How to update software/Vivaldi in Puppy Linux?

New to Puppy and have questions? Start here

Moderator: Forum moderators

EfficientPup

How to update software/Vivaldi in Puppy Linux?

Post by EfficientPup »

I was shocked that a web search yielded no results and I was equally surprised to not find a way with the PPM or other tools within BionicPup 8. After getting Vivaldi to finally install now I can't update it :lol: . I did see a little prompt a day ago but I wasn't ready yet now I must and neither Vivaldi's instructions nor Puppy gives me anything to do so. Vivaldi states the browser is updated with the rest of the OS but since I'm new to linux I forget the cmd. But in general how do I find installed apps in MY puppy save to manage/delete/update?

Last edited by EfficientPup on Tue Jul 06, 2021 5:33 am, edited 1 time in total.
bigpup

Re: How to update software in puppy linux

Post by bigpup »

In general Puppy does not do any automatic updates.
Anything that you want to update, you have to individually manually do it.

Any Puppy version that has the quickpet program, has a update feature in it.
This was provided by the developer of the Puppy version.
It is a way to add bug fixes and possibly improved versions of programs.
But these Quickpet->Info->Updates are provided by the developer of the Puppy version.
It is stuff they felt needed to be added, after initial release of the Puppy version.
You have to choose to run this Quickpet->Info->Updates.

Web browsers seem to constantly, need to update.
A lot of the web browsers, have built in update features.
That you can control, by the preference settings, in the browser.
This gets a little specific, on which specific browser, it is.

Some of the other Puppy versions may have some type of update program.
But none of them do anything automatically.
You have to choose to run the program.
This is something provided by the Puppy version developer.
How it works and what it does is up to them.