No sound in Youtube videos on Firefox 78.0.2(64bit)

Moderator: Forum moderators

mohittomar13

No sound in Youtube videos on Firefox 78.0.2(64bit)

Post by mohittomar13 »

So here is an another issue I recently run into. Actually I'm new to puppy, just started using it about 5 days ago.

System details in signature below.

There is no sound in youtube videos on firefox. This issue is not with palemoon, there the videos play without any issue. The barking sound is also working in the system settings.

Is this an issue with the firefox or with the puuppy??

Thanks

Laptop: Dell 3568
CPU: intel i3 6006U
RAM: 12 Gigs
4GB-micron + 8GB-kingston

yeah, it works.. :D
HDD: 1TB
OS: Tripple boot- (Windows-10, Xubuntu-20.4LTs, Bionic Puppy) 64Bit

Puppus Dogfellow

Re: No sound in Youtube videos on Firefox 78.0.2(64bit)

Post by Puppus Dogfellow »

you need apulse to call the launch script for firefox to work in most puppies. this is my firefox.desktop file:

[Desktop Entry]
Encoding=UTF-8
Name=Firefox Web Browser
Exec=apulse /opt/firefox/firefox
Terminal=false
Type=Application
Categories=X-Internet
Icon=/usr/share/pixmaps/puppy/internet.svg
GenericName=web browser

if firefox runs from the terminal from just the firefox command, all you need is apulse firefox to run it. if it's installed off the $PATH (terminal won't launch firefox--alternately you can use which firefox to check (you won't get a response)), find it and change the exec line above to point to the firefox script inside the firefox folder (wherever it is--highlight it with the mouse and middle click it into the desktop file). if you installed via pet you should already have a desktop file. if so, just open it with a text editor and add the apulse and a space in front of whatever the existing Exec line is and save the file.

fixmenus; jwm -reload