How to install Vanilla Dpup 10.0.40?

Moderators: dimkr, Forum moderators

Maxiwuff

How to install Vanilla Dpup 10.0.40?

Post by Maxiwuff »

Hello,

I am very new to Linux, I only had slight first experiences with FossaPup 64 in the past, but I got as far as just installing the OS and minor setup of things.
Seeing how limited normal Puppy seemed to be compared to other OS's I stumbled upon this distro and thought to give it a try.
Planned to get the xorg one (which I hope I got the correct one, 10.0.40 with no words after in the iso name)

And here is the first issue I have - how do I even install it? Only installer I saw in the program list is the Puppy Installer, which only allows me to make a bootable USB (which is odd because on FossaPup64 it had option to install it on an internal drive). I saw on the forum here some other installer in installation guides, but I don't have anything else and my pendrive does not have much space either.

I can attach screenshots of anything that is needed, help would be greatly appreciated.

d-pupp

Re: How to install Vanilla Dpup 10.0.40?

Post by d-pupp »

Only installer I saw in the program list is the Puppy Installer, which only allows me to make a bootable USB (which is odd because on FossaPup64 it had option to install it on an internal drive).

Hi @Maxiwuff
Yes Vanilladpup is a bit different from other puppies. There is no hard disk installer
You have to do a manual install to the hard drive.

"This is assuming you have a Linux partition and not Windows "

This is easier then it sounds
If you have FossaPup64 installed to the hard drive most of the work is already done.

Boot into FossPup64
Click on the desktop icon for your hard drive sda1 whatever it is. This is where your FossPup64 files will be.
Create a new folder called vanilladpup or whatever you wan to call it. Keep it simple you are going to have to type that name a lot
Open the iso image by clicking on it.