In Fossapup64 how do I change screen brightness?

Moderators: 666philb, Forum moderators

PunchyMchurtyfist

In Fossapup64 how do I change screen brightness?

Post by PunchyMchurtyfist »

Hello, I'm new to Puppy linux, I looked around for something to revive my old laptop and it works like a charm! But I can't figure out how to change the brightness of my screen, not dim the color but actually control the backlight. Could someone please help me out?

wiak

Re: In Fossapup64 how do I change screen brightness?

Post by wiak »

PunchyMchurtyfist wrote: Sat Nov 12, 2022 8:52 am

Hello, I'm new to Puppy linux, I looked around for something to revive my old laptop and it works like a charm! But I can't figure out how to change the brightness of my screen, not dim the color but actually control the backlight. Could someone please help me out?

Don't have fossa on my system at the moment so can't check which, if any, brightness control apps it has. If it uses intel_backlight then xbacklight program would do the job, but I've heard that one is a bit unreliable on some machines. When no gui slider app is provided/installed on system, I use a commandline program simply called 'light' on mine (these commandline apps are in the upstream repos of my Arch-Linux-based distro, but also available for most distros from their repos).

http://haikarainen.github.io/light/

For intel_backlight you can also simply alter brightness via suitable command from an open terminal.
For example, you can check max_brightness allowed and brightness currently being used with commands:

Code: Select all

cat /sys/class/backlight/intel_backlight/max_brightness
cat /sys/class/backlight/intel_backlight/brightness

You can then alter the 'brightness' lower or higher, depending what it currently is, by simply echo new value into that 'brightness' value like so:

echo some_new_brightness_value > /sys/class/backlight/intel_backlight/brightness