Page 1 of 1
Mount Cloud Storage with rclone
Posted: Sun Dec 31, 2023 11:23 am
by fredx181
rclone can be used to mount many cloud storage services.
This mini how-to is for to mount Google Drive (which I only have experience with using rclone), but probably can be easily changed for use with other cloud services.
(or use googledrive GUI v3 viewtopic.php?t=10218)
Open a terminal and paste below (or make script from it)
Code: Select all
PROFILE="somename" # change "somename" to what you prefer
DRIVE="drive" # 'drive' is Google Drive
rclone config create $PROFILE $DRIVE service_account_credentials "" # create config
(this creates a very basic config, for more advanced config: rclone config
and answer the questions)
The default browser should open, login your Google account and allow rclone access
A basic rclone.conf file will be created in ~/.config/rclone/
Then to mount e.g. :
Code: Select all
mkdir -p gdrive
rclone mount $PROFILE: gdrive
Or to mount subfolder, e.g. My Folder
Code: Select all
mkdir -p gdrive
rclone mount $PROFILE:/"My Folder" gdrive
EDIT: To unmount, simply : umount gdrive
Note that newer versions of rclone may require fuse3
EDIT: Anyone feel free of course to post in this thread about using other than 'Google Drive' with rclone ....
Wish you all a great 2024 !
Re: Mount Cloud Storage with rclone
Posted: Sun Jan 14, 2024 11:39 am
by mikewalsh
@Jasper :-
Thanks, mate, but I've given up on that idea. Fred's package works brilliantly well for my Google Drive a/c; out of the remaining two, MediaFire isn't supported, and MEGA won't let me connect. So THAT'S a "bust"...!
Mike.
Re: Mount Cloud Storage with rclone
Posted: Sun Jan 14, 2024 12:55 pm
by Trapster
@mikewalsh and others.
Mike,
If you can ftp into your sites, this should work.
I just set it up so I could ftp into my website and it works perfectly.
I used
and chose the ftp option and it runs thru some questions to set it up.
The config settings end up in /root/.config/rclone. The password does get encrypted.
Here is an example of what the config looks like for ftp.
(website is the actual name I used in the config)
[website]
type = ftp
host = ftp.webdomain.com
user = user.webdomain.com
pass = HDgKaOt1Nqi8-aoMdIKWA35CiTJnWf-uXw
Then I created /mnt/website
and ran
Code: Select all
rclone mount website: /mnt/website
Re: Mount Cloud Storage with rclone
Posted: Sun Jan 14, 2024 1:41 pm
by mikewalsh
@Trapster :-
Nice idea, buddy.....but the issue I have here is that MEGA will ONLY accept my user password actually on their site (something to do with encryption, I believe?)
All attempts to enter it remotely thru the terminal fail, because it refuses to accept any input...
Or should I choose the "randomly-generated" option? I've no idea if that would work, since MEGA insist on an encrypted password before even allowing you to log-in..... Mind you, I've come across other sites like this, where they will only permit interaction actually ON the website itself; any attempts at remote interaction are simply stone-walled.
(And MEGA are constantly changing the way the site works, so it's entirely possible this version of rclone no longer functions with it.)
Mike.
Re: Mount Cloud Storage with rclone
Posted: Sun Jan 14, 2024 4:22 pm
by dancytron
There is a rclone-browser app "Simple cross platform GUI for rclone" in the Debian Bookworm repo that has a bunch of cloud services pre-configured and some different security levels.
I tested it with Google Drive and it just worked with the defaults (MX Linux). I tested Fred's app before in DD and it worked fine as well.
Edit: rclone-browser Also worked on my main DD Buster install, although I had to paste the url into Chrome manually (but my Chrome install isn't exactly standard for DD either).
If nothing else, it provides a good list of places that rclone should theoretically work.
Re: Mount Cloud Storage with rclone
Posted: Sun Jan 14, 2024 6:26 pm
by fredx181
mikewalsh wrote:(And MEGA are constantly changing the way the site works, so it's entirely possible this version of rclone no longer functions with it.)
Perhaps needs latest rclone version ? (https://github.com/rclone/rclone/releases/tag/v1.65.1)
Re: Mount Cloud Storage with rclone
Posted: Mon Jan 15, 2024 1:45 am
by mikewalsh
@fredx181 :-
Mm. That would kinda defeat the object of the excercise, Fred. Newer versions require a much newer Puppy.......and in my newer Pups, I have MEGA's own desktop client installed & working very sweetly. I'm trying to get some kind of remote access to MEGA from older Puppies like Tahrpup64 and Xenialpup64.
Ah, hell. I can always set-up MEGA as an 'app' on those two, and run it as its own desktop window from, say, Chrome and/or Slimjet, for instance. It's not like I don't have the resources to do so, 'cos unlike many here, I'm not tucked-up for RAM or storage space.....and the CPU has plenty of 'grunt' to run half-a-dozen Chromium-based browsers at the same time should I want it to.
There's always a 'solution' if ya look for it.
Mike.
Re: Mount Cloud Storage with rclone
Posted: Mon Jan 15, 2024 1:10 pm
by fredx181
FYI : The rclone versions from github releases are all very portable (work with old and new Puppies), static builds ? (I guess so)
Re: Mount Cloud Storage with rclone
Posted: Thu Aug 15, 2024 4:37 am
by LANdpLAN
Will this work on BookwormPup? I asked a question in the RClone forum and thye said I need to update. I'm using the one in synaptic package manager on Bookworm PUP 64.
rclone v1.60.1-DEV
Re: Mount Cloud Storage with rclone
Posted: Mon Aug 19, 2024 6:52 pm
by LANdpLAN
I think they are talking about the latest RCLONE because I asked another question on the forum about RClone Browser and was told that forum is for RClone, not for other projects.
I haven't tried the Web based GUI. I am hoping to be able to mount folders so that Libroffice and GNUCash can work directly with the folders.
I'll see if the Web Based GUI can mount folders... It does. Great, THanks for the tip.
How can I try the version that you compiled?
Re: Mount Cloud Storage with rclone
Posted: Wed Aug 21, 2024 4:36 am
by LANdpLAN
The available version in synaptic is RClone 1.60
Someone at the RClone forum said I "need to use the latest official version which is v1.67.0"
How can i get this version for puppy linux?
https://forum.rclone.org/t/creation-of- ... se/47316/4
Re: Mount Cloud Storage with rclone
Posted: Sat Nov 23, 2024 5:19 pm
by LANdpLAN
I have setup rclone with a variety of google and dropbox accounts. Now there is a new version. What about keeping all my setups and upgrading to this newer one?\
the website instructions are
Code: Select all
sudo -v ; curl https://rclone.org/install.sh | sudo bash
I did that and I can see that the version has not changed in help>about...
Re: Mount Cloud Storage with rclone
Posted: Sun Nov 24, 2024 8:28 am
by Jasper
Using Ubuntu?
What does this do?
sudo shutdown -r now
Re: Mount Cloud Storage with rclone
Posted: Sun Nov 24, 2024 10:50 am
by fredx181
LANdpLAN wrote: Sat Nov 23, 2024 5:19 pm
...
Code: Select all
sudo -v ; curl https://rclone.org/install.sh | sudo bash
I did that and I can see that the version has not changed in help>about...
Assuming you mean help>about in the rclone-browser ?
There you don't see the rclone version, for that , in terminal: rclone --version
For me it shows the latest after running install.sh (edit: can do without sudo on Puppy: curl https://rclone.org/install.sh | bash
)
Code: Select all
rclone --version
rclone v1.68.2
- os/version: debian 12.7 (64 bit)
- os/kernel: 6.10.11+bpo-amd64 (x86_64)
- os/type: linux
- os/arch: amd64
- go/version: go1.23.3
- go/linking: static
- go/tags: none