Puppy Commander - Puppy on its own partition with UEFI-friendly grub

A home for all kinds of Puppy related projects

Moderator: Forum moderators

trawglodyte

Puppy Commander - Puppy on its own partition with UEFI-friendly grub

Post by trawglodyte »

This didn't seem to belong in the Beginner's section, but I want to make clear I'm new to Puppy Linux and still trying to understand the layered filesystem and so forth. I should also make clear the concept I'm going to describe is experimental and I'm probably going about it all wrong. This isn't a guide. The purpose of this post is to see if anyone has interest in it and can give me some tips or perhaps tell me I'm barking up the wrong tree and should do this differently.

I recently learned how easy it can be to install and multi-boot with Puppy Linux on a UEFI system if you have an existing Linux distro. I think it could even be made into a script you could point at a puppy.iso which would install and add it to the grub menu, which would be a good learning project for me and something useful I could contribute.

I got to thinking maybe it would be nice to find the smallest Linux distro possible to control the grub menu. I was looking at Manjaro's minimal install, Modhi, and LinuxLite. All very capable.

But then I started thinking what would be even cooler would be a Puppy on it's own partition with UEFI-friendly grub that you could use to add or remove Puppy's on another partition easily and keep the grub menu updated to boot to any of them.

So that's what I'm playing with. I have a frugal install of BookwormPup64_10.0.4 on a 15G partition and I'm attempting to add the Debian packages I need (such as grub-efi and several others) so I can use it to frugal install/unistall other Puppy distros to a second partition.