Creating tables in a post

Ideas and discussion


Post Reply
User avatar
rockedge
Site Admin
Posts: 6553
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2019 1:38 am
Location: Connecticut,U.S.A.
Has thanked: 2759 times
Been thanked: 2629 times
Contact:

Creating tables in a post

Post by rockedge »

I've added the BBCode capability to insert tables in to posts. the Table button is available in the post editor.
Generally the syntax is as follows :

Code: Select all

[table=30,null]
	[thead]
		[tr=textcenter]
			[th=50,null]Title 1[/th]
			[th=50,null]Title 2[/th]
		[/tr]
	[/thead]
	[tfoot]
		[tr=forumbg]
			[td=textcenter,2]Footer Text[/td]
		[/tr]
	[/tfoot]
	[tbody]
		[tr=bg2]
			[td=null,1]Text11[/td]
			[td=null,1]Text21[/td]
		[/tr]
		[tr=bg1]
			[td=null,1]Text12[/td]
			[td=null,1]Text22[/td]
		[/tr]
		[tr=bg2]
			[td=null,1]Text13[/td]
			[td=null,1]Text23[/td]
		[/tr]
		[tr=bg1]
			[td=null,1]Text14[/td]
			[td=null,1]Text24[/td]
		[/tr]
		[tr=bg2]
			[td=null,1]Text15[/td]
			[td=null,1]Text25[/td]
		[/tr]
		[tr=bg1]
			[td=null,1]Text16[/td]
			[td=null,1]Text26[/td]
		[/tr]
		[tr=bg2]
			[td=null,1]Text17[/td]
			[td=null,1]Text27[/td]
		[/tr]
	[/tbody]
[/table]
Title 1 Title 2
Footer Text
Text11 Text21
Text12 Text22
Text13 Text23
Text14 Text24
Text15 Text25
Text16 Text26
Text17 Text27
User avatar
MochiMoppel
Posts: 1240
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2020 6:25 am
Location: Japan
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 440 times

Re: Creating tables in a post

Post by MochiMoppel »

rockedge wrote: Fri Sep 18, 2020 1:22 am the Table button is available in the post editor.
I can't find it.
User avatar
rockedge
Site Admin
Posts: 6553
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2019 1:38 am
Location: Connecticut,U.S.A.
Has thanked: 2759 times
Been thanked: 2629 times
Contact:

Re: Creating tables in a post

Post by rockedge »

@MochiMoppel
The table button is not next to the media button?

Screenshot(17).png
Screenshot(17).png (97.27 KiB) Viewed 882 times
User avatar
MochiMoppel
Posts: 1240
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2020 6:25 am
Location: Japan
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 440 times

Re: Creating tables in a post

Post by MochiMoppel »

No.


notablebutton.png
notablebutton.png (14.83 KiB) Viewed 861 times
Last edited by MochiMoppel on Sat Sep 19, 2020 8:09 am, edited 1 time in total.
TerryH
Posts: 638
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2020 2:08 am
Has thanked: 158 times
Been thanked: 161 times

Re: Creating tables in a post

Post by TerryH »

There's no Table Button on mine either.

New Laptop - ASUS ZenBook Ryzen 7 5800H Vega 7 iGPU / 16 GB RAM

User avatar
rockedge
Site Admin
Posts: 6553
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2019 1:38 am
Location: Connecticut,U.S.A.
Has thanked: 2759 times
Been thanked: 2629 times
Contact:

Re: Creating tables in a post

Post by rockedge »

@MochiMoppel @TerryH

Missed a setting, fixed it. Please test.
TerryH
Posts: 638
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2020 2:08 am
Has thanked: 158 times
Been thanked: 161 times

Re: Creating tables in a post

Post by TerryH »

rockedge wrote: Sat Sep 19, 2020 1:05 pm @MochiMoppel @TerryH

Missed a setting, fixed it. Please test.
I still have same icons as posted by MocchiMoppel in prior post, still no Table icon.

New Laptop - ASUS ZenBook Ryzen 7 5800H Vega 7 iGPU / 16 GB RAM

User avatar
Makoto
Posts: 76
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2020 6:29 am
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: Creating tables in a post

Post by Makoto »

Yeah, I'm not seeing it, either. I tested it against the latest versions of PaleMoon, Seamonkey and Firefox, emptying the caches beforehand just in case. The Table button doesn't show up between the Media Embed and "align" buttons.

[ FossaPup64 9.5, Frugal install ]

User avatar
MochiMoppel
Posts: 1240
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2020 6:25 am
Location: Japan
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 440 times

Re: Creating tables in a post

Post by MochiMoppel »

@TerryH , @Makoto A button labeled "table" existed for a short time. Seems that rockedge is still experimenting. Currently table code does not work at all.
User avatar
rockedge
Site Admin
Posts: 6553
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2019 1:38 am
Location: Connecticut,U.S.A.
Has thanked: 2759 times
Been thanked: 2629 times
Contact:

Re: Creating tables in a post

Post by rockedge »

I am working on why the button will not appear for the registered user but does for the admin.

@MochiMoppel
Does the code for making a table work when inserted manually?

Code: Select all

[table=30,null]
	[thead]
		[tr=textleft]
			[th=50,null]Title1[/th]
			[th=50,null]Title2[/th]
		[/tr]
	[/thead]
	[tbody]
		[tr=bg2]
			[td=null,1]Text11[/td]
			[td=null,1]Text21[/td]
		[/tr]
		[tr=bg1]
			[td=null,1]Text12[/td]
			[td=null,1]Text22[/td]
		[/tr]
		[tr=bg2]
			[td=null,1]Text13[/td]
			[td=null,1]Text23[/td]
		[/tr]
		[tr=bg1]
			[td=null,1]Text14[/td]
			[td=null,1]Text24[/td]
		[/tr]
		[tr=bg2]
			[td=null,1]Text15[/td]
			[td=null,1]Text25[/td]
		[/tr]
		[tr=bg1]
			[td=null,1]Text16[/td]
			[td=null,1]Text26[/td]
		[/tr]
		[tr=bg2]
			[td=null,1]Text17[/td]
			[td=null,1]Text27[/td]
		[/tr]
		[tr=bg1]
			[td=null,1]Text18[/td]
			[td=null,1]Text28[/td]
		[/tr]
		[tr=bg2]
			[td=null,1]Text19[/td]
			[td=null,1]Text29[/td]
		[/tr]
	[/tbody]
[/table]
User avatar
MochiMoppel
Posts: 1240
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2020 6:25 am
Location: Japan
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 440 times

Re: Creating tables in a post

Post by MochiMoppel »

rockedge wrote:@MochiMoppel
Does the code for making a table work when inserted manually?
Yes.
User avatar
rockedge
Site Admin
Posts: 6553
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2019 1:38 am
Location: Connecticut,U.S.A.
Has thanked: 2759 times
Been thanked: 2629 times
Contact:

Re: Creating tables in a post

Post by rockedge »

@MochiMoppel

I found a switch I needed to enable buried in the registered user permission roles. I think it will appear now.
Try to use the button before you write the table. Select the # of columns and rows, then it will generate the code which then you can modify to display the data as you wish.

Code: Select all

[align=right][table=45,null]
	[thead]
		[tr=textcenter]
			[th=33,null]Title1[/th]
			[th=33,null]Title2[/th]
			[th=34,null]Title3[/th]
		[/tr]
	[/thead]
	[tfoot]
		[tr=forumbg]
			[td=textcenter,3]Footer Text[/td]
		[/tr]
	[/tfoot]	

[tbody]
		[tr=bg2]
			[td=null,1]Text11[/td]
			[td=null,1]Text21[/td]
			[td=null,1]Text31[/td]
		[/tr]
		[tr=bg1]
			[td=null,1]Text12[/td]
			[td=null,1]Text22[/td]
			[td=null,1]Text32[/td]
		[/tr]
		[tr=bg2]
			[td=null,1]Text13[/td]
			[td=null,1]Text23[/td]
			[td=null,1]Text33[/td]
		[/tr]
		[tr=bg1]
			[td=null,1]Text14[/td]
			[td=null,1]Text24[/td]
			[td=null,1]Text34[/td]
		[/tr]
	[/tbody]
[/table][/align]
Hopefully it will be found useful.
Title1 Title2 Title3
Footer Text
Text11 Text21 Text31
Text12 Text22 Text32
Text13 Text23 Text33
Text14 Text24 Text34
TerryH
Posts: 638
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2020 2:08 am
Has thanked: 158 times
Been thanked: 161 times

Re: Creating tables in a post

Post by TerryH »

Rockedge You're A Legend
Thank You Very Much

New Laptop - ASUS ZenBook Ryzen 7 5800H Vega 7 iGPU / 16 GB RAM

User avatar
MochiMoppel
Posts: 1240
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2020 6:25 am
Location: Japan
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 440 times

Re: Creating tables in a post

Post by MochiMoppel »

rockedge wrote: I think it will appear now.
Not when you try to post on a mobile phone. The button does not appear if the viewport is less than 700px wide

In the responsive design I see the biggest obstacle. On narrow screens the table collapses into an almost useless list.
If possible the table should be packed into a div with a fixed width similar to the code box, which would add a scroll bar if the table is wider than the screen and would not wrap the table cells.
User avatar
rockedge
Site Admin
Posts: 6553
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2019 1:38 am
Location: Connecticut,U.S.A.
Has thanked: 2759 times
Been thanked: 2629 times
Contact:

Re: Creating tables in a post

Post by rockedge »

@MochiMoppel

Okay working on it. So far have the tables displaying on the 700px responsive screen size. Still needs some refinement but proof of concept suggests it will work.
User avatar
MochiMoppel
Posts: 1240
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2020 6:25 am
Location: Japan
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 440 times

Re: Creating tables in a post

Post by MochiMoppel »

rockedge wrote:So far have the tables displaying on the 700px responsive screen size.
Problem occurs when viewport is less than 700px.
Nothing changed on my phone (Android 7, 1280x720 display). I would expect to see the button, but no button here, even in landscape mode. Tested with Google Chrome and Opera Touch.

In Palemoon threshold for button and table is still 700px.
In Opera12 threshold for button is 600 and some tables now remain stable (keep in mind that Opera12 is very old and may not support all response instructions. Good news for me but probably irrelevant for other users)


Here a very wide table which may better reveal any rendering problems:
Title1 Title2 Title3 Title4 Title5 Title6 Title7
Text11 Text21 Text31 Text41 Text51 Text61 Text71
Let's make Text12 longer to see what happens Text22 Text32 Text42 Text52 Text62 Text72
User avatar
rockedge
Site Admin
Posts: 6553
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2019 1:38 am
Location: Connecticut,U.S.A.
Has thanked: 2759 times
Been thanked: 2629 times
Contact:

Re: Creating tables in a post

Post by rockedge »

Most of the work is being done on the development platform setup. So until we can get the rendering under control in the responsive mode most of the experimental changes will not show on the production forum. @MochiMoppel as soon as I have something to try out I'll send your the link to test out the changes on the phone screen.

It's tricky and some changes have broader effects that are unwanted. The work continues!
User avatar
rockedge
Site Admin
Posts: 6553
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2019 1:38 am
Location: Connecticut,U.S.A.
Has thanked: 2759 times
Been thanked: 2629 times
Contact:

Re: Creating tables in a post

Post by rockedge »

Changes have been made to allow Tables to be displayed by the responsive CSS on screens =<700px width. The theme ne-blackgreen has the first modifications to the responsive CSS and the default theme prosilver will also be modified for displaying Tables on <= 700px screens for mobile devices after testing the function with the ne-blackgreen theme style proves successful.
ravensrest
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2020 3:04 pm
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Creating tables in a post

Post by ravensrest »

Seems to be working fine in Firefox 81.0 under Bionicpup64-8.0
Title1 Title2 Title3
Text11 Text21 Text31
Text12 Text22 Text32
Text13 Text23 Text33
User avatar
MochiMoppel
Posts: 1240
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2020 6:25 am
Location: Japan
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 440 times

Re: Creating tables in a post

Post by MochiMoppel »

Still not displaying correctly on mobile phone.
User avatar
rockedge
Site Admin
Posts: 6553
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2019 1:38 am
Location: Connecticut,U.S.A.
Has thanked: 2759 times
Been thanked: 2629 times
Contact:

Re: Creating tables in a post

Post by rockedge »

MochiMoppel wrote: Mon Sep 28, 2020 4:04 pm Still not displaying correctly on mobile phone.
using the ne-blackgreen style? Not yet implemented in prosilver or the dark themes/styles
User avatar
MochiMoppel
Posts: 1240
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2020 6:25 am
Location: Japan
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 440 times

Re: Creating tables in a post

Post by MochiMoppel »

OK. Works with ne-blackgreen.
User avatar
rockedge
Site Admin
Posts: 6553
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2019 1:38 am
Location: Connecticut,U.S.A.
Has thanked: 2759 times
Been thanked: 2629 times
Contact:

Re: Creating tables in a post

Post by rockedge »

MochiMoppel wrote: Tue Sep 29, 2020 12:34 am OK. Works with ne-blackgreen.
I made the changes to prosilver. Please test that out as well!
User avatar
MochiMoppel
Posts: 1240
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2020 6:25 am
Location: Japan
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 440 times

Re: Creating tables in a post

Post by MochiMoppel »

rockedge wrote: Tue Sep 29, 2020 5:13 am I made the changes to prosilver. Please test that out as well!
With my Opera Touch browser it looks fine now. Other browsers may be OK too.

This means I can display tables. What I still can't do is create a table since the button does not show on screens <700px wide.
User avatar
MochiMoppel
Posts: 1240
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2020 6:25 am
Location: Japan
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 440 times

Re: Creating tables in a post

Post by MochiMoppel »

@rockedge
I don't know if this is an issue that you want to look into.

Title1

Title2

Title3

Text11

Text21

Text31

Text12

Text22

Text32

Text13

Text23

Text33

Text14

Text24

Text34

Text15

Text25

Text35

Currently the [float] function is not "buttonized" and only few people may be aware that it still exists and is functional. It allows to let text flow around tables, As you see the table background shrinks. I've seen this effect in other cases. Maybe styling the background the same as the post body could hide this glitch.

Last edited by rockedge on Mon Oct 05, 2020 12:27 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
rockedge
Site Admin
Posts: 6553
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2019 1:38 am
Location: Connecticut,U.S.A.
Has thanked: 2759 times
Been thanked: 2629 times
Contact:

Re: Creating tables in a post

Post by rockedge »

@MochiMoppel

I think I solved the missing Tables button on the post editor on screen sizes =<700px. It took some digging in the code to find the correct generation origin of the HTML. It turns out a CSS selector in the responsive.css is called that hides the <div> block when the screen size goes =< 700px. So I located the spot that the HTML <div class=> is generated and removed the selector from the line.

using the [table=45] made the table background <div> have a width of 45% so using [table=100] fixed the background of the table on =<700px screens.

I also made some adjustments on the responsive.css to render the table borders better on the small screens


Please test and let me know if it is working anywhere!
User avatar
MochiMoppel
Posts: 1240
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2020 6:25 am
Location: Japan
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 440 times

Re: Creating tables in a post

Post by MochiMoppel »

rockedge wrote: Sun Oct 04, 2020 8:08 pmI think I solved the missing Tables button on the post editor on screen sizes =<700px.
Well, yes, the button now remains visible but is useless because the table selections are not displayed.

I didn't delve too deep into this rabbit hole but maybe you should check the "responsive-hide" class.
Kicks in for screens up to 700px.

Code: Select all

<div id="tables-button-selections" class="responsive-hide" style="display: block;">
Even when the "tables-button-selections" div is displayed on small screens I suspect that it still would be unusable because it probably wouldn't wrap.

Maybe hiding the button was not such a bad idea. Declare table creation on small screens as not supported and close this chapter. You will sleep better.
User avatar
rockedge
Site Admin
Posts: 6553
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2019 1:38 am
Location: Connecticut,U.S.A.
Has thanked: 2759 times
Been thanked: 2629 times
Contact:

Re: Creating tables in a post

Post by rockedge »

Yes, I will do that. I have been working with the responsive-hide class. It is a simple fix to re-instate it for the button.
Post Reply

Return to “Forum Organization & Structure Council”