Hello
When I start xenial64 with HDMI tv attached, 1920x1024, the bottom of the screen on the laptop is missing.
The laptop is a Dell E6230, 4gb mem, 2.7gHz, i5.
I am running xenial64 but find Fossapup 9.5 a bit better as it has a multiple monitor setting but still no bottom of screen. The tv runs at 1920x1024 (maybe 1980) and laptop at 1366x1068.
Is there anyway to solve this missing bottom of screen, preferable with xenia64 but any more up to date Puppy that is better at this.
Help appreciated.
number77
Xenial64 misbehaving with multiple monitors
Moderator: Forum moderators
Xenial64 misbehaving with multiple monitors
Re: Xenial64 misbehaving with multiple monitors
You can setup your monitors using xrandr.
If you type xrandr in a text terminal (console) it should show the available screens.
For example, I am using my HDMI monitor (tv) and have my laptop screen off.
Like this:
Code: Select all
xrandr --output LVDS --off
xrandr --output HDMI-0 --auto --primary
Type xrandr --help
Re: Xenial64 misbehaving with multiple monitors
I'm hopeless at monitors and screen sizes but
laptop at 1920x1024,
and screen at 1366x1068.
Where does the extra 500 pixel lines of height go to then?
I'd imagine you would have to resize the output somehow to match the screen display capability wouldn't you?
The Australian State Governments have all enacted laws to steal your assets on your death. All legal paperwork is binned and all assets seized on one disgruntled child's complaint.Move them well before you die or go into a home.
Re: Xenial64 misbehaving with multiple monitors
If you have multpiple monitors at different resolutions, Xwindows will create one big screen big enough to fit both (all) screens, and each screen will be a viewport of the big screen that shows just that small screen.
for example, if you have your 1920x1024 screen to the left of the 1366x1068 screen, it will make a big 3286x1068 screen.
The left screen will be the 1920x1024 pixels of the big screen, starting at the top left corner.
The pixeks from 1921 to 3286 will not be shown.
The pixels from 1025 to 1068 will not be shown.
The right screen will be the pixels from 1921 to 3286, and from 1 (the top) down to 1068.
The pixels from 1 to 1920 will not be shown.
A screenshot will be a picture of the entire big screen, including the parts of the big screen that is not shown.
In this screenshot, the bottom left rectangle is not used. This is 1 big screenshot, 1 single picture.
- Attachments
-
- wallpaper for 2 monitors.
- foss3.jpg (63.87 KiB) Viewed 1259 times
- JASpup
- Posts: 1653
- Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2020 10:52 am
- Location: U.S.A.
- Has thanked: 70 times
- Been thanked: 89 times
Re: Xenial64 misbehaving with multiple monitors
The machine I'm using also boots Windows. Dual monitors, Windows makes a compromise and chooses a low resolution ( something like 800x600 ) that mirrors both screens.
In Puppy/JWM you're going to want to adjust to your small monitor reflecting only a portion of the larger one, which displays the small in the upper left rectangle as williams2 calculated.
The easiest way to see this is to open a browser and maximize it. The full window on your smaller monitor is just a portion of the larger.
If you turn off the small and restart JWM, you'll realize the full screen. It's typically more useful to do this, or have the monitors pan contiguously.
I would only need a mirrored monitor if someone else were looking at it from a different angle.
On the Whiz-Neophyte Bridge
Linux Über Alles
Disclaimer: You may not be reading my words as posted.
Re: Xenial64 misbehaving with multiple monitors
It looks like I am asking too much to get an exact mirrored screen on both. It would need the video card to be able to output two different video resolutions at the same time, I hadn't thought of that. The laptop is a bit old for that. I will just have to compromise.
Re: Xenial64 misbehaving with multiple monitors
williams2 wrote: ↑Wed Jan 13, 2021 10:42 pmYou can setup your monitors using xrandr.
If you type xrandr in a text terminal (console) it should show the available screens.
For example, I am using my HDMI monitor (tv) and have my laptop screen off.
Like this:Code: Select all
xrandr --output LVDS --off xrandr --output HDMI-0 --auto --primary
Type xrandr --help
Fossapup seems to have this facility included. I may have to change to Fossapup.
Re: Xenial64 misbehaving with multiple monitors
xrabdr is included in puppy_xenialpup64_7.5.sfs
/usr/bin/lxrandr
/usr/bin/xrandr
/usr/sbin/xrandrshell
/usr/share/applications/lxrandr.desktop
There is probably a GUI (graphical user interface) to configure multiple monitors somewhere in the menu, maybe in the xorg video wizard.
Or you can type xrandr commands in a text terminal (console icon.)
you have more control over the configuration that way.
- foxpup
- Posts: 186
- Joined: Fri Jul 24, 2020 1:23 pm
- Location: Europe near the Northsea
- Has thanked: 75 times
- Been thanked: 32 times
Re: Xenial64 misbehaving with multiple monitors
Look on the archwiki for good info about xrandr.
If you have a command (set of commands) that work, you can make a script with it and put it in /root/Startup.
I just need this with 2 screens:
Code: Select all
xrandr --output eDP-1 --mode 1920x1080 --output HDMI-2 --mode 1280x1024 --right-of eDP-1
You could install zarfy with the PPM and use it, if it is not included.
IIRC, fossapup uses lxrandr as well.
These are just UI for xrandr.
Re: Xenial64 misbehaving with multiple monitors
can I have multiple monitors with Xenial32?
XenialPup 32-bit