How to keep savefile lean and mean.

Issues and / or general discussion relating to Puppy

Moderator: Forum moderators

xenial

How to keep savefile lean and mean.

Post by xenial »

Hello forum.
As you may or may not know i was tinkering with several pups on my usb flashdrive and i have settled with 3 for now.
xenialpup32.
focalpup32.(very very nice pup.)
fossapup64.

I am currently using focalpup32 which is my favourite and i am wondering how i can keep the savefile in a lean shape.
i have 1.5gb of storage with 1.3 gb as free space.
I have chromium sfs as my browser although i have limited to no knowledge of how sfs truly works.Everything is more or less how i want things and i am aware i can not use the save function at reboot etc but if i make small incremental changes can these changes be added to the savefile manually.?

thank you.

wizard

Re: How to keep savefile lean and mean.

Post by wizard »

@xenial

The chromium sfs (and all added sfs) file does not take up any save file space. However, chromium's cache file does take up save file space and it will grow like weeds. I personally like to use firefox on usb and ssd drives since you can adjust the automatic save interval and you can configure it to place the cache outside the save file. I have not done the same with chromum but I'm betting that @mikewalsh knows how since he is the browser king.

wizard

Big pile of OLD computers

xenial

Post by xenial »

Thank you wizard.
I have used firefox for many years and love the browser but i am experiencing issues with the latest version on my relatively oldish laptop.Chromium seems to perform slightly better. could use a v78esr firefox i have lying around but i am not sure how long it will run until it goes bang.

I shall wait until mr walsh responds as he is more knowledgeable than me.

mikewalsh

Post by mikewalsh »

@xenial :-

Hi, Xenial.