A beginner's thoughts on Puppy Linux

Moderators: dimkr, Forum moderators

Maxiwuff

A beginner's thoughts on Puppy Linux

Post by Maxiwuff »

Just wanted to share my initial thoughts on this OS, from a perspective of a complete beginner.

My original idea was to finally start my journey with Linux and prepare to leave Windows for good, or at least erase it from my daily system. Got a laptop, and thought it would be a good start. And here is what I think:

Upsides:
I generally like how everything looks here, things in the UI seems intuitive and easy to use, I could get neofetch to work and customise it to my own liking, discord runs without any issues, and the system works lightning fast! I would daily use it for everything, but..

Downsides:
Getting Steam to work was possible, but I would lack some functionality, unable to use Proton fully... Even getting closely listening to the forum on what to do would bring little improvement, and doing anything so advanced myself was a bit above me. Also noone I know irl or via internet I can easily reach out to knows how to do things the Puppy way, and pretty much they keep telling me to use something else. So I have not tried any games here yet either. Repositories are... whatever "puppy-noarch" is, seems to offer little of what I want or what apparently other repos have (or that's what I've been told)

Conclusion:
I like the aesthetic and I do not want to say farewell to it... so I am thinking about getting something like Mint or whatever to play games and learn the... mainstream Linux, and keep Puppy as anything not game related, try to daily use it like before while learning the system. Might even take a small break so I learn the normal Linux and come back here once I have some basic knowledge, who knows.

dimkr

Re: Thoughts on Puppy

Post by dimkr »