How to rebuild an older Puppy to boot in UEFI computer?

Moderator: Forum moderators

mikewalsh

How to rebuild an older Puppy to boot in UEFI computer?

Post by mikewalsh »

Morning, all.

Now then; I can only assume this is the best place to put this. I'm not experienced in the way some of you are, so therefore I'll ask my question.

Which is this:-

I used to enjoy running all sorts of Puppies on my old Compaq tower. 2004, so it was way pre- all this UEFI crap. With this new HP Pavilion desktop, I can't run anything prior to Tahrpup - 6.06, the version that had the efi.img added. If I attempt to boot any Pup that doesn't have this, I get the message "Vesa BIOS extensions not detected. Dropping out to initial RAM console..."

Right. So; let me ask all you re-mastering & Pup-building experts out there; Is there a way to rebuild an older Puppy to make use of this efi.img/whatever else is required.....or am I on a hiding to nothing?

I loved my UPup Raring by pemasu. I thoroughly enjoyed playing around with Racy & Wary. Darry's re-built 431 "Phoenix" was a constant source of delight. None of these will boot any longer, which really hacks me off...

No, I don't wish to run a VM. I always have issues with the damn things, and TBH I no longer have the time to mess around with them. What I'm looking for is a way that I can use to get these older Puppies running again on modern UEFI hardware, so I can set 'em up and just boot into them as normal...

Don't get me wrong. The modern Pups are very special in their own way, and I enjoy them just as much.....but I simply want to run old & new Pups alongside each other on this fast, powerful modern hardware.

Level with me, guys. Can it be done..?

Any sensible advice will be very much appreciated, please. TIA.

Mike. ;)

Puppy "stuff" ~ MORE Puppy "stuff" ~ ....and MORE! :D

ndujoe1

Re: A question, guys....

Post by ndujoe1 »