How are people using Fossapup64?

Moderators: 666philb, Forum moderators

heywoodj

How are people using Fossapup64?

Post by heywoodj »

I've been using Puppy Linux of one variety or another since 2008 or so. If memory serves, my first distro was 4.2.0 . This has been my trend of running sort-of-current distros on aging machines. Fast-forward to 2021 and my Windows 8-era Lenovo laptop running Bionicpup32, is barely adequate(memory bottleneck, I'm already maxxed out}.

I just picked up a five year old "desktop" hp machine (2.2 GHz quad core, 8 GB memory, 1 TB drive). It's basically a laptop's guts slid into a big empty box, powered by a an external laptop-type charger.

So my question is, do people still get media(cd or usb flash),boot, setup, partition hard drive, install, logout and save in a savefile/folder and reboot, or are people running some kind of virtual machine in Windows? Any downsides to a virtual machine?

Most of my past machines had multiple OSes available, selected at boot (lilo, GRUB, rEFInd, etc.). I had included a line in menu.lst to a folder for a experimental OS that I could quickly swap out without formally installing it, a "cheat frugal" kind of "install". Is that still done?

Just curious as to how people are using Puppy in their "contemporary" machines.

Thanks, HJ.

wizard

Re: How are people using Fossapup64?

Post by wizard »

Hi HJ,
The answer to all your questions is - yes. Puppy users are doing all of those things. My personal computers (many), are all dual/multiple boot with Windows and Puppy frugal installs. They all use mbr and grub4dos since I find that to be easier to setup and customize . So here are things you need to determine and decide:

-current OS (probably came with W10) and do you want to keep it
-do you want puppy to run from the internal hd
-is bios set up for mbr or uefi
-do you want puppy to have its own partition or let it install in the windows partition