he instalado ventoy en mi disco duro interno y en otra partición he instalado debian 12 pero debian machaca el mbr y solo puedo arrancar debian, quiero incluir en grub2 el ventoy instalado en el disco duro ,qué solución puede haber para tener arranque de ventoy desde mi debian12
debian grub
Moderator: fredx181
- fredx181
- Posts: 3371
- Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2019 1:49 pm
- Location: holland
- Has thanked: 435 times
- Been thanked: 1479 times
- Contact:
Re: debian grub
@jesudia
Adding this entry manually to your grub.cfg should work to boot Ventoy:
(if I understood well what you're trying)
Code: Select all
menuentry "Ventoy" {
search --fs-uuid --no-floppy --set=root F767-A619
chainloader (${root})/EFI/BOOT/BOOTx64.EFI
}
Replace "F767-A619" with what it is for you (run blkid
and find the UUID of the second partition of the Ventoy USB).
- fredx181
- Posts: 3371
- Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2019 1:49 pm
- Location: holland
- Has thanked: 435 times
- Been thanked: 1479 times
- Contact:
Re: debian grub
in my Lenovo t440 i was installing ventoy in my hd SSD sci, creating a extra partición for install debían 12, after install debían 12 with a extra parttion of 8 MG unformated that require debían, i was putting your answer in 40_custom
BIOS putting secure boot disabled, and legacy and UEFi enabled for booting first legcy
- fredx181
- Posts: 3371
- Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2019 1:49 pm
- Location: holland
- Has thanked: 435 times
- Been thanked: 1479 times
- Contact:
Re: debian grub
Did you replace the UUID string with your own ? (found with blkid for second partition of the Ventoy USB)
- fredx181
- Posts: 3371
- Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2019 1:49 pm
- Location: holland
- Has thanked: 435 times
- Been thanked: 1479 times
- Contact:
Re: debian grub
jesudia wrote:i was putting your answer in 40_custom
Well, the entry that I presented works for me, but ... must say that I added it directly in my grub.cfg.
I'm not very familiar with how it works with 40_custom (isn't it required to run "update-grub" afterwards ? )
Spanish (from google translate):
La entrada que presenté funciona para mí, pero ... debo decir que la agregué directamente en mi grub.cfg.
No estoy muy familiarizado con cómo funciona con 40_Custom (no es necesario ejecutar "update-grub" después ?)
Re: debian grub
la instalación perfecta en pc
es instalar primero ventoy y luego debían 12 full install en partición extra en legacy con esto en 40_custom
menuentry "Ventoy" {
search --fs-uuid --no-floppy --set=root F767-A619
chainloader (${root})/EFI/BOOT/BOOTx64.EFI
}
si el pc no admite esa primera opción instalamos ventoy y luego lubuntu-24 en una partición extra full install en UEFi y operamos con refind instalándolo a partir de lUbuntu 24 o bien operando con refind.iso o refindx64.efi que arrancó con un pendrive con ventoy.
de esta manera podemos tener en un disco duro interno tanto ventoy con sus grandes ventajas con lUbuntu 24 en instalación completa para instalar inteligencia artificial offline etc
-
- Posts: 4211
- Joined: Fri Jul 24, 2020 10:59 pm
- Has thanked: 1796 times
- Been thanked: 565 times
Re: debian grub
jesudia wrote: Sun Mar 16, 2025 5:18 pmla instalación perfecta en pc
es instalar primero ventoy y luego debían 12 full install en partición extra en legacy con esto en 40_custom ...
For any single drive system where its system drive's original contents has been removed, I think this step-action has many advantages.
On the system drive, when booted, you can launch any installed OS on other partitions AS WELL AS boot any ISO files resident on partition #1.
My ONLY recommendation for forum distros (as almost every distro has a session mechanism), is to also add a "Persistence" partition for forum distro sessions and/or a Swap partition that would be used by all forum distros.
This yields a truly universal world for a single PC's use as it supports forum distros, non forum distros and OSes such BSD, MS, etc.
Re: debian grub
Just thought that I would add a solution to booting a Puppy Linux with Grub2 in another OS on a UEFI PC.
This is what I have in /mnt/home/etc/grub.d 40_custom. Note the "mnt" is because I am using Puppy Linux Fossa and so had to mount the Linux Distro with the the Grub2 OS to get access to it.
#!/bin/sh
exec tail -n +3 $0
# This file provides an easy way to add custom menu entries. Simply type the
# menu entries you want to add after this comment. Be careful not to change
# the 'exec tail' line above.
menuentry "Puppy Fossa" {
set root='hd0,gpt2'
linux /fossa/vmlinuz pfix=fsck psubdir=fossa
initrd /fossa/initrd.gz
}
I have the Puppy Fossa files in a Directory labelled fossa and they are just a copy of what is inside the Puppy iso
You need to make two changes to /mnt/home/etc/default:
Add # to GRUB_TIMEOUT_STYLE=hidden so that it reads #GRUB_TIMEOUT_STYLE=hidden
This means that the menu is visible when booting.
And add a time delay so that you have time to respond to the menu settings such as:
GRUB_TIMEOUT=3
Then include those changes to the boot menu by either doing a sudo update-grub on the OS with Grub2 or copying that top menu entry to /mnt/home/bootgrub