Multiple containers

Moderator: BarryK

Post Reply
libertas
Posts: 94
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2021 8:35 pm
Has thanked: 20 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Multiple containers

Post by libertas »

Hi,

I'm using EasyOS Daedalus.

There's one icon for the www container, another for term and another one for daedalus.
After the first click on each, the container is opened.
But if the buttons are clicked a second time, no new container is created.

Is there a way to have more than one Daedalus container?
Same thing for www?

It could be useful to segregate contexts.

User avatar
BarryK
Posts: 2786
Joined: Tue Dec 24, 2019 1:04 pm
Has thanked: 143 times
Been thanked: 767 times

Re: Multiple containers

Post by BarryK »

Yes, it should be possible to setup manually.
Right now my thinking about how to do it is too muddy.
I will have to get back to you on that one.

User avatar
BarryK
Posts: 2786
Joined: Tue Dec 24, 2019 1:04 pm
Has thanked: 143 times
Been thanked: 767 times

Re: Multiple containers

Post by BarryK »

Thinking how to do it...

Code: Select all

# cd /mnt/wkg/containers
# cp -a daedalus daedalus2

Click on "daedalus" icon to start 1st container.

In Rox, go to /mnt/wkg/containers/daedalus/container/.control
and drag-copy file 'daedalus' to another Rox window at
/mnt/wkg/containers/daedalus2/.session/.control/

...rename the copied file to 'daedalus2

execute this:

Code: Select all

# ec-chroot daedalus2 easy

And the second daedalus will start.

User avatar
BarryK
Posts: 2786
Joined: Tue Dec 24, 2019 1:04 pm
Has thanked: 143 times
Been thanked: 767 times

Re: Multiple containers

Post by BarryK »

Now to automate startup...

In Rox, go to /usr/bin, and make a copy (duplicate) of file 'ec-chroot-daedalus', name it 'ec-chroot-daedalus2'

Edit it in geany:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh
empty -f ec-chroot daedalus2 easy

Drag file 'ec-chroot-daedalus2' onto the desktop.

Right-click on it, "Edit item" and rename to just "daedalus2" or whatever.

If you need to set the icon, right-click, "File daedalus2 > Set icon..."

User avatar
BarryK
Posts: 2786
Joined: Tue Dec 24, 2019 1:04 pm
Has thanked: 143 times
Been thanked: 767 times

Re: Multiple containers

Post by BarryK »

It seems to be working ok, the two daedalus containers are behaving independently.

If you find anything not independent, let me know.

It would be good to have a gui for this; "Clone container".

User avatar
BarryK
Posts: 2786
Joined: Tue Dec 24, 2019 1:04 pm
Has thanked: 143 times
Been thanked: 767 times

Re: Multiple containers

Post by BarryK »

Using them, not sure if really independent.

Note that I'm running Easy Scarthgap, with the two daedalus's in containers.

libertas
Posts: 94
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2021 8:35 pm
Has thanked: 20 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Multiple containers

Post by libertas »

BarryK wrote: Thu Dec 19, 2024 2:19 pm

Thinking how to do it...

Code: Select all

# cd /mnt/wkg/containers
# cp -a daedalus daedalus2

Click on "daedalus" icon to start 1st container.

In Rox, go to /mnt/wkg/containers/daedalus/container/.control
and drag-copy file 'daedalus' to another Rox window at
/mnt/wkg/containers/daedalus2/.session/.control/

...rename the copied file to 'daedalus2

execute this:

Code: Select all

# ec-chroot daedalus2 easy

And the second daedalus will start.

Thank you @BarryK for your prompt response!

The original daedalus container is open.
Inside /mnt/wkg/containers/daedalus/container/.control
there are these files as shown in the image.

Screenshot.png

There's not a "daedalus" file, but two files that begin by "daedalus.".
Should I copy both, or just the ".configuration file"?

libertas
Posts: 94
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2021 8:35 pm
Has thanked: 20 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Multiple containers

Post by libertas »

Even without that step of

In Rox, go to /mnt/wkg/containers/daedalus/container/.control
and drag-copy file 'daedalus' to another Rox window at
/mnt/wkg/containers/daedalus2/.session/.control/

the container daedalus2 opened fine.

Either in daedalus or in daedalus2 containers, their icons for nested containers of www and term (also for daedalus, of course) don't work.
Maybe they should be removed from the desktop?
Or could we have a nested www and term containers inside each daedalus container?

Post Reply

Return to “Containers and VMs”