Why is there an annoying popup window when starting Brave browser?
How do I remove or suppress "wallet"?
Thanks.
Annoying popup window when starting Brave browser
Moderator: Forum moderators
Annoying popup window when starting Brave browser
- Attachments
-
- Brave annoyance popup on startup-2.png (40.67 KiB) Viewed 1639 times
"I awoke only to find that the rest of the world was still asleep.”
Leonardo Da Vinci
Re: Annoying popup window when starting Brave browser
Thanks, but I am afraid it doesn't help me. I can't make any sense out of the instructions. I don't use KDE Plasma (maybe I should?), so the GUI instruction is not applicable.
My launch command looks like this:
/mnt/nvme0n1p4/Brave browser/Brave-portable64/Brave-portable64/LAUNCH
I tried adding their code at the end, but that didn't work: [–password-store=basic]
I tried running Brave by using the command script in the folder, but that didn't work either:
[/mnt/nvme0n1p4/Brave browser/Brave-portable64/Brave-portable64/brave/brave-browser]
I will just continue closing the the dialog box each time I start the browser.
Another "quirk" is after I close that dialog box, I get this page in the browser:
[http://browser/Brave-portable64/Brave-p ... ve-Browser]
Code: Select all
This site can’t be reachedbrowser’s DNS address could not be found. Diagnosing the problem.
DNS_PROBE_POSSIBLE
I close that tab, and then I can begin using the browser. So I must close two windows every time I start Brave.
I really appreciate you taking the time and making a suggestion.
However, I must presume these are just more "quirks" that I have to live with along with the others.
Thanks!
The Brave launch script:
Code: Select all
#!/bin/sh
#
# Launcher for 'portable' Brave browser
#
HERE="$(dirname "$(readlink -f "$0")")"
#
mkdir "$HERE/PROFILE" 2> /dev/null
mkdir "$HERE/PROFILE/spot" 2> /dev/null
mkdir "$HERE/PROFILE/spot/Brave-Browser" 2> /dev/null
#
chown -R spot:spot "$HERE/brave"
chown -R spot:spot "$HERE/lib"
chown -R spot:spot "$HERE/PROFILE/spot"
#
if grep -q 'Quirky April64' /etc/DISTRO_SPECS
then
LD_LIBRARY_PATH=$HERE/:$HERE/lib${LD_LIBRARY_PATH:+:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH}
run-as-spot "$HERE/brave/brave" --user-data-dir=$HERE/PROFILE/spot/Brave-Browser --disk-cache-size=50000000 --media-cache-size=50000000 --allow-outdated-plugins "$@"
elif grep -q 'puppy_tahr64' /etc/os-release
then
LD_LIBRARY_PATH=$HERE/:$HERE/lib${LD_LIBRARY_PATH:+:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH}
run-as-spot "$HERE/brave/brave" --user-data-dir=$HERE/PROFILE/spot/Brave-Browser --disk-cache-size=50000000 --media-cache-size=50000000 --allow-outdated-plugins "$@"
elif grep -q 'puppy_xenialpup' /etc/os-release
then
LD_LIBRARY_PATH=$HERE/:$HERE/lib${LD_LIBRARY_PATH:+:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH}
run-as-spot "$HERE/brave/brave" --user-data-dir=$HERE/PROFILE/spot/Brave-Browser --disk-cache-size=50000000 --media-cache-size=50000000 --allow-outdated-plugins "$@"
elif grep -q 'puppy_xenialpup64' /etc/os-release
then
LD_LIBRARY_PATH=$HERE/:$HERE/lib${LD_LIBRARY_PATH:+:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH}
run-as-spot "$HERE/brave/brave" --user-data-dir=$HERE/PROFILE/spot/Brave-Browser --disk-cache-size=50000000 --media-cache-size=50000000 --allow-outdated-plugins "$@"
else
run-as-spot "$HERE/brave/brave" --user-data-dir=$HERE/PROFILE/spot/Brave-Browser --disk-cache-size=50000000 --media-cache-size=50000000 --allow-outdated-plugins "$@"
fi
fernan wrote: ↑Sun Apr 14, 2024 2:15 pmDoes this help?
https://community.brave.com/t/disabling ... ave/149283
"I awoke only to find that the rest of the world was still asleep.”
Leonardo Da Vinci
-
- Posts: 470
- Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2022 6:25 pm
- Location: France
- Has thanked: 100 times
- Been thanked: 78 times
Re: Annoying popup window when starting Brave browser
Have you try to disable the wallet ?
In brave://flags search "Enable Brave Wallet" and replace Default by Disabled
Re: Annoying popup window when starting Brave browser
Thanks for the tip. I did that but it had no effect. The wallet popup persists each time I start the browser.
"I awoke only to find that the rest of the world was still asleep.”
Leonardo Da Vinci
-
- Posts: 470
- Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2022 6:25 pm
- Location: France
- Has thanked: 100 times
- Been thanked: 78 times
Re: Annoying popup window when starting Brave browser
It was a bad tip. Brave wallet is for cryptocurrencies. Here it is the KDE Wallet for passwords.
I tested in Fossapup6 9.5 with the Brave Portable from the forum (viewtopic.php?t=6150) . No popup. I made update. Still no popup. I installed kwalletmanager with PPM. Popup (but no problem when the popup is closed)
To prevent the popup i added "-–password-store=basic" (that you talked about) at the bottom of the LAUNCH script.
Code: Select all
else
run-as-spot "$HERE/brave/brave" --user-data-dir=$HERE/PROFILE/spot/Brave-Browser --disk-cache-size=50000000 --media-cache-size=50000000 --allow-outdated-plugins "$@"
fi
replaced by
Code: Select all
else
run-as-spot "$HERE/brave/brave" --user-data-dir=$HERE/PROFILE/spot/Brave-Browser --disk-cache-size=50000000 --media-cache-size=50000000 --allow-outdated-plugins --password-store=basic "$@"
fi
Re: Annoying popup window when starting Brave browser
Caramel wrote: ↑Wed Apr 17, 2024 9:30 amIt was a bad tip. Brave wallet is for cryptocurrencies. Here it is the KDE Wallet for passwords.
I tested in Fossapup6 9.5 with the Brave Portable from the forum (viewtopic.php?t=6150) . No popup. I made update. Still no popup. I installed kwalletmanager with PPM. Popup (but no problem when the popup is closed)
To prevent the popup i added "-–password-store=basic" (that you talked about) at the bottom of the LAUNCH script.
Code: Select all
else run-as-spot "$HERE/brave/brave" --user-data-dir=$HERE/PROFILE/spot/Brave-Browser --disk-cache-size=50000000 --media-cache-size=50000000 --allow-outdated-plugins "$@" fi
replaced by
Code: Select all
else run-as-spot "$HERE/brave/brave" --user-data-dir=$HERE/PROFILE/spot/Brave-Browser --disk-cache-size=50000000 --media-cache-size=50000000 --allow-outdated-plugins --password-store=basic "$@" fi
That worked. Marvelous.
Thanks!
"I awoke only to find that the rest of the world was still asleep.”
Leonardo Da Vinci
- mikewalsh
- Moderator
- Posts: 6115
- Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2019 1:40 pm
- Location: King's Lynn, UK
- Has thanked: 779 times
- Been thanked: 1952 times
Re: Annoying popup window when starting Brave browser
Well, I have to say.......I have never seen this in all the years I've used Brave! Can't figure out why you're getting it and nobody else is..?!?
Mike.
Re: Annoying popup window when starting Brave browser
Is is what it is. I work differently than the typical Linux user, and I would think that bringing issues to light ought to be welcomed by developers.
I still get this screen every time I start Brave (and there is an internet connection):
- Attachments
-
- Every time I start Brave I get this screen
- Brave - This site can't be reached.png (58.87 KiB) Viewed 1057 times
"I awoke only to find that the rest of the world was still asleep.”
Leonardo Da Vinci
-
- Posts: 470
- Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2022 6:25 pm
- Location: France
- Has thanked: 100 times
- Been thanked: 78 times
Re: Annoying popup window when starting Brave browser
Governor wrote: ↑Mon Apr 15, 2024 12:19 pmAnother "quirk" is after I close that dialog box, I get this page in the browser:
[http://browser/Brave-portable64/Brave-p ... ve-Browser]Code: Select all
This site can’t be reachedbrowser’s DNS address could not be found. Diagnosing the problem. DNS_PROBE_POSSIBLE
I close that tab, and then I can begin using the browser. So I must close two windows every time I start Brave.
I really appreciate you taking the time and making a suggestion.
Go in the Settings, in "Get started", look at the "On startup" part.
-
- Posts: 1909
- Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2020 11:24 pm
- Has thanked: 168 times
- Been thanked: 354 times
Re: Annoying popup window when starting Brave browser
I am not sure what the typical linux user does, but I suspect many here like to tweak and tinker with their hardware, OS and installed programs.
One should always duplicate the problem with the application as it is downloaded, in an unmodified version of the OS (running in ram) before reporting bugs.
If the problems occur only when certain changes are made to equipment or configs of the program or the OS, these changes should be explained in detail when describing the problem.
Re: Annoying popup window when starting Brave browser
Caramel wrote: ↑Thu Apr 18, 2024 6:04 pmGovernor wrote: ↑Mon Apr 15, 2024 12:19 pmAnother "quirk" is after I close that dialog box, I get this page in the browser:
[http://browser/Brave-portable64/Brave-p ... ve-Browser]Code: Select all
This site can’t be reachedbrowser’s DNS address could not be found. Diagnosing the problem. DNS_PROBE_POSSIBLE
8<------
I really appreciate you taking the time and making a suggestion.
Go in the Settings, in "Get started", look at the "On startup" part.
I have chosen:
"Continue where you left off"
I make sure there is only one tab open on a legimate page and exit Brave, when I re-start, I get the same page again in addition to the page that I ended with on previous shutdown. So, two tabs.
It is trivial at this point in relation to the other important issues I have.
"I awoke only to find that the rest of the world was still asleep.”
Leonardo Da Vinci
-
- Posts: 470
- Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2022 6:25 pm
- Location: France
- Has thanked: 100 times
- Been thanked: 78 times
Re: Annoying popup window when starting Brave browser
Governor wrote: ↑Fri Apr 19, 2024 1:01 pmI have chosen:
"Continue where you left off"I make sure there is only one tab open on a legimate page and exit Brave, when I re-start, I get the same page again in addition to the page that I ended with on previous shutdown. So, two tabs.
It is trivial at this point in relation to the other important issues I have.
It's beyond me. It looks like file corruption.
The simplest solution would be to delete and reinstall Brave portable if there is nothing to keep from the current state.
Less radical, you can try to temporarily change the startup setting to see what happens. You can also empty the cache.
Maybe someone will have a better idea.
Re: Annoying popup window when starting Brave browser
williwaw wrote: ↑Thu Apr 18, 2024 6:08 pmI am not sure what the typical linux user does, but I suspect many here like to tweak and tinker with their hardware, OS and installed programs.
One should always duplicate the problem with the application as it is downloaded, in an unmodified version of the OS (running in ram) before reporting bugs.
If the problems occur only when certain changes are made to equipment or configs of the program or the OS, these changes should be explained in detail when describing the problem.
I have no idea what the typical Linux uers does either. I just know that I am an atypical Linux user. This is evidenced by my reports of multiple issues or problems with my distro. Apparently there were issues which had not been reported by typical Linux users. Two or three people in this forum have been quick to claim "user error" on my part, but this is inaccurate. By my own estimate, around 10 percent of my issues are due to "user error". Other issues are flaws or deficiencies in the OS, and not my fault.
An experience I had at a bakery. I bought the same exact bread 3 times a week at a local bakery for 1½ years. One day, I got a bad bread; it was all mushy inside and inedible. I took the bread back and told the woman at the counter that the bread was improperly made and inedible. She asked me how I knew the bread was bad. I explained it to her, showing her the bread (which I had cut the end off of). She pointed out that no one else had complained about this issue. I then told her that I had bought the bread 3 times a week for 1½ years, so of course I can tell when something is wrong with the bread. So then she suggested that perhaps I just got tired of this particular bread. I demanded my money back instantly. Funny story, but I wasn't laughing.
"I awoke only to find that the rest of the world was still asleep.”
Leonardo Da Vinci
-
- Posts: 1909
- Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2020 11:24 pm
- Has thanked: 168 times
- Been thanked: 354 times
Re: Annoying popup window when starting Brave browser
I am an atypical Linux user. This is evidenced by my reports of multiple issues or problems with the OS.
If you are an atypical user, it's even more important to provide additional details. Its not about doubting your credibility, it's simply understanding what actions may have preceded your difficulty.
I am stiil curious about your brave start command. What part of Caramels suggestion made your command workable? The --
or the "$@"
?