python-pip install not working Fossapup64 9.5?

Moderators: 666philb, Forum moderators

Post Reply
wdx12
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2021 2:45 pm
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 2 times

python-pip install not working Fossapup64 9.5?

Post by wdx12 »

Hello,

Trying to get "pip" to work on Fossapup64 9.5?? to do "pip install pandas"

I installed Pip via Package Manager "python-pip-whl_20.0.2". It says installed ok.
However in command line I cannot get "pip install pandas"

root# pip install pandas
bash: pip: command not found
root#

root# python --version
Python 3.8.2
root# pip
bash: pip: command not found
root# whereis pip
pip:
root#

s243a
Posts: 501
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2019 7:29 pm
Has thanked: 90 times
Been thanked: 37 times

Re: python-pip install not working Fossapup64 9.5?

Post by s243a »

load devx first before using pip.

User avatar
rockedge
Site Admin
Posts: 6532
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2019 1:38 am
Location: Connecticut,U.S.A.
Has thanked: 2745 times
Been thanked: 2619 times
Contact:

Re: python-pip install not working Fossapup64 9.5?

Post by rockedge »

I think the Devx supplies components for Python 2.7. I've been using ActiveState's Python 3.8 in Fossa. I just have less problems so the it's worth the slightly more overhead.

Screenshot(18).png
Screenshot(18).png (329.44 KiB) Viewed 1322 times

The Devx should have enough Python 2.7 to get started.

s243a
Posts: 501
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2019 7:29 pm
Has thanked: 90 times
Been thanked: 37 times

Re: python-pip install not working Fossapup64 9.5?

Post by s243a »

rockedge wrote: Sat Jan 16, 2021 7:50 pm

I think the Devx supplies components for Python 2.7. I've been using ActiveState's Python 3.8 in Fossa. I just have less problems so the it's worth the slightly more overhead.

Screenshot(18).png

The Devx should have enough Python 2.7 to get started.

On my todo list is to create a script that separates devX into two components which are the essential components (those which I want either always loaded or installed) and other components. For me the python and git components count as essential.

User avatar
rockedge
Site Admin
Posts: 6532
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2019 1:38 am
Location: Connecticut,U.S.A.
Has thanked: 2745 times
Been thanked: 2619 times
Contact:

Re: python-pip install not working Fossapup64 9.5?

Post by rockedge »

I use a lot of PERL and these components are also in the Devx. I tend to then install cpanminus either from the PPM, Pkg or :

Screenshot(19).png
Screenshot(19).png (123.29 KiB) Viewed 1312 times

to add PERL modules. If using the ActiveState Python I install modules with pip instead of the PPM otherwise there ends up a spagetti of not version matching pieces.

s243a
Posts: 501
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2019 7:29 pm
Has thanked: 90 times
Been thanked: 37 times

Re: python-pip install not working Fossapup64 9.5?

Post by s243a »

rockedge wrote: Sat Jan 16, 2021 8:53 pm

I use a lot of PERL and these components are also in the Devx. I tend to then install cpanminus either from the PPM, Pkg or :

Screenshot(19).png

to add PERL modules. If using the ActiveState Python I install modules with pip instead of the PPM otherwise there ends up a spagetti of not version matching pieces.

Agreed. I feel that PERL is also one of these essential components.

wdx12
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2021 2:45 pm
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: python-pip install not working Fossapup64 9.5?

Post by wdx12 »

s243a wrote: Sat Jan 16, 2021 7:14 pm

load devx first before using pip.

FYI devx was already loaded. still didnt work.

s243a
Posts: 501
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2019 7:29 pm
Has thanked: 90 times
Been thanked: 37 times

Re: python-pip install not working Fossapup64 9.5?

Post by s243a »

wdx12 wrote: Sat Jan 16, 2021 9:55 pm
s243a wrote: Sat Jan 16, 2021 7:14 pm

load devx first before using pip.

FYI devx was already loaded. still didnt work.

In other versions of puppy the pip command is available so my assumption is that it is avialable in Fossapup64. However, that said it should be part of devX and unless it is blocked by a higher layer via an opaque directory or a whiteout file, then you should be able to substitute pip with "python3 -m pip" for python3 and "python2 -m pip" for python2. Sometimes, there might also be the commands pip2 or pip3 available so that the version of python is specified. If there isn't a specific command called either pip, pip2 or pip3 you can always make a script that calls the appropariate command for example one could write a script called pip3 as follows:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/ash
exec python3 -m pip "$@"

On a final note, if pip can't be found you could try adjusting the python path. This could be done in the above script.

wdx12
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2021 2:45 pm
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: python-pip install not working Fossapup64 9.5?

Post by wdx12 »

I managed to get pip installed working via Package Manager!!!

Keyword search "python package installer" ->Listed "python3-pip_20.0.2" Python package installer.
All good. i was using "python-pip" which killed me.

ran "pip3 install pandas" and now MOVING again.

THANKS

root# pip3 install pandas
Collecting pandas
Downloading pandas-1.2.0-cp38-cp38-manylinux1_x86_64.whl (9.7 MB)
|████████████████████████████████| 9.7 MB 9.8 MB/s
Collecting python-dateutil>=2.7.3
Downloading python_dateutil-2.8.1-py2.py3-none-any.whl (227 kB)
|████████████████████████████████| 227 kB 8.4 MB/s
Collecting numpy>=1.16.5
Downloading numpy-1.19.5-cp38-cp38-manylinux2010_x86_64.whl (14.9 MB)
|████████████████████████████████| 14.9 MB 10.6 MB/s
Collecting pytz>=2017.3
Downloading pytz-2020.5-py2.py3-none-any.whl (510 kB)
|████████████████████████████████| 510 kB 23.2 MB/s

Post Reply

Return to “Fossapup64”