script file for running FlashBrowser anyone know why dropping it on the desktop it will not run the browser?(solved)

Issues and / or general discussion relating to Puppy

Moderator: Forum moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
bigpup
Moderator
Posts: 6985
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2020 11:19 pm
Location: Earth, South Eastern U.S.
Has thanked: 906 times
Been thanked: 1522 times

script file for running FlashBrowser anyone know why dropping it on the desktop it will not run the browser?(solved)

Post by bigpup »

I tried using this browser and made a script file to run it.
The script file is attached at bottom of this post.

I can place it in the folder(directory)with the other files of the browser and it runs from there OK.

If I drag and drop it onto the desktop.

It will not run the browser.

Any ideas what is wrong??

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
FlashBrowser for running flash games
https://github.com/radubirsan/FlashBrowser
Web site has a big list of flash game gallery sites, you can use in this browser to play the games.

Here is the Linux version of FlashBrowser
https://github.com/radubirsan/FlashBrow ... /tag/v0.01

I got it running in Bookworm Pup64 10.0.2

Download the https://github.com/radubirsan/FlashBrow ... ux-x64.zip

UN-compress it into a folder that contains all the files.

You can place this folder in /opt directory in the working file system.

There are two exec files that need to be given exec permission.
chrome-sandbox
FlashBrowser

With Rox file manager showing the contents of the UN-compressed folder.
Right click on each one of these files and select properties.
There you can select exec permissions
Select refresh so change is made.

Here is a script file I made that will launch FlashBrowser
Place it in the folder with the rest of the files.
Left click on it to run FlashBrowser.

flashbrowser.gz
remove fake .gz from the name had to add fake.gz so it would attach
(38 Bytes) Downloaded 29 times

It will download with no execute permission. so need to give it exec permission also.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
To use this browser.

when you run this browser it only opens a url input slot.

You place one of the game gallery url addresses in this slot and click OK.

The browser opens to the game gallery web site and you use selections on the web site to select and run the games.

the browser is very basic and is basically just a display of the game gallery web sites.

The things you do not tell us, are usually the clue to fixing the problem.
When I was a kid, I wanted to be older.
This is not what I expected :o

User avatar
mikeslr
Posts: 2961
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2020 11:08 pm
Has thanked: 178 times
Been thanked: 914 times

Re: script file for running FlashBrowser anyone know why dropping it on the desktop it will not run the browser?

Post by mikeslr »

Just guessing. Flash-browser is built on electron, a major component of Chromium & Chromium-clones. These have to be run either as Spot or with the 'no-sandbox' argument. Perhaps the desktop symlink breaks whatever method the native flash-browser uses to accomplish that.

User avatar
bigpup
Moderator
Posts: 6985
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2020 11:19 pm
Location: Earth, South Eastern U.S.
Has thanked: 906 times
Been thanked: 1522 times

Re: script file for running FlashBrowser anyone know why dropping it on the desktop it will not run the browser?

Post by bigpup »

I have the script coded to run-as-spot.

Removed run-as-spot

I also tried codding it with --no-sandbox

Same issue if I place the script file on the desktop.

The things you do not tell us, are usually the clue to fixing the problem.
When I was a kid, I wanted to be older.
This is not what I expected :o

Burunduk
Posts: 251
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2022 6:16 pm
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 127 times

Re: script file for running FlashBrowser anyone know why dropping it on the desktop it will not run the browser?

Post by Burunduk »

run-as-spot /full/path/to/your/FlashBrowser should work.

or make a symlink to FlashBrowser somewhere in the PATH (like in /usr/local/bin), then

run-as-spot FlashBrowser should be enough.

User avatar
bigpup
Moderator
Posts: 6985
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2020 11:19 pm
Location: Earth, South Eastern U.S.
Has thanked: 906 times
Been thanked: 1522 times

Re: script file for running FlashBrowser anyone know why dropping it on the desktop it will not run the browser?

Post by bigpup »

The desktop file already has that full path in it.

Does it maybe need some added execute argument command? :idea:

Screenshot(2).jpg
Screenshot(2).jpg (14.42 KiB) Viewed 459 times

The things you do not tell us, are usually the clue to fixing the problem.
When I was a kid, I wanted to be older.
This is not what I expected :o

williwaw
Posts: 1939
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2020 11:24 pm
Has thanked: 170 times
Been thanked: 368 times

Re: script file for running FlashBrowser anyone know why dropping it on the desktop it will not run the browser?

Post by williwaw »

Burunduk wrote: Sun Oct 08, 2023 5:07 pm

run-as-spot /full/path/to/your/FlashBrowser should work.

or make a symlink to FlashBrowser somewhere in the PATH (like in /usr/local/bin), then

run-as-spot FlashBrowser should be enough.

that should get it working

as to why run-as-spot ./FlashBrowser does not work...

./ works for the current directory, but the desktop where the link was placed is not the current directory.

should you choose not to keep your browser or a link in your path, you could modify your script

https://stackoverflow.com/questions/598 ... the-script

williwaw
Posts: 1939
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2020 11:24 pm
Has thanked: 170 times
Been thanked: 368 times

Re: script file for running FlashBrowser anyone know why dropping it on the desktop it will not run the browser?

Post by williwaw »

we cross posted and I missed your screenshot of the "edit item" dialog

The desktop file already has that full path in it.

putting the path in that dialog does not work the same as calling the executable with the full path in a terminal window

open a terminal and run $PATH

if you do not see /opt in your path maybe adding it would work, maybe not

Last edited by williwaw on Sun Oct 08, 2023 6:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
bigpup
Moderator
Posts: 6985
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2020 11:19 pm
Location: Earth, South Eastern U.S.
Has thanked: 906 times
Been thanked: 1522 times

Re: script file for running FlashBrowser anyone know why dropping it on the desktop it will not run the browser?

Post by bigpup »

Thanks for the ideas and giving me options to try.

open a terminal and run $PATH
if you do not see /opt in your path it could be added

/opt is not showing as one of the items in path

So maybe that is the big issue with this.

How do you add it?

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I got it to work by changing the commands in the script to this:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh
exec run-as-spot /opt/FlashBrowser-linux-x64/FlashBrowser

This is the full path to the FlashBrowser execute file.

Using exec in the command to run it.

Now it can be drag and dropped to the desktop and clicked on to run FlasBrowser.

The things you do not tell us, are usually the clue to fixing the problem.
When I was a kid, I wanted to be older.
This is not what I expected :o

williwaw
Posts: 1939
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2020 11:24 pm
Has thanked: 170 times
Been thanked: 368 times

Re: script file for running FlashBrowser anyone know why dropping it on the desktop it will not run the browser?

Post by williwaw »

Now it can be drag and dropped to the desktop and clicked on to run FlasBrowser.

it works when /opt and your script are in the same filesystem,

should you want to keep the browser and the script in a directory outside of your install, perhaps so that you could run it in any install, then a solution like the one I posted up above could act more "universal"

User avatar
rockedge
Site Admin
Posts: 6540
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2019 1:38 am
Location: Connecticut,U.S.A.
Has thanked: 2748 times
Been thanked: 2620 times
Contact:

Re: script file for running FlashBrowser anyone know why dropping it on the desktop it will not run the browser?(solved)

Post by rockedge »

I do these steps:

  1. Download FlashBrowser-linux-x64.zip, extract and place in /opt so there is a /opt/FlashBrowser

  2. Code: Select all

    chown -R spot:spot /opt/FlashBrowser
  3. Modify the executable script /root/my-applications/bin/flashbrowser to:

    Code: Select all

    #!/bin/sh
    run-as-spot /opt/FlashBrowser/FlashBrowser
    
  4. Drag the script to the desktop and assign it an icon

Screenshot(14).gif
Screenshot(14).gif (45.32 KiB) Viewed 385 times
Post Reply

Return to “Users”