How to get the fn+ Keys to work in Asus Eee 904HD with Bionicpup32?

Moderator: Forum moderators

mog

How to get the fn+ Keys to work in Asus Eee 904HD with Bionicpup32?

Post by mog »

Hi All,
Total newbie and Noob so play nice!
I have searched through the great tome Google and as yet not found an answer to my problem.

Firstly the details

Asus Eee 904HD 32bit
150 GB Sata HDD
2GB Ram
Bionicpup32 19.03
Linux Kernel: 4.9.163-lxpup-32-pae (i686)
Version: #1 SMP Thu Mar 14 15:41:19 GMT 2019
Build GCC: 8.3.0
PAE Enabled: Yes

The Problem....
The Asus Eee is a laptop so it has common to many laptops a fn (function) key.
on my machine fn+F1 F2 F5 and F6 all work, but fn+F7 F8 F9 F10 F11 and F12 do not.
I have researched in the old Murga puppy linux forum and in this the new forum but there don't seem to be any solutions to the problem.
I have tried modifying xmodmap and jwmrc-personal, all to no avail.
I should add that these functions all work when I tried Atomic Pup, Linux Lite and Linux Mint 19.3. It would seem that the problem exists only in Bionicpup32, maybe only in the 32bit version?
Another point occurs to me, this machine is set to UK qwerty settings and the Key combinations I most wish to get working are fn+F10, F11 and F12 as these control volume, it's very frustrating when watching a film to have to minimise the screen just to access the toolbar to change the volume!

Can anybody help me?

Beers

mog

bigpup

Re: fn+ Keys

Post by bigpup »

This is kind of normal for most Puppy versions.
I have never used one that will let volume be controlled by the F keys or volume buttons on my laptops.
With volume and audio in general, being totally controlled by Retrovol. That is probably why.
Retroval has no built in option to use keyboard keys or buttons to control it.

To be honest, this has not been a big issue to most people.
It is just how Puppy works.
Everything a F key or option button can do, is provided by something you can do, using a program in Puppy.