Launch KRITA with plugins

Moderator: Forum moderators

Post Reply
don570
Posts: 624
Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2020 4:43 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 98 times

Launch KRITA with plugins

Post by don570 »

I have been successful in launching KRITA 4.4.3 along with its plugins
using a simple script
I use fatdog linux but that shouldn't matter

Notes: I go to krita download site
https://binary-factory.kde.org/job/Krit ... age_Build/
and download

gmic_krita_qt-x86_64.appimage 35.17 MB
krita-4.4.3-alpha-c97c2b2-x86_64.appimage 218.26 MB
Avoid nightly versions!!!

Drag krita and gmic in /opt
You will have to change the script slightly to reflect newest name of krita ( the version changes)

Put the script in /opt too and run it
If everything is okay then gmic will first launch then krita will a couple of seconds later

#!/bin/sh
# first launch gmic plugins
cd /opt
LD_LIBRARY_PATH= ./gmic_krita_qt-x86_64.appimage &
sleep 2 # need time to mount image

# make change to kritarc
cd /tmp
A=`ls -d .mount_gmic*`
B=/tmp/"$A"/usr/bin/gmic_krita_qt

#sed -e '/gmic/d' /root/.config/kritarc >/root/.config/kritarc-tmp # remove any line with gmic
#Xdialog --title "$(gettext 'gmic path')" --auto-placement --editbox "/tmp/tmpgmicpath" 25 70

echo -e "sed -i 's|gmic_qt_plugin_path=.*|gmic_qt_plugin_path=$B|' /root/.config/kritarc" >/tmp/kritacommand
chmod 777 /tmp/kritacommand
/tmp/kritacommand

# now launch krita
cd /opt
LD_LIBRARY_PATH= ./krita-4.4.3-alpha-c97c2b2-x86_64.appimage

_________________________________________________________

User avatar
bigpup
Moderator
Posts: 6255
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2020 11:19 pm
Location: Earth, South Eastern U.S.
Has thanked: 727 times
Been thanked: 1289 times

Re: Launch KRITA with plugins

Post by bigpup »

A little info on what this program does, would be nice.

In Fossapup64 9.5 Puppy version.
Downloaded Krita and gmic appimage packages.
Starts up and seems to be working.

Thanks for posting about the program!!

I found this info in the manual for Krita:

G’Mic Settings

G’Mic or GREYC’s Magic for Image Computing is an opensource filter framework. The G’Mic plugin for Krita exists only on Windows and Linux.

Krita has had G’Mic integration for a long time, but this is its most stable incarnation. On Windows, the plugin is included in the installer and Krita will find it automatically. On Linux, we are making an appimage available for download.

You set it up as following:

Download the gmic-krita appimage.

Make it executable.

Go to Settings ‣ Configure Krita… ‣ G’Mic plugin and set G’MIC to the filepath there.

Then restart Krita.

So, may not need the script.

How do I tell if G'Mic is working doing it the way the manual tells you to do it?
.
.

Screenshot(5).jpg
Screenshot(5).jpg (43.08 KiB) Viewed 592 times

Forum Global Moderator
The things you do not tell us, are usually the clue to fixing the problem.
When I was a kid, I wanted to be older.
This is not what I expected :o

don570
Posts: 624
Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2020 4:43 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 98 times

Re: Launch KRITA with plugins

Post by don570 »

You don't need this script to run KRITA. I wrote it to speed up the launching.
Without this script I would have to search /tmp folder for hidden files i.e. beginning with dot.
Then I fill in path to gmic_krita_qt

Looking at script I use the line
B=/tmp/"$A"/usr/bin/gmic_krita_qt
to fill in the path automatically.

Warning that this is 64 bit and Krita Plus is used not the overnite Krita Next.

Post Reply

Return to “Graphics”