Mount Cloud Storage with rclone

Moderator: Forum moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
fredx181
Posts: 2566
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2019 1:49 pm
Location: holland
Has thanked: 275 times
Been thanked: 995 times
Contact:

Mount Cloud Storage with rclone

Post by fredx181 »

rclone can be used to mount many cloud storage services.

This mini how-to is for to mount Google Drive (which I only have experience with using rclone), but probably can be easily changed for use with other cloud services.
(or use googledrive GUI v3 viewtopic.php?t=10218)

Open a terminal and paste below (or make script from it)

Code: Select all

PROFILE="somename"  # change "somename" to what you prefer
DRIVE="drive"  # 'drive' is Google Drive
rclone config create $PROFILE $DRIVE service_account_credentials ""  # create config

(this creates a very basic config, for more advanced config: rclone config and answer the questions)

The default browser should open, login your Google account and allow rclone access
A basic rclone.conf file will be created in ~/.config/rclone/

Then to mount e.g. :

Code: Select all

mkdir -p gdrive
rclone mount $PROFILE: gdrive

Or to mount subfolder, e.g. My Folder

Code: Select all

mkdir -p gdrive
rclone mount $PROFILE:/"My Folder" gdrive

EDIT: To unmount, simply : umount gdrive

Note that newer versions of rclone may require fuse3

EDIT: Anyone feel free of course to post in this thread about using other than 'Google Drive' with rclone ....

Wish you all a great 2024 !

User avatar
Jasper
Posts: 1597
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2022 1:20 pm
Has thanked: 677 times
Been thanked: 359 times

Re: Mount Cloud Storage with rclone

Post by Jasper »

@fredx181

Thanks for sharing this :thumbup:

After reading your thread, I created a profile via Terminal to use with MS OneDrive.

Once it was configured, I used RClone Browser as my GUI.

I didn't try your GoogleGUI as I thought it might be provider specific.

Image

Image

User avatar
Jasper
Posts: 1597
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2022 1:20 pm
Has thanked: 677 times
Been thanked: 359 times

Re: Mount Cloud Storage with rclone

Post by Jasper »

@mikewalsh This is the Pet I compiled for Fossapup64-95

RcloneBrowser-1.8.0-x86_64
https://www.mediafire.com/file/4m6z2cs3 ... 4.pet/file

User avatar
mikewalsh
Moderator
Posts: 5582
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2019 1:40 pm
Location: King's Lynn, UK
Has thanked: 570 times
Been thanked: 1684 times

Re: Mount Cloud Storage with rclone

Post by mikewalsh »

@Jasper :-

Thanks, mate, but I've given up on that idea. Fred's package works brilliantly well for my Google Drive a/c; out of the remaining two, MediaFire isn't supported, and MEGA won't let me connect. So THAT'S a "bust"...! :roll:

Mike. :|

Puppy "stuff" ~ MORE Puppy "stuff" ~ ....and MORE! :D
_______________________________________________________

Image

Trapster
Posts: 141
Joined: Sat Aug 01, 2020 7:44 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 38 times

Re: Mount Cloud Storage with rclone

Post by Trapster »

@mikewalsh and others.

Mike,
If you can ftp into your sites, this should work.

I just set it up so I could ftp into my website and it works perfectly.
I used

Code: Select all

rclone config

and chose the ftp option and it runs thru some questions to set it up.
The config settings end up in /root/.config/rclone. The password does get encrypted.

Here is an example of what the config looks like for ftp.
(website is the actual name I used in the config)

[website]
type = ftp
host = ftp.webdomain.com
user = user.webdomain.com
pass = HDgKaOt1Nqi8-aoMdIKWA35CiTJnWf-uXw

Then I created /mnt/website

and ran

Code: Select all

 rclone mount website: /mnt/website
User avatar
mikewalsh
Moderator
Posts: 5582
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2019 1:40 pm
Location: King's Lynn, UK
Has thanked: 570 times
Been thanked: 1684 times

Re: Mount Cloud Storage with rclone

Post by mikewalsh »

@Trapster :-

Nice idea, buddy.....but the issue I have here is that MEGA will ONLY accept my user password actually on their site (something to do with encryption, I believe?)

All attempts to enter it remotely thru the terminal fail, because it refuses to accept any input...

Or should I choose the "randomly-generated" option? I've no idea if that would work, since MEGA insist on an encrypted password before even allowing you to log-in..... :roll: Mind you, I've come across other sites like this, where they will only permit interaction actually ON the website itself; any attempts at remote interaction are simply stone-walled.

(And MEGA are constantly changing the way the site works, so it's entirely possible this version of rclone no longer functions with it.)

Mike. Image

Puppy "stuff" ~ MORE Puppy "stuff" ~ ....and MORE! :D
_______________________________________________________

Image

dancytron
Posts: 653
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2019 6:26 pm
Has thanked: 422 times
Been thanked: 190 times

Re: Mount Cloud Storage with rclone

Post by dancytron »

There is a rclone-browser app "Simple cross platform GUI for rclone" in the Debian Bookworm repo that has a bunch of cloud services pre-configured and some different security levels.

I tested it with Google Drive and it just worked with the defaults (MX Linux). I tested Fred's app before in DD and it worked fine as well.

Edit: rclone-browser Also worked on my main DD Buster install, although I had to paste the url into Chrome manually (but my Chrome install isn't exactly standard for DD either).

If nothing else, it provides a good list of places that rclone should theoretically work.

User avatar
fredx181
Posts: 2566
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2019 1:49 pm
Location: holland
Has thanked: 275 times
Been thanked: 995 times
Contact:

Re: Mount Cloud Storage with rclone

Post by fredx181 »

mikewalsh wrote:

(And MEGA are constantly changing the way the site works, so it's entirely possible this version of rclone no longer functions with it.)

Perhaps needs latest rclone version ? (https://github.com/rclone/rclone/releases/tag/v1.65.1)

User avatar
mikewalsh
Moderator
Posts: 5582
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2019 1:40 pm
Location: King's Lynn, UK
Has thanked: 570 times
Been thanked: 1684 times

Re: Mount Cloud Storage with rclone

Post by mikewalsh »

fredx181 wrote: Sun Jan 14, 2024 6:26 pm
mikewalsh wrote:

(And MEGA are constantly changing the way the site works, so it's entirely possible this version of rclone no longer functions with it.)

Perhaps needs latest rclone version ? (https://github.com/rclone/rclone/releases/tag/v1.65.1)

@fredx181 :-

Mm. That would kinda defeat the object of the excercise, Fred. Newer versions require a much newer Puppy.......and in my newer Pups, I have MEGA's own desktop client installed & working very sweetly. I'm trying to get some kind of remote access to MEGA from older Puppies like Tahrpup64 and Xenialpup64.

Ah, hell. I can always set-up MEGA as an 'app' on those two, and run it as its own desktop window from, say, Chrome and/or Slimjet, for instance. It's not like I don't have the resources to do so, 'cos unlike many here, I'm not tucked-up for RAM or storage space.....and the CPU has plenty of 'grunt' to run half-a-dozen Chromium-based browsers at the same time should I want it to.

There's always a 'solution' if ya look for it.

Mike. ;)

Puppy "stuff" ~ MORE Puppy "stuff" ~ ....and MORE! :D
_______________________________________________________

Image

User avatar
Jasper
Posts: 1597
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2022 1:20 pm
Has thanked: 677 times
Been thanked: 359 times

Re: Mount Cloud Storage with rclone

Post by Jasper »

@mikewalsh

Just checked on pkgs.org for Ubuntu releases

Image

User avatar
fredx181
Posts: 2566
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2019 1:49 pm
Location: holland
Has thanked: 275 times
Been thanked: 995 times
Contact:

Re: Mount Cloud Storage with rclone

Post by fredx181 »

FYI : The rclone versions from github releases are all very portable (work with old and new Puppies), static builds ? (I guess so)

Post Reply

Return to “Network/Server”