Pulseaudio wrong ELF class

Moderator: Forum moderators

Post Reply
lucsar
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jan 31, 2021 9:23 am

Pulseaudio wrong ELF class

Post by lucsar »

Hi all,

trying to launch pulseaudio, I get following message :

Code: Select all

pulseaudio: error while loading shared libraries: libspeexdsp.so.1: wrong ELF class: ELFCLASS64

In fact, checking the bin :

Code: Select all

file /usr/bin/pulseaudio 
/usr/bin/pulseaudio: ELF 32-bit LSB executable, Intel 80386, version 1 (SYSV), dynamically linked, interpreter /lib/ld-linux.so.2, for GNU/Linux 2.6.16, stripped

Is it normal having such ELF 32-bit on a x64 installation ?

System details :

Code: Select all

System:    Host: puppypc17361 Kernel: 4.19.23 x86_64 bits: 64
           Desktop: JWM 2.3.7 Distro: bionicpup64 8.0
Machine:   Device: laptop System: TOSHIBA product: TOSHIBA NB250 v: PLL2PE-00300LIT serial: 123456788K
           Mobo: TOSHIBA model: PAV10 DDR3 v: 1.00 serial: 0123456789AB
           BIOS: TOSHIBA v: V1.60 date: 07/30/2010
Battery    BAT1: charge: 16.6 Wh 37.7% condition: 44.0/47.5 Wh (93%)
CPU:       Single core Intel Atom N455 (-MT-) cache: 512 KB
           clock speeds: max: 1667 MHz 1: 1332 MHz 2: 1337 MHz
Graphics:  Card: Intel Atom Processor D4xx/D5xx/N4xx/N5xx Integrated Graphics Controller
           Display Server: X.Org 1.19.6
           drivers: intel (unloaded: modesetting,fbdev,vesa)
           Resolution: 1024x600@60.00hz
           OpenGL: renderer: Mesa DRI Intel Pineview M
           version: 1.4 Mesa 18.2.2
Audio:     Card Intel NM10/ICH7 Family High Def. Audio Controller
           driver: snd_hda_intel
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.19.23
Network:   Card-1: Qualcomm Atheros AR9285 Wireless Network Adapter (PCI-Express)
           driver: ath9k
           IF: wlan0 state: down mac: e8:39:df:8a:d9:38
           Card-2: Realtek RTL810xE PCIE Fast Ethernet controller
           driver: r8169
           IF: eth0 state: up speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full
           mac: 88:ae:1d:59:8e:c6
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 250.1GB (1.3% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: Hitachi_HTS54502 size: 250.1GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 230G used: 3.2G (2%) fs: ext3 dev: /dev/sda1
RAID:      No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors:   None detected - is lm-sensors installed and configured?
Info:      Processes: 107 Uptime: 15 min Memory: 135.8/977.1MB
           Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 2.3.56

Thanks for helping.

User avatar
bigpup
Moderator
Posts: 7447
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2020 11:19 pm
Location: Earth, South Eastern U.S.
Has thanked: 997 times
Been thanked: 1665 times

Re: Pulseaudio wrong ELF class

Post by bigpup »

I am going to guess because you did not tell use what specific Puppy version you are using! :roll:
You always, always, always need to provide this info!!!!!!

You are using a 64bit version of Puppy and you installed the 32bit version of pulse audio.

You can run 32bit software in a 64bit version of Puppy.
But you need to download and load the 32bit compatibility sfs for the Puppy version.
All 64bit Puppies have this 32bit compatibility sfs available to use.
Usually info on how to get it in the specific Puppy version forum topic.

However, some Puppy versions already have what is needed for Pulseaudio to run programs that need it.
The complete Pulse Audio is not used in Puppy.
Puppy uses ALSA for sound.

What specific Puppy version?
Why do you need Pulse Audio?

The things you do not tell us, are usually the clue to fixing the problem.
When I was a kid, I wanted to be older.
This is not what I expected :o

lucsar
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jan 31, 2021 9:23 am

Re: Pulseaudio wrong ELF class

Post by lucsar »

you did not tell use what specific Puppy version you are using

Sorry, I thought that info provided by inxi command was enough :

Code: Select all

Distro: bionicpup64 8.0

Btw, here the full distro specs :

Code: Select all

#One or more words that identify this distribution:
DISTRO_NAME='bionicpup64'
#version number of this distribution:
DISTRO_VERSION=8.0
#The distro whose binary packages were used to build this distribution:
DISTRO_BINARY_COMPAT='ubuntu'
#Prefix for some filenames: exs: bionicpup64save.2fs, bionicpup64-7.9.8.sfs
DISTRO_FILE_PREFIX='bionicpup64'
#The version of the distro whose binary packages were used to build this distro:
DISTRO_COMPAT_VERSION='bionic'
#read by /usr/bin/xwin to bypass Xorg Wizard at first boot:
DISTRO_XORG_AUTO='yes'
DISTRO_KERNEL_PET='Huge_Kernel'
DISTRO_DB_SUBNAME='bionic64'
WOOF_VERSION=8
DISTRO_TARGETARCH='x86_64'
BUILD_FROM_WOOF='testing;c3552eef;2019-02-25 04:50:55 +0800'
#Puppy default filenames...
#Note, the 'SFS' files below are what the 'init' script in initrd.gz searches for,
#for the partition, path and actual files loaded, see PUPSFS and ZDRV in /etc/rc.d/PUPSTATE
DISTRO_PUPPYSFS='puppy_bionicpup64_8.0.sfs'
DISTRO_ZDRVSFS='zdrv_bionicpup64_8.0.sfs'
DISTRO_FDRVSFS='fdrv_bionicpup64_8.0.sfs'
DISTRO_ADRVSFS='adrv_bionicpup64_8.0.sfs'
DISTRO_YDRVSFS='ydrv_bionicpup64_8.0.sfs'
DISTRO_PUPPYDATE='Feb 2019'
#multiarch distros, such as Ubuntu, will have this. ex: /usr/lib/i386-linux-gnu, so DISTRO_ARCHDIR=i386-linux-gnu
DISTRO_ARCHDIR='x86_64-linux-gnu'

You are using a 64bit version of Puppy and you installed the 32bit version of pulse audio.

I did not installed it. Looks like it is part of built-in packages in ./packages/built-in directory

Code: Select all

/etc/pulse/client.conf
/usr/lib/libpulse-mainloop-glib.so.0
/usr/lib/libpulse-mainloop-glib.so.0.0.5
/usr/lib/libpulse-simple.so.0
/usr/lib/libpulse-simple.so.0.1.1
/usr/lib/libpulse.so.0
/usr/lib/libpulse.so.0.20.2
/usr/lib/pulseaudio/libpulsecommon-11.1.so

But you need to download and load the 32bit compatibility sfs for the Puppy version.

Do you know where I can find some useful documentation on how doing this ?

Why do you need Pulse Audio?

I would like to run pulseaudio-equalizer which provides some interesting sounds effects. But I'm open for alternatives of course.

User avatar
mikewalsh
Moderator
Posts: 6447
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2019 1:40 pm
Location: King's Lynn, UK
Has thanked: 956 times
Been thanked: 2127 times

Re: Pulseaudio wrong ELF class

Post by mikewalsh »

@lucsar :-

Those 'pulse' items in /root/.packages are in fact the apulse items. These allow Puppy to run applications that are expecting to find PulseAudio while at the same time in fact using Puppy's standard ALSA implementation.

However, if you want the PulseAudio equalizer then you are going to have to install the FULL PulseAudio package.....which is a complete PITA to set-up, and merely adds another intermediate layer of complication to Puppy. Puppy is intended to be simple & straightforward; at this point, I usually suggest to folks that if they really need all the added baubles provided by the 'big-boy', mainstream distros, then it might, in the long run, be simpler to RUN a mainstream distro instead.

There IS one option you could try. Take a look at josejp2424's "DPup Buster64". José is that rare creature; a Puppian who actually LIKES PulseAudio.....so he created this particular Puplet with full PulseAudio implementation already built-in.

viewtopic.php?f=40&t=442

Hope that perhaps helps.

Mike. ;)

Last edited by mikewalsh on Sun Jan 31, 2021 2:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
bigpup
Moderator
Posts: 7447
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2020 11:19 pm
Location: Earth, South Eastern U.S.
Has thanked: 997 times
Been thanked: 1665 times

Re: Pulseaudio wrong ELF class

Post by bigpup »

Sorry, I did not look at all the info you provided about the Puppy version. :oops:

Bionicpup64 8.0 has in it just enough Pulse Audio stuff to be able to get sound working in Firefox browser.
Well, for older versions of Firefox.
Not so sure for very new Firefox.
Also for programs wanting pulse audio for sound, well maybe it will work for them.

If you want full complete Pulse Audio you need to install it.
But it is a trip down the rabbit hole getting it to work.
I will let someone that has got it working give you help.

Puppy is setup to use ALSA for sound.

What sound effects do you want to make?

The things you do not tell us, are usually the clue to fixing the problem.
When I was a kid, I wanted to be older.
This is not what I expected :o

User avatar
bigpup
Moderator
Posts: 7447
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2020 11:19 pm
Location: Earth, South Eastern U.S.
Has thanked: 997 times
Been thanked: 1665 times

Re: Pulseaudio wrong ELF class

Post by bigpup »

SFS packages are designed to work in Puppy as a frugal install and a live install, after making and using a save.

to run 32bit applications you'll need to install/load the 32bit-compatibilty.sfs.

How to get it:
Usually the 32bit compatibility.sfs is located with the pet files for the specific Puppy version.
Found in the main Puppy repository:
http://distro.ibiblio.org/puppylinux/

Download the 32bit compatibility sfs for the specific Puppy version.
Place it in /mnt/home

Load it by using menu->Setup->SFS-load-on-the-fly

After it's loaded, in a terminal (console) type:

Code: Select all

ldconfig

A reboot will do what ldconfig does.

and then you're set to go.

IMPORTANT NOTE: if you want to install proprietary graphics drivers (nvidia/amd) install them after installing the 32bit compatibility.sfs or your 32bit apps may not work.

The things you do not tell us, are usually the clue to fixing the problem.
When I was a kid, I wanted to be older.
This is not what I expected :o

lucsar
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jan 31, 2021 9:23 am

Re: Pulseaudio wrong ELF class

Post by lucsar »

@bigpup

Sorry, I did not look at all the info you provided about the Puppy version.

No problem :thumbup:

SFS packages are designed to work in Puppy as a frugal install and a live install, after making and using a save.

Ok, so then I need to review my puppy installation first as I'm on full disk install at the moment.

What sound effects do you want to make?

here a screenshot from pulseaudio equalizer :
https://1.bp.blogspot.com/-UI8O3P4GuVI/ ... alizer.png

@mikewalsh
I've got the whole point and agree with that. Btw, I'll have a look at josejp2424's "DPup Buster64" and see how he managed the whole thing.

Thank you guys :thumbup:

User avatar
mikewalsh
Moderator
Posts: 6447
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2019 1:40 pm
Location: King's Lynn, UK
Has thanked: 956 times
Been thanked: 2127 times

Re: Pulseaudio wrong ELF class

Post by mikewalsh »

lucsar wrote: Sun Jan 31, 2021 3:15 pm

@mikewalsh
I've got the whole point and agree with that. Btw, I'll have a look at josejp2424's "DPup Buster64" and see how he managed the whole thing.

Thank you guys :thumbup:

No worries.

Personally, I don't like PulseAudio; it always seems bloated, & overly-complex for what it is. I had a bad experience with PulseAudio in Ubuntu 14.04 'Trusty', 7 or 8 years ago, when I first moved to Linux, and it put me off PA for life. :D

Don't get me wrong, though; José's made a lovely job of DPupBuster64. PA works really well (if you like that sort of thing).

We discovered, and implemented apulse in Puppy a few years ago, when it became apparent that more & more apps, being written for mainstream, multi-user distros, were expecting to find PulseAudio. Apulse lets Puppians stay with ALSA, while at the same time satisfying apps that want PA.

With Puppy's Retrovol, I click on the tray icon and I can adjust the volume immediately. The same procedure is more complicated with PA; the first click gives you a Menu; second click lets you select the main volume control; a third click is required to select the correct tab, and only then can I finally adjust the volume....

Simple is better, in my book. Simple is GOOD. For an old fart like me, I need stuff as simple as possible..! :lol:

Horses for courses; whatever 'floats your boat'. Linux has all the complexity you could possibly want, if that's what you like.....or need. But Linux can also go to the other extreme, too, and be as simple as you wish to make it.

If nothing else, it's infinitely customisable.....to suit the individual.

Mike. ;)

lucsar
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jan 31, 2021 9:23 am

Re: Pulseaudio wrong ELF class

Post by lucsar »

Thanks Mike for these details about Apulse. About PA, I can't really say being just a basic Linux user but, I tend to trust people who know more than me :)

I found a 10 years old netbook among my stuff days ago. It has 1GB, 120GB of disk and it is powered by a monstrous Atom processor :) I said, I know what this guy needs.

As I would like to give him a second chance, I was thinking to convert it in a media box player to connect to my home sound system and Puppies is what it looks he like the most. Let's see what I can do :thumbup2:

Post Reply

Return to “Bionic”