Browser recommendation?

New to Puppy and have questions? Start here

Moderator: Forum moderators

Texaspilot

Browser recommendation?

Post by Texaspilot »

Hi y’all,

I am totally new to linux and to puppy, but I am having fun learning. I know very little about computers in general, and in fact have not touched a computer in more than 5 years. I have done everything through an ipad.

One of the bad computing memories that has come back to me, is when i loaded palemoon browser and was looking for something, i see all these ads, videos and distracting extraneous pictures. Is there a way to block this stuff, or a more textual browser? I don’t want or need that stuff. I am fascinated right now with learning linux command line. I read alot of forums and text. I dont want pictures, except for an occasional diagram or video for some diy stuff i might do. Possibly there is some sort of browser that works well through the console funtion? Thanks for any ideas.

s243a

Re: Browser recommendation

Post by s243a »

There are terminal based briwsers like lynx. I haven't spent much time trying these so I have no recommendations.

01101001b

Re: Browser recommendation

Post by 01101001b »

Texaspilot wrote: Mon Dec 21, 2020 12:42 pm

when i loaded palemoon browser [...] i see all these ads, videos and distracting extraneous pictures. Is there a way to block this stuff, or a more textual browser?

I use Ublock Origin (legacy). It works fine in Pale Moon. Click on it and then on uBlock0_1.16.4.27.firefox-legacy.xpi and it will be installed in your browser. That's it. It will automatically block ads.

If you feel more adventurous, you can also use Ublock to block images, videos and such.
Hope you can make head or tail of all this :thumbup2:

Good luck! :)

''Most people make the mistake of thinking design is what it looks like [...] It's not [...]. Design is how it works.'' -- Steve Jobs

Texaspilot

Re: Browser recommendation?

Post by Texaspilot »