Bug in limine installer (UEFI mode)

Moderator: BarryK

Post Reply
Caramel
Posts: 557
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2022 6:25 pm
Location: France
Has thanked: 107 times
Been thanked: 101 times

Bug in limine installer (UEFI mode)

Post by Caramel »

(Easy Scartgap 6.6.3)

In /usr/local/limine-installer/limine-installer, there is a problem with the line 520

Code: Select all

efibootmgr -c -d /dev/${DRVdest} -p ${ESPdest/*[a-z]/} -L limine -l "\EFI\limine\${EFIname}.EFI" 2>/tmp/limine-installer/efibootmgr-install-error.log

It creates an boot entry with the file \EFI\limine${EFIname}.EFI instead of \EFI\limine\BOOTX64.EFI or \EFI\limine\BOOTIA32.EFI

Other bug (less important), line 514 with limine$ (instead of limine or limine* ?)

Code: Select all

ENTRY="$(efibootmgr 2>/dev/null | grep ' limine$' | grep -o '000[0-9A-Z]')"

EDIT :
The following code for the line 520

Code: Select all

efibootmgr -c -d /dev/${DRVdest} -p ${ESPdest/*[a-z]/} -L limine -l "\EFI\limine/"${EFIname}".EFI" 2>/tmp/limine-installer/efibootmgr-install-error.log

seems to work

EDIT2:
The text was slightly modified

EDIT3:
If, at boot, the text in the limine menu is too small, you can add a line

Code: Select all

INTERFACE_RESOLUTION=800x600

(Or another suitable resolution)

to the file limine.cfg in the EFI partition (usually /dev/sda1)
(See https://github.com/limine-bootloader/limine/issues/226)

User avatar
BarryK
Posts: 2959
Joined: Tue Dec 24, 2019 1:04 pm
Has thanked: 159 times
Been thanked: 819 times

Re: Bug in limine installer (UEFI mode)

Post by BarryK »

Thanks very much, fix applied, see blog:

https://bkhome.org/news/202503/limine-i ... e-fix.html

SteveS
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue Sep 24, 2024 4:00 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 16 times

Re: Bug in limine installer (UEFI mode)

Post by SteveS »

Thank you very much Caramel for taking a close look at the limine installer code.

Caramel wrote: Sat Mar 08, 2025 9:01 am

EDIT3:
If, at boot, the text in the limine menu is too small, you can add a line

Code: Select all

INTERFACE_RESOLUTION=800x600

(Or another suitable resolution)

I always found the text generated by limine installer too small for me, so I had created a modified .pet version doing this:
"replace the old header part generated in limine.cfg with the new header part from limine.cfg included in EasyOS".

This simply replaces these obsolete lines from line 437:

Code: Select all

  echo "QUIET=no
TIMEOUT=20
GRAPHICS=no
DEFAULT_ENTRY=1
EDITOR_ENABLED=yes
INTERFACE_BRANDING=EasyOS Limine Boot Manager
" > ${MOUNTPOINT}/limine.cfg

with these lines from the limine.cfg supplied with EasyOS:

Code: Select all

  echo "VERBOSE=no
TIMEOUT=10
DEFAULT_ENTRY=1
INTERFACE_BRANDING=EasyOS Limine Boot Manager
INTERFACE_RESOLUTION=800x600" > ${MOUNTPOINT}/limine.cfg

and also these lines from line 689:

Code: Select all

 echo "QUIET=no
TIMEOUT=20
GRAPHICS=no
DEFAULT_ENTRY=1
EDITOR_ENABLED=yes
INTERFACE_BRANDING=EasyOS Limine Boot Manager
" > /mnt/${DEVdest}/limine.cfg

with these:

Code: Select all

 echo "VERBOSE=no
TIMEOUT=10
DEFAULT_ENTRY=1
INTERFACE_BRANDING=EasyOS Limine Boot Manager
INTERFACE_RESOLUTION=800x600" > /mnt/${DEVdest}/limine.cfg

I had created the .pet file on Christmas day!
I should probably have thought about sharing it earlier. Here it is as an attachment.

Perhaps we could update the limine installer code with these changes to match the EasyOS limine.cfg file?

Attachments
limine-installer-1.3-1.pet
(20.53 KiB) Downloaded 13 times
Caramel
Posts: 557
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2022 6:25 pm
Location: France
Has thanked: 107 times
Been thanked: 101 times

Re: Bug in limine installer (UEFI mode)

Post by Caramel »

Another problem with limine in Easy Scarthgap 6.6.3

In limine.cfg the lines

PROTOCOL=chainload

must be replaced by

PROTOCOL=efi_chainload

or

PROTOCOL=bios_chainload

(The protocol chainload is "unsupported" by this version of limine)

So in /usr/local/limine-installer/generate-menu-entry, the lines 29 and 238

PROTOCOL=chainload

must be replaced by

PROTOCOL=efi_chainload

The lines 40 and 228

PROTOCOL=chainload

must be replaced by

PROTOCOL=bios_chainload

Remark: In the limine menu Windows 11 is identified as Windows 10. It's not a problem but it's better to know it

EDIT: Corrections

EDIT2: Addition of the modification for the line 40

User avatar
BarryK
Posts: 2959
Joined: Tue Dec 24, 2019 1:04 pm
Has thanked: 159 times
Been thanked: 819 times

Re: Bug in limine installer (UEFI mode)

Post by BarryK »

SteveS wrote: Sun Mar 09, 2025 3:01 am

Thank you very much Caramel for taking a close look at the limine installer code.

Caramel wrote: Sat Mar 08, 2025 9:01 am

EDIT3:
If, at boot, the text in the limine menu is too small, you can add a line

Code: Select all

INTERFACE_RESOLUTION=800x600

(Or another suitable resolution)

OK, done.

User avatar
BarryK
Posts: 2959
Joined: Tue Dec 24, 2019 1:04 pm
Has thanked: 159 times
Been thanked: 819 times

Re: Bug in limine installer (UEFI mode)

Post by BarryK »

Caramel wrote: Mon Mar 17, 2025 10:57 am

So in /usr/local/limine-installer/generate-menu-entry, the lines 29 and 238

PROTOCOL=chainload

must be replaced by

PROTOCOL=efi_chainload

The lines 40 and 228

PROTOCOL=chainload

must be replaced by

PROTOCOL=bios_chainload

Thanks, fixed.

Blog post:

https://bkhome.org/news/202503/more-lim ... fixes.html

Post Reply

Return to “EasyOS”