
I am traying to install this app called Komikku. To read manga

My Linux puppy is xenialpup64

I found this site to download komikku app , but I need flatpak install https://flathub.org/apps/details/info.febvre.Komikku

How I install this app? Is this possible?


*I am new in linux and sorry for my english, I am from Brazil.

Thanks!
User avatar
rockedge
Site Admin
Posts: 5714
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2019 1:38 am
Location: Connecticut,U.S.A.
Has thanked: 1994 times
Been thanked: 2097 times
Contact:

Re: How to install flatpak app ?

Post by rockedge »

This procedure will install flatpak and Komikku. I tested this on a Fossapup64 but the same steps will work in Bionic64.
I used sc0ttman's Pkg CLI package manager

Code: Select all

pkg repo-update
pkg add-repo ppa:alexlarsson/flatpak
pkg add libassuan gnupg libstemmer  libyaml-0 
pkg repo focal-alexlarsson
pkg add flatpak
Now add the FlatHub repo:

Code: Select all

flatpak remote-add --if-not-exists flathub https://flathub.org/repo/flathub.flatpakrepo
if there is an error with the public key run these commands:

Code: Select all

flathubpak remote-delete --force flathub
then install the repo again so /var/lib/flatpak/repo/flathub.trustedkeys.gpg gets created.

Code: Select all

flatpak remote-add --if-not-exists flathub https://flathub.org/repo/flathub.flatpakrepo
to install Komikku :

Code: Select all

flatpak install flathub info.febvre.Komikku
run :

Code: Select all

flatpak run info.febvre.Komikku
Screenshot(2).png
Screenshot(2).png (213.67 KiB) Viewed 5026 times
HenriqueProteus
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2020 1:58 pm
Has thanked: 3 times

Re: How to install flatpak app ?

Post by HenriqueProteus »

Thanks a lot for the help!!!!

when I use pkg add ppa:alexlarsson/flatpak show this, Cannot find flatpak..

What I need to do?
============================================================
root# pkg repo-update
Updating system repositories, please wait..

Repo files updated:

Updated: Packages-ubuntu-xenial-main
Updated: Packages-ubuntu-xenial-universe
Updated: Packages-ubuntu-xenial-multiverse
Updated: Packages-ubuntu-xenial_updates-main
Updated: Packages-ubuntu-xenial_updates-universe
Updated: Packages-ubuntu-xenial_updates-multiverse

root# pkg add ppa:alexlarsson/flatpak
Cannot find flatpak..
User avatar
rockedge
Site Admin
Posts: 5714
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2019 1:38 am
Location: Connecticut,U.S.A.
Has thanked: 1994 times
Been thanked: 2097 times
Contact:

Re: How to install flatpak app ?

Post by rockedge »

I am Sorry! I made a typing mistake and put the command incorrectly.
it should look like this: pkg add-repo ppa:alexlarsson/flatpak

Code: Select all

pkg repo-update
pkg add-repo ppa:alexlarsson/flatpak
pkg add libassuan gnupg libstemmer libyaml-0 
pkg repo focal-alexlarsson
pkg add flatpak
and then the steps adding the flatpak repo and the Komikku package that are detailed in the post above.

I fixed the typo in the original instructions.
User avatar
mikewalsh
Moderator
Posts: 5575
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2019 1:40 pm
Location: King's Lynn, UK
Has thanked: 570 times
Been thanked: 1681 times

Re: How to install flatpak app ?

Post by mikewalsh »

@rockedge :-

Gawd. D'you have to go through ALL that, every time you want to add a Flatpak?

That looks like over-complication for the sake of it, y'know, it really does...! And people wonder why I like AppImages so much.....they either run, or they don't. Still, since more & more stuff is steadily being offered as Flatpaks (in some cases, nowt else), I suppose we're going to have to start getting used to all this malarkey.....

Jeez. (*shakes head*)


Mike. ;)

Puppy "stuff" ~ MORE Puppy "stuff" ~ ....and MORE! :D
_______________________________________________________

Image

User avatar
rockedge
Site Admin
Posts: 5714
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2019 1:38 am
Location: Connecticut,U.S.A.
Has thanked: 1994 times
Been thanked: 2097 times
Contact:

Re: How to install flatpak app ?

Post by rockedge »

No @mikewalsh you don't. Once the setup portion is done it is only 2 steps for every added flatpak app.
Lets say we want Openshot, all you would need to do is these steps.

install :

Code: Select all

flatpak install flathub org.openshot.OpenShot
run:

Code: Select all

flatpak run org.openshot.OpenShot
Openshot runs okay on my Puppy machines as a flatpak but no comparison to the smoothness that I get with WeeDog64-Void or WeeDog64-Arch running openshot installed from those distro's package manager.
User avatar
rockedge
Site Admin
Posts: 5714
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2019 1:38 am
Location: Connecticut,U.S.A.
Has thanked: 1994 times
Been thanked: 2097 times
Contact:

Re: How to install flatpak app ?

Post by rockedge »

flatpak seems to take up a lot of memory and storage so the overhead is something to think about.
Like openshot needing a good PYTHON 3 install to really work and GTK3 the question is use a package that is all self contained or installed using the individual components.

I use PYTHON 3 for other applications and stuff I write so I use PYTHON from ActiveState which really will get a good python 3 running in Puppy Linux, so I can install Openshot and get it running smoothly. Which makes it fun to work with.
User avatar
rockedge
Site Admin
Posts: 5714
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2019 1:38 am
Location: Connecticut,U.S.A.
Has thanked: 1994 times
Been thanked: 2097 times
Contact:

Re: How to install flatpak app ?

Post by rockedge »

Create a start script in /root/my-applications/bin called Komikku

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh
flatpak run info.febvre.Komikku
set the permission to execute in a terminal:

Code: Select all

chmod a+x /root/my-applications/bin/Komikku
this can also be done from the menu using "Permissions"

drag and drop it on to the desktop and assign it a nice icon and click to start. Or in a terminal :

Code: Select all

Komikku
it works!
Screenshot(3).png
Screenshot(3).png (451.99 KiB) Viewed 4958 times
User avatar
mikewalsh
Moderator
Posts: 5575
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2019 1:40 pm
Location: King's Lynn, UK
Has thanked: 570 times
Been thanked: 1681 times

Re: How to install flatpak app ?

Post by mikewalsh »

rockedge wrote: Sat Aug 29, 2020 1:41 pm No @mikewalsh you don't. Once the setup portion is done it is only 2 steps for every added flatpak app.
Lets say we want Openshot, all you would need to do is these steps.

install :

Code: Select all

flatpak install flathub org.openshot.OpenShot
run:

Code: Select all

flatpak run org.openshot.OpenShot
Openshot runs okay on my Puppy machines as a flatpak but no comparison to the smoothness that I get with WeeDog64-Void or WeeDog64-Arch running openshot installed from those distro's package manager.
Ah. So; as I suspected, the bulk of that initial set of commands is all to do with setting-up the Flatpak "framework", yes? Ri-ight. As you say, the overhead would indeed be a serious consideration for resource-challenged hardware.....which being the case, it may well be worth my looking at 'em again now that I have so much more in the way of resources to 'play with'!

OK, thanks for the clarification, mate. Cheers..!


Mike. ;)

Puppy "stuff" ~ MORE Puppy "stuff" ~ ....and MORE! :D
_______________________________________________________

Image

HenriqueProteus
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2020 1:58 pm
Has thanked: 3 times

Re: How to install flatpak app ?

Post by HenriqueProteus »

Thanks a lot @rockedge !!

I made the install of Komikku here!

Your help was very important!

:thumbup: :thumbup: :thumbup:
User avatar
bigpup
Moderator
Posts: 6271
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2020 11:19 pm
Location: Earth, South Eastern U.S.
Has thanked: 732 times
Been thanked: 1292 times

Re: How to install flatpak app ?

Post by bigpup »

Openshot runs okay on my Puppy machines as a flatpak but no comparison to the smoothness that I get with WeeDog64-Void or WeeDog64-Arch running openshot installed from those distro's package manager.
Again!
Why is Flatpak a better way to package a program???? :roll: :?

Forum Global Moderator
The things you do not tell us, are usually the clue to fixing the problem.
When I was a kid, I wanted to be older.
This is not what I expected :o

User avatar
mikewalsh
Moderator
Posts: 5575
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2019 1:40 pm
Location: King's Lynn, UK
Has thanked: 570 times
Been thanked: 1681 times

Re: How to install flatpak app ?

Post by mikewalsh »

bigpup wrote: Sat Aug 29, 2020 10:30 pm
Openshot runs okay on my Puppy machines as a flatpak but no comparison to the smoothness that I get with WeeDog64-Void or WeeDog64-Arch running openshot installed from those distro's package manager.
Again!
Why is Flatpak a better way to package a program???? :roll: :?
@ bigpup:-

I don't believe anybody has categorically stated that Flatpaks are in fact a "better way" to package a program, mate.

They are, however, one of a number of alternatives that increasing numbers of people are asking to know how they can be made to work with Puppy. I, myself, have made my motto to be "choice in all things". You will never take away the fact that the SFS & .pet packages are the long-standing, traditional formats for Puppy, and that SFSs are in fact better in many ways for the way Puppy runs. Nobody's suggesting that.

You DO have to take cognizance of the fact, though, that increasing numbers of developers are beginning to offer their efforts ONLY as either Snaps or Flatpaks, and nowt else. What do we tell our community members? Wait until somebody builds X, Y or Z as a Puppy-standard format.....or build it yourself ???

There have been enough people, over the years, moaning & bitching about the fact that Linux has too many different ways of doing things.....and that there badly needs to be ways of offering a universal, 'one-size-fits-all' package format for all distros. I sincerely hope you're NOT advocating that Puppians, now that this outcome is finally becoming a reality, should retreat back into a 'niche' shell & refuse to use anything BUT a format that will ONLY work with Puppy.....

That's not the forward-looking/thinking sort of attitude that will really and truly benefit the community in the long term. Ya gotta move with the times, y'know? And while we're on the subject, I can't ever remember seeing you produce any packages yourself.....yet you always seem to be ready & willing to criticise the efforts of others.

Cut the rest of us some slack, hmm? :roll:

Choice is a GOOD thing. And remember, no two people have the same use-case.....or necessarily want to do things in quite the same way as someone else. We're ALL different..! :D


Mike. Image

Puppy "stuff" ~ MORE Puppy "stuff" ~ ....and MORE! :D
_______________________________________________________

Image

User avatar
rockedge
Site Admin
Posts: 5714
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2019 1:38 am
Location: Connecticut,U.S.A.
Has thanked: 1994 times
Been thanked: 2097 times
Contact:

Re: How to install flatpak app ?

Post by rockedge »

@bigpup

Where did I say anything about flatpak being better than what?????

Someone asked how to do it. I showed them. You don't like it? Don't use it.

On my street it's called minding one's own business.
User avatar
bigpup
Moderator
Posts: 6271
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2020 11:19 pm
Location: Earth, South Eastern U.S.
Has thanked: 732 times
Been thanked: 1292 times

Re: How to install flatpak app ?

Post by bigpup »

You are correct.
This topic should talk about nothing but how to install a flatpak.

Never mind!

Forum Global Moderator
The things you do not tell us, are usually the clue to fixing the problem.
When I was a kid, I wanted to be older.
This is not what I expected :o

User avatar
Makoto
Posts: 76
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2020 6:29 am
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: How to install flatpak app ?

Post by Makoto »

@rockedge:

Should the steps you mention in the second post work for 32-bit XenialPup, or are there any changes that need to be made?

[ FossaPup64 9.5, Frugal install ]

User avatar
rockedge
Site Admin
Posts: 5714
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2019 1:38 am
Location: Connecticut,U.S.A.
Has thanked: 1994 times
Been thanked: 2097 times
Contact:

Re: How to install flatpak app ?

Post by rockedge »

it should also work in most 32 bit Puppy's including Xenial.
User avatar
Makoto
Posts: 76
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2020 6:29 am
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: How to install flatpak app ?

Post by Makoto »

I didn't get any errors with the commands until I reached this line:

Code: Select all

pkg repo focal-alexlarsson

Code: Select all

The name 'focal-alexlarsson' is not a valid repo name. These are:
noarch
common
wary53x
puppy5
xenial
xenial-main
xenial-universe
xenial-multiverse
tahr
precise

[ FossaPup64 9.5, Frugal install ]

User avatar
rockedge
Site Admin
Posts: 5714
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2019 1:38 am
Location: Connecticut,U.S.A.
Has thanked: 1994 times
Been thanked: 2097 times
Contact:

Re: How to install flatpak app ?

Post by rockedge »

Yes, I should have added the detail that it will be named differently! My bad. Since it is not for Fossa Focal but is for Xenial
use :

Code: Select all

pkg repo-list
to list out the available repos and the proper name of xenial-alexlarsson should appear. So the commands would be

Code: Select all

pkg add-repo xenial-alexlarsson
pkg add flatpak
User avatar
Makoto
Posts: 76
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2020 6:29 am
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: How to install flatpak app ?

Post by Makoto »

I'm only getting the bare minimum with repo-list. The flatpak repo isn't showing up, even though I entered all the commands as you listed them. :(

Code: Select all

pkg repo-list

noarch
common
wary53x
puppy5
xenial
xenial-main
xenial-universe
xenial-multiverse
tahr
precise

Code: Select all

pkg add-repo xenial-alexlarsson
pkg add flatpak
flatpak remote-add --if-not-exists flathub https://flathub.org/repo/flathub.flatpakrepo
flatpak: command not found

[ FossaPup64 9.5, Frugal install ]

User avatar
Makoto
Posts: 76
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2020 6:29 am
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: How to install flatpak app ?

Post by Makoto »

@rockedge

Okay, now I'm trying to install flatpak on BionicPup64. I followed the chain of commands in the second post, and everything seemed to be working properly (swapping pkg repo bionic-alexlarsson for pkg repo focal-alexlarsson), but then when I get to the flatpak command lines, flatpak (and flathubpak) both return 'command not found' errors.

Code: Select all

bash: flatpak: command not found

Any thoughts? I'll admit I may not have been paying complete attention to everything that flashed by, but I didn't recall seeing any error messages from the pkg commands.

Edit: Now that I've had a moment to sit down and look through things, it appears the only flatpak package installed after the commands finished was 'flatpakdummypkg.'

Code: Select all

/usr/share/doc/flatpakdummypkg/README.Debian
/usr/share/doc/flatpakdummypkg/changelog.gz
/usr/share/doc/flatpakdummypkg/copyright

(from the receipt file in ~/.packages)

[ FossaPup64 9.5, Frugal install ]

User avatar
Makoto
Posts: 76
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2020 6:29 am
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: How to install flatpak app ?

Post by Makoto »

...and now that the repository's been added through pkg, I can search it from within PPM. Tried installing flatpak through PPM from the alexlarsson bionic repo, but it complained it couldn't find files and aborted the download. Same thing for an earlier version I found in PPM (flatpak 1.0.9 as opposed to the current 1.9x version) - even with the repo list up-to-date PPM insists it can't find some (or all?) of the files and aborts.

[ FossaPup64 9.5, Frugal install ]

User avatar
rockedge
Site Admin
Posts: 5714
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2019 1:38 am
Location: Connecticut,U.S.A.
Has thanked: 1994 times
Been thanked: 2097 times
Contact:

Re: How to install flatpak app ?

Post by rockedge »

I'll have to run a test install myself, it has been a while since I worked with any flatpak installations

kagashe
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Sep 02, 2021 12:32 pm
Location: Delhi, India
Contact:

Re: How to install flatpak app ?

Post by kagashe »

I have installed flatpak on Fossapup64 9.5 as per instructions but getting the error for adding flathub repo.

Code: Select all

root# flatpak remote-add --if-not-exists flathub https://flathub.org/repo/flathub.flatpakrepo

** (flatpak remote-add:10447): WARNING **: 11:29:23.001: Unable to register authentication agent: GDBus.Error:org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.ServiceUnknown: The name org.freedesktop.PolicyKit1 was not provided by any .service files

How to solve this?

Kamalakar

mistfire
Posts: 650
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2020 2:16 am
Location: CALABARZON, PH
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 143 times

Re: How to install flatpak app ?

Post by mistfire »

QuickPup64 has builtin flatpak support too. Just run flatpak command on terminal or get flatpakref file/flatpak bundle file then double click it. flatpak-installer helper will launch from terminal.

User avatar
666philb
Posts: 429
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2020 3:18 pm
Location: wales uk
Has thanked: 111 times
Been thanked: 146 times

Re: How to install flatpak app ?

Post by 666philb »

Makoto wrote: Mon Nov 23, 2020 7:14 am

...and now that the repository's been added through pkg, I can search it from within PPM. Tried installing flatpak through PPM from the alexlarsson bionic repo, but it complained it couldn't find files and aborted the download. Same thing for an earlier version I found in PPM (flatpak 1.0.9 as opposed to the current 1.9x version) - even with the repo list up-to-date PPM insists it can't find some (or all?) of the files and aborts.

hi @Makoto

in bionicpup there's no need to add the repository as flatpak is already in the PPM

User avatar
Makoto
Posts: 76
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2020 6:29 am
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: How to install flatpak app ?

Post by Makoto »

Why would the PPM-installed version (the slightly out-of-date version, as I recall) give the same error when I tried to download it, though?

[ FossaPup64 9.5, Frugal install ]

sam
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2023 4:21 pm

Re: How to install flatpak app ?

Post by sam »

Hi I followed the installation guid provided above.

When running flatpak or the command using flatpak i get following error:
flatpak: error while loading shared libraries: libostree-1.so.1: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

Any help.?

I'm am quit new to linux and aspecially puppylinux.

Kind regards,
Sam

sam
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2023 4:21 pm

Re: How to install flatpak app ?

Post by sam »

i fixed it by installing it through the puppy package manager (interface) ... I'll try to continue now.

I uninstalled flatpak there, and also the libostree, and had to manually reinstall the libostree, before installing flatpak because i also got a error there... , and then the installation worked, and no error on running the help command now...

Greetings,
Sam

mistfire
Posts: 650
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2020 2:16 am
Location: CALABARZON, PH
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 143 times

Re: How to install flatpak app ?

Post by mistfire »

sam wrote: Tue Oct 03, 2023 4:53 pm

i fixed it by installing it through the puppy package manager (interface) ... I'll try to continue now.

I uninstalled flatpak there, and also the libostree, and had to manually reinstall the libostree, before installing flatpak because i also got a error there... , and then the installation worked, and no error on running the help command now...

Greetings,
Sam

QuickPup64 has builtin flatpak. Just run flatpak commands or download flatpakref files from flathub website and double click it and follow the instructions.

viewtopic.php?t=3171

User avatar
mikeslr
Posts: 2791
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2020 11:08 pm
Has thanked: 173 times
Been thanked: 837 times

Re: How to install flatpak app ? Jammy64/Upup_22xx-jrb

Post by mikeslr »

If you are running jrb's Jammypup64, https://www.forum.puppylinux.com/viewtopic.php?t=8040 the Flatpak framework can be installed using Puppy Package Manager. Be sure to first update PPM.

I was interested in running Speech-Notes, a speech to text application. PPM offered flatpak_1.12.7-1 along with a bunch of other potentially related debs. Initially, I selected just flatpak_1.2.7-1 for install; then examined what had PPM downloaded/installed against what had been offered. Preferring overkill to absence, I then installed any offered deb not already installed I thought potentially applicable for my project and installed it.

When the installation was finished, I restarted-x, then ran LIstDD on the flatpak binary which had been deployed to /bin. [That location concerned me as I thought Jammy followed the 'User-merge' protocol. However], ListDD showed nothing missing. flatpak could be started via the terminal. A nice terminal 'help' appeared with instructions about arguments to include. Having previously downloaded the Speech-notes.pak to /opt, I tried to launch it and was greeted by a notice that the KDE operating system was missing.

So while installing the flatpak framework appears to have been successful, my project wasn't. [I'm not about to try to figure out how to install the KDE windows manager and configure any Puppy to use it.]

The above should serve as a caution before installing flatpak. You may end up with a couple GBs of useless files in your SaveFile/Folder. I had taken the precaution of duplicating my JammyPup64's folder and adding the duplicate as a separate OS listing on grub.cfg. So I could delete it having lost nothing but time. At a minimum, backup your SaveFolder before experimenting with flatpak.

Post Reply

Return to “AppImages, Snaps and Flatpaks”