SOLVED: Question Regarding Trying To Build A NAS Puppy Linux Derivative, And An Emacs Centered Puppy Linux Derivative

Moderator: Forum moderators

Shortstop

SOLVED: Question Regarding Trying To Build A NAS Puppy Linux Derivative, And An Emacs Centered Puppy Linux Derivative

Post by Shortstop »

Hey there,

I'm a complete newbie to Puppy Linux.

For some reason, I always feel the need to check this distro out.

Forgive me if I say this flat out, but the jenkiness of the distro, and the fact that there are literally thousands of puplet derivatives are what I find absolutely fascinating.

This and the distro's commitment to old hardware is what keeps me coming back for some reason. I happen to just own 64 bit PC's throughout my lab, but still, its awesome that you guys are still pushing through with supporting older hardware, because why not?

With this out of the way, I am thinking to do two major types of Puplets somehow:

• An Emacs based Puppy Linux distro in which I figure out how to compile the latest Emacs from source, which 'exwm' Emacs Window Manager built in, from scratch, with a config similar to my own personal config.

• Possibly a third variant with a crazy specific window manager like AwesomeWM, SpectWM, etc. Not sure which one, but I think this would be cool enough since I don't see any spins of this on this distro, and think some users on here would like this.

My main question is primarily around this workflow:

• I would just have to grab whatever base Puppy Linux distro I want, and then boot into it, and then install whatever I want ontop

• Then, once the installation stuff is out of the way, just remaster the entire drive as a new Puppy Linux ISO right? --> What utility do I use? + does anyone have a guide on this?