How to Install or Upgrade pkg-cli: an 'Apt-like' Package Manager

Moderator: Forum moderators

mikeslr

How to Install or Upgrade pkg-cli: an 'Apt-like' Package Manager

Post by mikeslr »

Before you panic, I don’t really consider it a “cli” since the ‘help’ command presents arguments so that I don’t have to memorize them. Just open a 2nd terminal so that you can read the argument format in one while entering/editing them to your needs in the other. :D Maybe cut & paste will also work. :idea:
There are also two GUIs. Remember that I’m new to this in evaluating my impression that these may not offer as many options a running pkg-cli from the command line.

Pkg-cli is an invaluable tool for obtaining applications or –as is often my situation-- just those dependencies which may be lacking on your system in order for an application to (fully) function. You can find its thread here, https://oldforum.puppylinux.com/viewtop ... 112927&i=1 together with a link to its latest version.

Edit: After I referred to this post, 666philb brought to my attention that git is included in every recent Puppy's devx.sfs. So, rather than the following the instructions I've now placed in bracekets [ ], obtain the devx.sfs for your Puppy [if yours has Quickpet, it will be available from the Useful panel] and sfs-load it when necessary.

[In order to use or update pkg-cli, you may have to use Puppy Package Manager to install git and its dependencies. Under bionicpup64, these were git_2.17.1-1ubuntu0.7_amd64.deb, git-man_2.17.1- 1ubuntu0.7_amd64.deb and liberror-perl_0.17025-1_all.deb. Your system may require something else.

To find out if pkg-cli is already on your system, and especially whether you can update to the latest version, open a terminal and type, code: pkg –help.