Developing on a NoblePup32 System

For discussions about programming, and for programming questions and advice


Moderator: Forum moderators

Post Reply
rottenMILKweiler84
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2024 9:25 pm
Been thanked: 2 times

Developing on a NoblePup32 System

Post by rottenMILKweiler84 »

Hello All,

Hope everyone is having a great week up to this point!

viewtopic.php?p=135285#p135285

Just wanted to follow up on a thread I posted a week or so back at this point.

I was able to get a dual puppy set-up going of XenialPup & NoblePup32.

I would like to learn to compile programs on the NoblePup32 system, as I understand NoblePup32 is largely based off of the Ubuntu distribution, and I hope that developing on NoblePup32, would allow me to distribute an app to computers running Ubuntu.

I played around a bit with Geany last night, but I wasn't able to compile any C code successfully.

The make tool in Geany said that my compilation was successful, but it didn't seem to add a .exe to the directory of the source code (and I'm not sure this is the expected behavior of the make tool or gcc).

Just wondering if anyone has any standard set-up on how to achieve compiled executables (or the puppy Linux equivalent) from a NoblePup32 system.

Thank you for all the help and the inclusivity of this community,
rottenMILKweiler84

User avatar
puppy_apprentice
Posts: 692
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2020 8:43 pm
Location: land of bigos and schabowy ;)
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 115 times

Re: Developing on a NoblePup32 System

Post by puppy_apprentice »

I always compile from console.
Try F5 in Geany to run compiled program.
BTW. Linux exes dosen't need .exe extension.

User avatar
rockedge
Site Admin
Posts: 6744
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2019 1:38 am
Location: Connecticut,U.S.A.
Has thanked: 2912 times
Been thanked: 2764 times
Contact:

Re: Developing on a NoblePup32 System

Post by rockedge »

@rottenMILKweiler84

check in the directory the compile build was done to find the output binary. Make sure the permissions for it are executable and click on the binary in a Rox file manager window to run it.

Or to see better output open a terminal from that directory and run the binary from the command line:

Code: Select all

./my_program
User avatar
user1234
Posts: 415
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2022 5:48 am
Location: Somewhere on earth
Has thanked: 155 times
Been thanked: 90 times

Re: Developing on a NoblePup32 System

Post by user1234 »

BTW @rottenMILKweiler84, what are you trying to compile? Is it a program that you found its source online, or is it a simple C code?

For the first case, you can try looking for the instructions from the program's website you want to compile; or you can contact puppy forum if additional help is required.

For the second case, the above posts already have an answer.

PuppyLinux 🐾 gives new life to old computers ✨

rottenMILKweiler84
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2024 9:25 pm
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Developing on a NoblePup32 System

Post by rottenMILKweiler84 »

Hello,

I appreciate everyone's input.

I downloaded the dev squashsfs and they gave me to the build & compile tools native to Geany (gcc & make).

Gcc to make an object file, and then make to compile the object into an executable file.

Also:
Yes, this was just to compile some simple C code.

User avatar
mikeslr
Posts: 3003
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2020 11:08 pm
Has thanked: 174 times
Been thanked: 942 times

Re: Developing on a NoblePup32 System

Post by mikeslr »

"I would like to learn to compile programs on the NoblePup32 system, as I understand NoblePup32 is largely based off of the Ubuntu distribution." Emphasis supplied.

I don't compile so may be off-base. But I'm pretty good at remembering systems, how they work and their limitations. So before you get 'deep into the weeds' double check the following:

To create NoblePup32 peebee (may have) had to include debian 32-bit binaries because Ubuntu no longer publishes for 32-bit operating systems. If so, you may be better off using peebee's Bookwormpup32, https://www.forum.puppylinux.com/viewto ... 68#p105568 or dimkr's VanillaDpup32, https://www.forum.puppylinux.com/viewtopic.php?t=7656 for your project.

Ubuntu builds against debian. As a 'Rule of Thumb', applications created under debian can run under Ubuntu; but not necessarily vice-versa.

rottenMILKweiler84
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2024 9:25 pm
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Developing on a NoblePup32 System

Post by rottenMILKweiler84 »

mikeslr wrote: Sun Nov 24, 2024 4:08 pm

"I would like to learn to compile programs on the NoblePup32 system, as I understand NoblePup32 is largely based off of the Ubuntu distribution." Emphasis supplied.

I don't compile so may be off-base. But I'm pretty good at remembering systems, how they work and their limitations. So before you get 'deep into the weeds' double check the following:

To create NoblePup32 peebee (may have) had to include debian 32-bit binaries because Ubuntu no longer publishes for 32-bit operating systems. If so, you may be better off using peebee's Bookwormpup32, https://www.forum.puppylinux.com/viewto ... 68#p105568 or dimkr's VanillaDpup32, https://www.forum.puppylinux.com/viewtopic.php?t=7656 for your project.

Ubuntu builds against debian. As a 'Rule of Thumb', applications created under debian can run under Ubuntu; but not necessarily vice-versa.

@mikeslr

Hey Mike,
This is a great consideration.

It makes total sense that you can focus on building from a debian environment, and that an application there should work in an Ubuntu environment.

I believe NoblePup32 also has debian as part of its core. Or at least, I'm able to pull from a Debian repository. So, since the packages from the Debian repository are working, this would suggest NoblePup32 is also largely debian-based.

The standard desktop wallpaper of NoblePup32 also says 'NobleNumbat + Bookworkm', implying that it is based off of BookwormPup.

Finally, this is a bit of a different discussion.... but, I'm also in the PuppyLinux Facebook forum, and a user there suggested utilizing 'Xmessage' command-line-utility to build the graphical user interface of my applications, and from what I understand that is entirely based off of 'X' desktop environment. So, I believe for the app to work correctly the target-OS, would have to have 'X' (if I were to take this approach to GUI development).

Regardless, thanks again for your help Mike, and I hope you have a restful weekend,
rottenMILKweiler84

User avatar
wizard
Posts: 2033
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2020 7:50 pm
Location: Oklahoma, USA
Has thanked: 2769 times
Been thanked: 721 times

Re: Developing on a NoblePup32 System

Post by wizard »

@rottenMILKweiler84

xmessage is useful if you just want to display a simple message boox or if user input can be done with a button click. For something more powerful, take a look at YAD.

wizard

Big pile of OLD computers

rottenMILKweiler84
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2024 9:25 pm
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Developing on a NoblePup32 System

Post by rottenMILKweiler84 »

wizard wrote: Sat Dec 07, 2024 6:25 pm

@rottenMILKweiler84

xmessage is useful if you just want to display a simple message boox or if user input can be done with a button click. For something more powerful, take a look at YAD.

wizard

@wizard

Hey wizard,

Thank you for your recommendation and my apologies for my delay in taking it up.

Hope your holiday & new year's season has been very relaxing.

Below is a video of me demonstrating an example YAD script I utilized this morning:

https://youtube.com/shorts/0IVXroHzGCA?feature=share

Further, below this line is the behind the scenes of the YAD script I demonstrated in the video above:

https://youtube.com/shorts/Yz71MM9Yy3A?feature=share

Hope you have an awesome year and you get to use Puppy frequently,
rottenMILKweiler84

rottenMILKweiler84
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2024 9:25 pm
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Developing on a NoblePup32 System

Post by rottenMILKweiler84 »

wizard wrote: Sat Dec 07, 2024 6:25 pm

@rottenMILKweiler84

xmessage is useful if you just want to display a simple message boox or if user input can be done with a button click. For something more powerful, take a look at YAD.

wizard

It was also fun to find out that my lenovo thinkpad with an i5 processor running endeavorOS (different flavor of ArchLinux) ran the YAD commands the exact same way!

User avatar
wizard
Posts: 2033
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2020 7:50 pm
Location: Oklahoma, USA
Has thanked: 2769 times
Been thanked: 721 times

Re: Developing on a NoblePup32 System

Post by wizard »

@rottenMILKweiler84

t was also fun to find out that my lenovo thinkpad with an i5 processor running endeavorOS (different flavor of ArchLinux) ran the YAD commands the exact same way!

Yes, the combination of Bash scripting and YAD should run in any Linux and can be quite powerful. You can get Puppy specific help here in the Programming section of the forum and will find lots of help/examples for YAD on the web.

wizard

Big pile of OLD computers

Post Reply

Return to “Programming”