Page 1 of 1

Mount Cloud Storage with rclone

Posted: Sun Dec 31, 2023 11:23 am
by fredx181

rclone can be used to mount many cloud storage services.

This mini how-to is for to mount Google Drive (which I only have experience with using rclone), but probably can be easily changed for use with other cloud services.
(or use googledrive GUI v3 viewtopic.php?t=10218)

Open a terminal and paste below (or make script from it)

Code: Select all

PROFILE="somename"  # change "somename" to what you prefer
DRIVE="drive"  # 'drive' is Google Drive
rclone config create $PROFILE $DRIVE service_account_credentials ""  # create config

(this creates a very basic config, for more advanced config: rclone config and answer the questions)

The default browser should open, login your Google account and allow rclone access
A basic rclone.conf file will be created in ~/.config/rclone/

Then to mount e.g. :

Code: Select all

mkdir -p gdrive
rclone mount $PROFILE: gdrive

Or to mount subfolder, e.g. My Folder

Code: Select all

mkdir -p gdrive
rclone mount $PROFILE:/"My Folder" gdrive

EDIT: To unmount, simply : umount gdrive

Note that newer versions of rclone may require fuse3

EDIT: Anyone feel free of course to post in this thread about using other than 'Google Drive' with rclone ....

Wish you all a great 2024 !


Re: Mount Cloud Storage with rclone

Posted: Fri Jan 12, 2024 1:26 pm
by Jasper

@fredx181

Thanks for sharing this :thumbup:

After reading your thread, I created a profile via Terminal to use with MS OneDrive.

Once it was configured, I used RClone Browser as my GUI.

I didn't try your GoogleGUI as I thought it might be provider specific.

Image

Image


Re: Mount Cloud Storage with rclone

Posted: Sun Jan 14, 2024 11:32 am
by Jasper

@mikewalsh This is the Pet I compiled for Fossapup64-95

RcloneBrowser-1.8.0-x86_64
https://www.mediafire.com/file/4m6z2cs3 ... 4.pet/file


Re: Mount Cloud Storage with rclone

Posted: Sun Jan 14, 2024 11:39 am
by mikewalsh

@Jasper :-

Thanks, mate, but I've given up on that idea. Fred's package works brilliantly well for my Google Drive a/c; out of the remaining two, MediaFire isn't supported, and MEGA won't let me connect. So THAT'S a "bust"...! :roll:

Mike. :|


Re: Mount Cloud Storage with rclone

Posted: Sun Jan 14, 2024 12:55 pm
by Trapster

@mikewalsh and others.

Mike,
If you can ftp into your sites, this should work.

I just set it up so I could ftp into my website and it works perfectly.
I used

Code: Select all

rclone config

and chose the ftp option and it runs thru some questions to set it up.
The config settings end up in /root/.config/rclone. The password does get encrypted.

Here is an example of what the config looks like for ftp.
(website is the actual name I used in the config)

[website]
type = ftp
host = ftp.webdomain.com
user = user.webdomain.com
pass = HDgKaOt1Nqi8-aoMdIKWA35CiTJnWf-uXw

Then I created /mnt/website

and ran

Code: Select all

 rclone mount website: /mnt/website

Re: Mount Cloud Storage with rclone

Posted: Sun Jan 14, 2024 1:41 pm
by mikewalsh

@Trapster :-

Nice idea, buddy.....but the issue I have here is that MEGA will ONLY accept my user password actually on their site (something to do with encryption, I believe?)

All attempts to enter it remotely thru the terminal fail, because it refuses to accept any input...

Or should I choose the "randomly-generated" option? I've no idea if that would work, since MEGA insist on an encrypted password before even allowing you to log-in..... :roll: Mind you, I've come across other sites like this, where they will only permit interaction actually ON the website itself; any attempts at remote interaction are simply stone-walled.

(And MEGA are constantly changing the way the site works, so it's entirely possible this version of rclone no longer functions with it.)

Mike. Image


Re: Mount Cloud Storage with rclone

Posted: Sun Jan 14, 2024 4:22 pm
by dancytron

There is a rclone-browser app "Simple cross platform GUI for rclone" in the Debian Bookworm repo that has a bunch of cloud services pre-configured and some different security levels.

I tested it with Google Drive and it just worked with the defaults (MX Linux). I tested Fred's app before in DD and it worked fine as well.

Edit: rclone-browser Also worked on my main DD Buster install, although I had to paste the url into Chrome manually (but my Chrome install isn't exactly standard for DD either).

If nothing else, it provides a good list of places that rclone should theoretically work.


Re: Mount Cloud Storage with rclone

Posted: Sun Jan 14, 2024 6:26 pm
by fredx181
mikewalsh wrote:

(And MEGA are constantly changing the way the site works, so it's entirely possible this version of rclone no longer functions with it.)

Perhaps needs latest rclone version ? (https://github.com/rclone/rclone/releases/tag/v1.65.1)


Re: Mount Cloud Storage with rclone

Posted: Mon Jan 15, 2024 1:45 am
by mikewalsh
fredx181 wrote: Sun Jan 14, 2024 6:26 pm
mikewalsh wrote:

(And MEGA are constantly changing the way the site works, so it's entirely possible this version of rclone no longer functions with it.)

Perhaps needs latest rclone version ? (https://github.com/rclone/rclone/releases/tag/v1.65.1)

@fredx181 :-

Mm. That would kinda defeat the object of the excercise, Fred. Newer versions require a much newer Puppy.......and in my newer Pups, I have MEGA's own desktop client installed & working very sweetly. I'm trying to get some kind of remote access to MEGA from older Puppies like Tahrpup64 and Xenialpup64.

Ah, hell. I can always set-up MEGA as an 'app' on those two, and run it as its own desktop window from, say, Chrome and/or Slimjet, for instance. It's not like I don't have the resources to do so, 'cos unlike many here, I'm not tucked-up for RAM or storage space.....and the CPU has plenty of 'grunt' to run half-a-dozen Chromium-based browsers at the same time should I want it to.

There's always a 'solution' if ya look for it.

Mike. ;)


Re: Mount Cloud Storage with rclone

Posted: Mon Jan 15, 2024 9:16 am
by Jasper

@mikewalsh

Just checked on pkgs.org for Ubuntu releases

Image


Re: Mount Cloud Storage with rclone

Posted: Mon Jan 15, 2024 1:10 pm
by fredx181

FYI : The rclone versions from github releases are all very portable (work with old and new Puppies), static builds ? (I guess so)


Re: Mount Cloud Storage with rclone

Posted: Thu Aug 15, 2024 4:37 am
by LANdpLAN
Jasper wrote: Sun Jan 14, 2024 11:32 am

@mikewalsh This is the Pet I compiled for Fossapup64-95

RcloneBrowser-1.8.0-x86_64
https://www.mediafire.com/file/4m6z2cs3 ... 4.pet/file

Will this work on BookwormPup? I asked a question in the RClone forum and thye said I need to update. I'm using the one in synaptic package manager on Bookworm PUP 64.
rclone v1.60.1-DEV


Re: Mount Cloud Storage with rclone

Posted: Thu Aug 15, 2024 6:56 am
by Jasper

@LANdpLAN

I compiled the application for Fossapup64-95 as it already contains Qt5 libraries.

I am guessing that Bookworm64 does not include Qt5/6 by default and therefore would require you to download the additional libraries to get the GUI display to function.

Changleog:

Rclone Browser 1.8.0 Latest

NEW: http(s) proxy configuration for rclone
NEW: remotes' icon size option selector
NEW: directories tree display for remotes
NEW: rclone extra default options for all operations (e.g. --fast-list)
NEW: added "Public Link" button to remote view
NEW: Linux and macOS releases use Qt 5.14.1, Windows release still uses 5.13.2 (due to some bugs in the latest Qt Windows version)
FIXED: option to show hidden files and folders was not always working as expected
FIXED: for sftp remote default to home user directory (as normal sftp would do)
FIXED: an issue when on Windows local remote only allowed to browse drive C:
FIXED: problem using rclone and rclone.conf when path contained spaces
FIXED: bandwidth box on jobs tab was too small for fast connections
bunch of usual small tweaks and fixes

When you say the RClone forum advise an update .............. are they referring to the RClone application or the Gui browser?

Have you tried using the inbuilt browser Webui Gui?

https://rclone.org/gui/


Re: Mount Cloud Storage with rclone

Posted: Mon Aug 19, 2024 6:52 pm
by LANdpLAN

I think they are talking about the latest RCLONE because I asked another question on the forum about RClone Browser and was told that forum is for RClone, not for other projects.

I haven't tried the Web based GUI. I am hoping to be able to mount folders so that Libroffice and GNUCash can work directly with the folders.

I'll see if the Web Based GUI can mount folders... It does. Great, THanks for the tip.

How can I try the version that you compiled?


Re: Mount Cloud Storage with rclone

Posted: Tue Aug 20, 2024 11:41 am
by Jasper

@LANdpLAN

As I mentioned before Qt5 is available in Fossapup64, so it works OOTB.

Have you tried to find it using Synaptic to see if it is available?

https://tracker.debian.org/pkg/rclone-browser

This way, any additional libraries/dependencies will be downloaded and installed at the same time.


Re: Mount Cloud Storage with rclone

Posted: Wed Aug 21, 2024 4:36 am
by LANdpLAN

The available version in synaptic is RClone 1.60
Someone at the RClone forum said I "need to use the latest official version which is v1.67.0"
How can i get this version for puppy linux?
https://forum.rclone.org/t/creation-of- ... se/47316/4


Re: Mount Cloud Storage with rclone

Posted: Fri Aug 23, 2024 9:38 am
by Jasper

@LANdpLAN

Grab the binary from here:

https://github.com/rclone/rclone/releases